Skip to content

Merry Christmas!

December 24, 2008

My life has been turned upside down with a thousand things going on these days. Fortunately, my military man is home with me this year.  I used to love the song, “I’ll Be Home for Christmas” until I spent my first Christmas away from my love.  Today, the song brings me to tears and causes me to flee from a store.  The words are too painful, the longing so great.

The Brother is still out protecting our freedom and we miss him dearly.  I will leave you all with the happiest of Christmas wishes and a poem that legend tells me was written by a Marine.  

Twas the night before Christmas
He lived all alone
In a one bedroom house
Made of plaster and stone.

I had come down the chimney
With presents to give
And to see just who in this dwelling did live.

I looked all around 
A strange sight I did see
No tinsel, no presents
Not even a tree.

No stockings on the mantel
Just boots filled with sand
On the wall hung pictures
Of far distant lands.

With medals, badges
Awards of every kind
A sobering thought
Came alive in my mind.

This house was different
It was dark, it was dreary 
It was the home of a soldier
I could see that most clearly.

The soldier lay sleeping
Silent. Alone.
Curled up on the floor
Of this one bedroom home.

His face was so gentle
The room in such disorder
Not how I pictured
A United States soldier.

Was this the hero
Of whom, I just read?
Curled up on a poncho
The floor for his bed?

I realized the families
That I saw this night,
Owed their lives to soldiers
Most willing to fight.

In the morning around the world
Children would play
And grownups would celebrate
A bright Christmas day.

The all enjoyed freedom
Each month of the year
Because of the soldiers
Like the one lying here.

I couldn’t help wonder
How many lay alone
On a cold Christmas eve
In a land far from home.

The very thought
Brought a tear to my eye
I dropped to my knees
And started to cry.

The solider awakened
And I heard a rough voice

Santa don’t cry, this life is my choice
I fight for freedom, I don’t ask for more 
My life is my God. My Country. My Corps!

The soldier rolled over
And drifted to sleep
I couldn’t control it
I continued to weep.

I kept watch for hours
So silent and still
We both shivered
From the cold night’s chill.

I didn’t want to leave
On that cold, dark night
This guardian of honor
So willing to fight.

Then the soldier rolled over
With a voice soft and pure
Whispered Carry on Santa
It’s Christmas Day!  All Secure!

One look at my watch
And I knew he was right

Merry Christmas my friend!
May God bless you this night.

Merry Christmas everyone!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2008 12:01

    Merry Christmas to you and your brave soldier.

  2. December 24, 2008 14:08

    Merry Christmas to the both of you and your brother. I’m so grateful to men like them for keeping us safe and for standing up against the evils of the world. Enjoy every minute of your holiday!

  3. December 24, 2008 15:15

    Merry Christmas to you and your husband. I pray your brother is safe this Christmas Eve and all the days of the year.

  4. December 24, 2008 23:31

    Have a safe, happy and loving holiday, you are a great lady and I am happy to be your friend.

  5. December 26, 2008 14:10

    Merry Christmas. I hope your brother is home safely next year.

  6. December 26, 2008 14:40

    I’m a little late on this Cat, thought about calling you, but figured, like I, you are just happily spending this time, with your loving husband. I wish you a very merry Christmas season, my dearest Cat and a wonderful New Year (should I not talk to you before then)

    I too, used to feel like you do about being home for Christmas, but as so many years have gone by, home now, is where my husband and children are, home evolved for us as I got older and some day, may also do so for you…..they say you can’t go home, sometimes that is true…..one day home changes for us all in some capacity.

    For some of us, as we age and our parents age (or pass away, sad as it is) we are no longer benefited with the same feelings of home we once had, leaving the home we once had, no longer recognizable to us anymore…..I hope that for you and your husband, that you always have that “missing home” feeling you have now, that you long to return to that home year after year, a special pull during the holidays ……to not have it, as I do, is sad, and yet, it is also liberating as a military spouse because although I miss my family, I am not pulled at by a feeling of having to choose between them and being “home” with my family in our home for holidays. No guilt, no regrets…… I think one day you will understand this…… for now, I both envy and empathize with how you feel…..my heart goes out to you, Cat.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Call when you get a chance. Love Ya girl.

  7. December 26, 2008 14:41

    oh, I deleted this part and forgot to put it back in, I of course am keeping The Brother in my thoughts and prayers as I always do……ever difficult are the years when we have loved ones away in danger…..

  8. December 27, 2008 09:58

    Hi
    You have a good blog.
    Please visit my fun blog on:

    http://www.soldierfun.blogspot.com

    Be happy.

  9. December 29, 2008 14:14

    Happy Holidays Cat to you and your family!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

