Skip to content

A Few Good Men

October 22, 2008

I’ve been knee deep in the politics of this country for the last two months.  So much so that I plug my earbuds in to listen to the Strategy Room while at work, turn the television on as I walk in the door at night, pray for the country while I walk in the evenings.  I literally listen to news on average of 10 hours a day.  When I can steal a moment, I research things that I’m curious about.  Policies that puzzle me.  Messages that are being screamed across the airwaves, but taken the wrong way.

I tend to sway away from getting news from blogs.  Oftentimes, they are biased and inflammatory.  I’m not looking for lies, I’m looking for the truth.  In 1992, the military shaking movie, A Few Good Men was released.  Near the end of the movie after great interrogation, Tom Cruise (who I loath) demanded the truth of Jack Nicholson’s character about the death of a soldier at Gitmo.  Jack Nicholson belted out, “You can’t handle the truth!

For many reasons, those words resonate with me these days.  I can’t handle the truth.  I just can’t.  My heart breaks for the injustices this country serves up.  I’ve been walking around in a haze, refusing to believe that my great country is conducting and approving of such vile atrocities.  

One of my greatest friends is stationed in South Korea right now.  We try and get together through gmail as often as we can, but with a 14 hour time difference we sometimes miss each other.  We had a lot of catching up to do yesterday as we talked about the election, friendships and the future of our country.

I’m sure it’s no surprise that I hold my morals near and dear to me.  When seeking friendships with others, I vet them based on their own morals, political views and substance.  It’s a survival technique for me.  That’s not to say that I refuse to befriend people with opposing views, those opposing views are what makes life interesting.  I want to hear how other people think, that doesn’t mean that I want to share in their opinion.  Simple curiosity.  

My friend stated that she may loose people from her life in the next few months because of her friend’s political stance.  It’s hard to wrap your head around the fact that friends are supporting a presidential candidate who not only allows, but fights for partial birth abortions.  Do you know what partial birth abortion is?  Do your research.  Look for the facts.  There’s no medical reason to have a partial birth abortion.   Yesterday, I sat at my desk and cried as my friend described the first and final moments of these babies lives.  

I cry for the sickness that allows evil to manifest in our daily lives.  I cry because what is a wonderful, free nation built on God has turned their backs and committed vile acts toward humans.  I cry because my family moved to America to live in a great country that prides themselves on human rights, fights for those that are weak and stands strong in the eye of a storm.  I cry because we’ve misused our freedom.  We’ve taken it too far.  

Call me crazy, call me whatever you want… I can handle it, but I desire to have a president, congress and senate that is going to uphold the good things this nation offers.  I no longer want to watch my husband fight for the freedom of this country only to listen to people call him a killer, then turn around themselves and kill a precious life.  The argument is always: killing a terrorist is worst than killing an innocent baby.

What happened to us?  Have we been desensitized by the media?  Do we have such a curiosity with death and destruction that the real deal no longer affects us?  Have we become so accepting of evil that it doesn’t even hit our evil radar anymore?

The Husband and I work hard.  We have nice things.  We don’t fit in the mold that has been laid out for the raised taxes.  We will be effected though.  I work for a small business that makes more than $200,000 a year and offers no healthcare.  When the taxes are raised, what does that mean for me?  Will I be laid off because the owners will no longer be able to keep me on payroll?  

I financially support The Husband right now.  Try as we might, we could not accept an Air Force scholarship that would pay The Husband active duty pay with benefits.  It’s just my income… and the GI Bill (which, by the way, President Bush… thank you for increasing the GI Bill again.  I still support you.)  To accept such a full paid active duty scholarship, we would not be given the opportunity to move to the career field The Husband desires.  

Supporting us is not easy but I sure as hell don’t want a handout from the country at someone else’s expense!  I don’t want to spread the wealth around… I want to keep my meager paycheck.  I want to continue working for a wonderful small company, they should keep their wealth too.  We all work very hard for it.

How do people in this country find it unacceptable to fight a war to rid us of terrorists… but call us greedy and inhumane when we don’t immediately jump to the aide of another country devastated by natural disasters?  Americans are known for their kind, generous ways… but as I look around me I see evil.

The military political polls were released yesterday.  Surprise, surprise.  The people that fight for our freedom support John McCain.  There are still a few good men out there.  I’m proud to be a part of that community, where prayer and country pride is encouraged.  

Military creed: God, Country, Family. 

Amen

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2008 08:40

    Thank you, hon, for speaking your piece. I promise that you (and the Husband) are not the only ones that feel the way you do. I just wish that those of us that share the same beliefs weren’t so quiet. Burke had it right: “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.”

    Amen, indeed, sister. Amen, indeed.

    Kate

  2. October 22, 2008 08:41

    Thanks for posting the article, was certainly a great read!

  3. October 22, 2008 09:11

    Amen and Amen.

  4. October 22, 2008 09:14

    oh girl you definitely snagged those words from my mouth….thank you very much for putting it so eloquently!

    ~asw

  5. October 22, 2008 10:48

    Definitely a great read! You said it all!

  6. October 22, 2008 11:16

    Amen, Sistah! Great post. I can hardly take a breathe these days without telling myself to calm down about all this.

  7. Barbara Hahn permalink
    October 22, 2008 13:39

    Hi, I also feel like you do. My husband served in Vietnam and is disabled now because of Agent Orange that was sprayed on him while in country. My oldest son served as a Captain in the Army in Bosnia and Kosova. He left the Army because he wanted to make job changes. I am so glad to hear that their are young adults who can see that Obama is a “big show” that will lead us all into trouble. McCain has served his country proudly and will make a great President.

  8. October 22, 2008 16:31

    Well said… and thanks for saying it. (I’m visiting on the recommendation of ASW… and it was well worth the trip!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

