Skip to content

Summer Comfort

July 2, 2008
tags:

 

I once believed that it was a load of bull when someone tried to explain to me that children crave the thing mom ate while pregnant.  Boy, was I wrong.  I’m not sure why, but I never asked my mom what her cravings were while preggers with me.  One day out of curiosity I asked Mom what she noshed on and things suddenly began to make sense.  Regardless of eating five minutes before, if someone puts out a bowl of chips and salsa I’m consuming it at rapid speed.  I don’t think I can recall a single time in my life that Mexican was suggested and I declined.  You got it, Mom had massive cravings of the Mexican style. 

That being said, I can’t imagine a summer without fresh salsa, salty tortilla chips and tall frosty margaritas.  Saturday evening was spent in the backyard by the pool, sipping a pomegranate margarita and lazily dipping tortilla chips into homemade salsa.  It doesn’t get any better than this.  Leave the sombreros inside, they give a nasty tan line on your forehead!

I don’t have a recipe for salsa, but a method if you will.

Cat’s Salsa
4-6 ripe Roma tomatoes
1/2 medium red onion
1 clove garlic
1-2 fresh jalepenos, seeded & cored to taste
Handful fresh cilantro
Juice of 1 lime
Salt & pepper

Halve tomatoes and squeeze away seeds.  Roughly chop tomatoes and throw in a bowl or a food processor if you don’t have and immersion blender.  Roughly chop onion, garlic, jalepeno and cilantro and add to your bowl/food processor.  Squeeze the lime over everything and blend to your heart’s desire.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Enjoy!

As for the margaritas… well, that’ll have to come later.  I can’t give that up yet.
 

 
 

 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

