Skip to content

Chicken Tortilla Soup

June 27, 2008
tags:

I was never a fan of soups until about two years ago when I really started to cook.  I somehow missed the fact that you could have a whole meal in a single bowl and taste heaven on a spoon.  I don’t remember the first time I tasted Chicken Tortilla Soup, but I can tell you it wasn’t memorable.  Surfing Food Network one day, I came across this recipe from Emeril Legasse.  I’ll admit it.  I used to think Emeril was a snob and made food only the insane would eat.  I don’t know if he chanaged or if I changed, but the man can cook!  I couldn’t say this about many soups, but this is one of the few soups that could make me stand in the kitchen over a hot stove when it’s 96 degrees outside.  After The Husband and I devoured two bowls of this heaven, I took a camping mug full out to the pool to share with The Neighbors.  It didn’t last long.

Chicken Tortilla Soup
Emeril Legasse

2 T olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
3-4 cloves garlic, chopped
1 pablano pepper, seeded and chopped
Salt & pepper to taste
1 1/2 t ground cumin
1/2 t ground coriander
1 T tomato paste
6 c chicken stock
1 lb cooked chicken breasts*
Juice of 1 lime
1/4- 1/2 c chopped cilantro

Chipolte Creme
1/2 c sour cream
1 1/2 T chopped chipolte in Adobo
Pinch salt
Garnish
Tortilla chips (no, I don’t have any plans to ever make my own… unless in the oven)
1 Avacado, diced

In a large dutch oven or stock pot, heat olive oil over medium-high heat until rippling.  Drop onions, garlic and pablano pepper in and stir until tender.  Quickly add cumin, coriander, salt, pepper and tomato paste.  Cook just for 45-60 seconds until the tomato paste cooks down a little.  Add chicken stock and turn heat to low, simmer for 20 minutes or until slightly thickened. 

Prepare Chipolte Creme by mixing sour cream, chipolte and salt in a small bowl.  Don’t skip this… it’s incredible.

Once the soup has simmered for 20 minutes, stir in lime juice and cilantro until just heated through.  Serve soup garnished with Chipolte Creme, avacado pieces and tortilla chips… The Husband likes about a bag of tortilla chips, so keep the bag close by.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

