Skip to content

Sick of it.

September 23, 2008

I wrote a rant about the election last night, but I just erased it all.  I’m just sick of it.  I’m sick of a bunch of the women in this country running around screaming, “Sarah Palin doesn’t speak for me!”  Kindly, shut up.  Sarah Palin never said she speaks for the women of the country, the media did.  However untrue, the media seems to have a mind of it’s own, making up colorful facts along the way to support their Obama opinion. 

I guess considering the fact that I lack the anatomy required to be a man, I could safely be considered a woman.  Do I agree with everything that Sarah Palin says?  Probably not.  Do I agree with a few key things she’s said, Hell Yes.  Sarah Palin won me over weeks ago and continues to astound me.  The seal on the deal came during Hannity’s interview with her last week when she talked about asking God for guidance, praying that she’s serving Him in all she does.  That is what this country needs.  A wake-up call. 

I’m sick of hearing people scream about wanting reform in Washington… not wanting more of the same for the next four years.  Guess what!  If they would pick up a second grade history book, they’d realize the Vice President is the President of the Senate!  We’re told “Fresh Ideas” are needed in Washington… then vote for a man who’s got a proven reformer on his ticket… SHE is going to be the one slapping Congress and the Senate around.  Biden is riding the Obama ticket.  If Biden was going to change anything, wouldn’t he have done it by now? 

I’m sick of the ignorance of some American people.  I feel like we’ve taken the lazy train to nowhere.  ‘Oh, well, they said on the news blah, blah, blah… it must be true!’  Hardly.  I felt like I should add some links to this mini-rant, to help people find the truth… but then again, I’d be contributing to the lazy train wouldn’t I?

I still refuse to write crap about Obama… it’s just not in my nature to do so.  There’s lots out there to pay attention to. 

To take your mind away from lazy trains and lies, spend a few extra minutes in the kitchen making a delicious stew to welcome the chill in the air.  Then sit down with a group of friends and talk politics.  It’ll make the stew taste even better. 

Beef Stew
A Cat’s Pajamas Original

1 1/2 lb beef for stew meat
1/4 c flour
1 t garlic powder
Salt and pepper
1/4 c olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
4-5 cloves garlic, chopped
4 carrots, peeled and sliced 1/4″ thick
2 ribs celery, sliced 1/4″ thick
1 t marjoram (dried)
1 T basil (dried
Salt and pepper to taste
6-8 c beef stock
1 1/2 lb potatoes, peeled and cubed 3/4″
1 lb frozen butter or lima beans
2 bay leaves

In a small bowl, combine flour, garlic powder salt and pepper.  Pour over beef, making sure surfaces of beef are dusted with flour mixture.

Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large stockpot over medium heat.  When the oil is hot, add beef and cook until brown on all sides.  Add in onions and garlic, cooking until tender, about five minutes; season with salt, pepper, marjoram and basil.  Add beef broth (this is kind of relative to how you like stew.  I don’t like mine “soupy” so I usually add between 4-5 cups) scraping up the brown bits on the bottom of the pan.  Cover, bring to a boil.

Add carrots, celery and potatoes, turn heat to low and simmer for about 20 minutes, until potatoes are tender.  About five minutes before serving, add frozen beans and heat through.  Remove bay leaves before serving. 

Serve with cornbread.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2008 15:45

    I totally agree with you.

  2. September 23, 2008 21:21

    See Cat….I don’t need to discuss my politics….I have you darlin to do that for me :D

    You should go and work on their campaign….you have such passion behind your words and those words are far from empty.

  3. September 23, 2008 23:28

    You can’t go wrong with a little beef stew, fall has arrived. I was chilly walking the pups tonight, and I had a jacket on!

  4. Ted and Kristin permalink
    September 24, 2008 00:44

    I am sick of the liberals blaming everything on the conservatives. Actually? On Bush. Yes. On ONE man. Like our economy? Like how the conservatives not only predicted all this, (McCain being one of them) and, tried to PREVENT it, but, were blocked by…. yes folks…. the liberals. I. Cannot. Even. Stand. It. Anymore.
    *sigh*

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

