Skip to content

Stand Up for what you Believe

December 10, 2008
tags:

I’m a news junkie and many of you who read me are well aware of this fact.   To say I was appalled last week when Bill O’Reilly broke the story about the atheist sign in Washington state would be an understatement.  

What has my great country come to?  Why does a small majority have such an overbearingly loud voice?  The surveys show that ninety-five percent of American people believe in God.  So how has five percent of our population run over us?  Is it because we, as Christians, feel we should be respectful of others?  I believe God gave us a voice for a reason. 

My heart is heavy while I write today.  There are so many thoughts that cannot be put into words.  I find myself having less and less tolerance for such petty inane arguments.  I find myself angry at people for not celebrating the reason we have this season.  

There’s still a lot of work God has left in me.  I know.  I’m not perfect, there was only one man who walked this earth that is perfect… and He is the reason we celebrate.  I pray for the hardened hearts that seek to destroy our faith and the principals that this country was founded on.  

We are a free country.  We have the freedom to choose our faith.  I choose Christianity.  We have the freedom to use our voice.  I choose to stand up and speak out against those who wish me ill will.  

Won’t you stand with me?  If you see some crazy sign, will you speak out against it?  Will you stand up for your own faith?  In a world where criticism is freely slapped around, will you be strong in your conviction?  Someone has already paid our debt.  Living and dying the way He did was more difficult than anything we can imagine.  

In a world with so much pressure to be successful, wealthy and perfect… we should all sit back and remember that success will not be measured in our resume, wealth will not be measured by our paycheck, perfection will not be measured in our manicured lifestyle.  

We each have been given such a beautiful gift… our voice.  We have the power to speak our mind and faith, to pass our belief to the next generation where they can pick up the torch and keep the flames of our faith alive.  It’s in our hands, our hearts and our voice.

Merry Christmas.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2008 11:59

    Amen!

  2. Trish permalink
    December 10, 2008 13:11

    I couldn’t read this post….with the snow falling it messed with my eyes and made my tummy a little sick. I will try again later. :)

  3. December 10, 2008 13:36

    I totally agree with you. It is harder and harder just to find Christmas cards that say “Merry Christmas” anymore. They all say “Happy Holidays”. I will stand with you…Merry Christmas!

  4. Ted and Kristin permalink
    December 10, 2008 23:46

    Well, well said Cat.
    This is my favorite post so far…. :)
    xo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

