Skip to content

Barefoot! Coeur a la Creme

July 31, 2008

This is a bonus week for the Barefoot Bloggers.  The recipe was chosen by Becke at Columbus Foodie.  I must admit; I’ve been very busy this week and my mind has been preoccupied with other things.  While constructing this recipe the other day, I wasn’t totally focused on the mission at hand… but everything turned out well. 

I made a few changes to the recipe, using orange zest in lieu of lemon zest and orange marmalade instead of raspberry jam. I don’t make it a habit to have vanilla beans lying around the house either, so I skipped it and used a touch more vanilla extract.  Of course, the only orange liqueur I have in my house is Triple Sec, for pomegranate margaritas.  In the book, Barefoot in Paris, Ina mentions that this can be taken a step further and frozen to make an ice cream… maybe next time I’ll try that.

The end product was a light and fluffy almost mousse like dessert.  The citrus in it made it refreshing, but it didn’t go too far to cut the richness of the heavy cream and cream cheese.  Tonight, the remaining pots are going to be distributed to the adults in the ‘hood so they can feel their  butts spread and I can lie in bed peacefully tonight.  I’ll have to sneak this by The Husband, as he’ll throw his hands up and grumble about giving away all the good stuff.  Maybe a logical conversation about over hearing my hips and butt having a pow-wow in my sleep last night would sway him?  I heard it… the butt and the hips were talking about “growing” and disliking those beautiful new linen pants I bought.  It’s a conspiracy I tell you!

I leave you with a bunch of pictures and a hope that you’ll stop by Baking GALS and consider supporting.  Of course, you can’t mail this Coeur a la Creme… but maybe you can find something else?

Coeur a la Creme with Raspberry and Grand Marnier Sauce
Ina Garten, The Barefoot Contessa

12 oz cream cheese, at room temperature
1 1/4 c confectioner’s sugar
2 1/2 c cold heavy cream
2 t vanilla extract
1/4 t lemon zest (I used the zest of 1 orange)
Seeds scraped from 1 vanilla bean (I omitted because I don’t have that kind of money)
1 pint fresh raspberries (I used 1/2 pint in the sauce and none to garnish)
Raspberry Grand Marnier Sauce
1/2 pint fresh raspberries
1/2 c sugar
12 oz seedless raspberry jam (I used orange marmalade)
2 T Grand Marnier (I used Triple Sec… again, I don’t have that kind of money)

Place the cream cheese and confectioners’ sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment and beat on high speed for 2 minutes. Scrape down the beater and bowl with a rubber spatula and change the beater for the whisk attachment. With the mixer on low speed, add the heavy cream, vanilla, lemon zest, and vanilla bean seeds and beat on high speed until the mixture is very thick, like whipped cream.

Line a 7-inch sieve with cheesecloth or paper towels so the ends drape over the sides and suspend it over a bowl, making sure that there is space between the bottom of the sieve and the bottom of the bowl for the liquid to drain. Pour the cream mixture into the cheesecloth, fold the ends over the top, and refrigerate overnight. *

*I did this with an ancient heart shaped cake pan and a bunch of random ramekins lined with paper towels.  I took a hint from the comments of people who’d already made it.  They stated that not much liquid pooled out and it was unnecessary to do the cheesecloth/special dish route.

Raspberry Sauce:
Place raspberries, sugar, and 1/4 cup water in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil, lower the heat, and simmer for 4 minutes. Pour the cooked raspberries, the jam, and orange liqueur into the bowl of a food processor fitted with the steel blade and process until smooth. Chill.

To serve, discard the liquid, unmold the cream onto a plate, and drizzle Raspberry and Grand Marnier Sauce around the base. Serve with raspberries and extra sauce.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2008 13:40

    It looks lovely! I especially love your beautiful plate and cute little pitcher! This was a really delicious dessert.

  2. Karen permalink
    July 31, 2008 18:40

    looks awesome. i love that plate. :) the orange marmalade is an interesting change.

  3. July 31, 2008 23:28

    What a beaut! This one looks good and your little plate and pitcher make it even more gorgeous.

  4. August 1, 2008 03:38

    Love the plate and the ramekins were a great idea for single servings!

  5. August 2, 2008 22:59

    Those look wonderful- I love that you made little ones! I bet the orange flavor was the perfect addition, too.

    I hope things pick up for you soon. *hugs*

  6. August 7, 2008 00:09

    Oh, yum! So glad someone else boycotted the dish. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

