Skip to content

Happy Sweetie Day!

February 13, 2009

tada

The Husband and I don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day too often.  I’m not sure why, but holidays or special days to celebrate each other always end up in disaster.  Expectations are too high, schedules don’t match up, or my favorite… a deployment has hindered our ability to even talk to each other on such days.  

On those rare days that we are afforded the opportunity to be on the same continent and the same house… the stars align and we have a chance to actually look at each other, I try to do something simple and fast.  

This recipe is from Giada De’Laurentiis.  I cannot remember what originally inspired me to try this recipe the first time… eggs are not my thing, chocolate, is not my thing… but somehow I made this magical dish a few years ago and never looked back.  I hope you give it a try!  We’re talking 10 minutes in the kitchen from beginning to finish.

Chocolate Zabaglione 
Giada De’Laurentiis

1/4 c semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 T heavy cream
4 egg yolks
1/3 c dry Marsala wine
1/3 c sugar
Pinch salt
1 pint strawberries, cleaned and coarsley chopped 

In a small saucepan, melt together the heavy cream and chocolate chips.  Set aside to cool.

choc

In the top of a double broiler* set to medium-high whisk together egg yolks, wine, sugar and salt.  

img_0744-1

Don’t let the water touch the bottom of your pan or you’ll scramble the eggs (and that’s pretty gross ifIdosaysomyself!).  Whisk the egg mixture constantly for about 4 minutes or until thick and light colored.  

finish

Remove from heat and fold in chocolate. 

Serve the zabaglione warm over chopped strawberries and savor every bite.  It’s phenomenal.  Wonderful.  Delicious.  Marvolous.  Whatever, just make it.  You won’t regret it.

*Since I’m always moving I try to keep my kitchen items to a minimum reasonable amount,  I actually use a stainless steel bowl for the top of my double broiler set over a stockpot.  It’s perfect, no need to buy a gadget!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2009 12:26

    This chocolate zabaglione is just crazy good!!!!

  2. February 13, 2009 15:24

    Ooh, and strawberries are on sale in the flyer this week! Looks wonderful!

  3. February 15, 2009 11:49

    Looks beautiful. Berry desserts are my favorite!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

