Skip to content

Happy Independence Day!

July 7, 2008

It’s hard to admit, but I believe this 4th of July had to have been one of my favorites on record.  The afternoon of the 3rd I got a wonderful surprise in the mail (seriously, go buy everything you can afford from these women… they are fantastic)!  I have my eye on a new bag that I’m saving my pennies for but hopefully one of the four people I dropped major hints to grabbed it for my birthday on Wednesday.  With my weekend starting off in such a great way I began cooking for the crew that would be joining The Husband and I for the 4th.  In addition to our neighborhood block party, we had about 25 friends show up to celebrate and watch the fireworks.

Regardless of how wonderful this Independence Day was, I was torn thinking about 4th of Julys past.  I desperately wanted to go to Ft. Riley or Ft. Leavenworth for the 4th this year but The Husband said he preferred to stay home.  I just can’t seem to seperate myself from wanting to be around people that get it.  I love The Neighbors and The Friends, but they don’t seem to understand the power Independence Day holds over military families.  I can’t think about our freedom without thinking about the sacrifices The Husband and I have made for our country.  I can’t help but think about how selfless The Husband and all others in the squardron are, how many nights they’ve been alone and I’ve been alone.  I wouldn’t change a thing.  I’m proud of The Husband.  I’m proud of our country and I’m forever grateful for our military.  Embrace our country and appreciate the sacrifices others make to give us freedom.

This 4th I began the day making coleslaw and potato salad.  The Husband smoked a 22lb brisket and I ended up making baked beans that I wish I could remember how I made because I’ve never received more comments on a single dish!  Of course, my camera died sometime early in the process so I didn’t get any pictures except for some uncut veggies for the coleslaw, messy hands trying to mix the coleslaw and raw brisket. 

The Soundtrack of this 4th of July:

The Star Spangled Banner – Jordin Sparks
Born in the USA – Bruce Springstein
Arlington – Trace Adkins
Where Stars & Stripes – Aaron Tippen
God Bless the USA – Lee Greenwood
If You’re Reading This – Tim McGraw
Citizen Soldier – 3 Doors Down
Riding with Private Malone – David Ball
Letters from Home – John Michael Montgomery
Have You Forgotten – Darryl Worley
This is God – Phil Vasser
Courtesy of the USA (Angry American) – Toby Keith
Where Were You (when the world stopped turning) – Alan Jackson
American Soldier – Toby Keith
God Bless the USA  – LeAnn Rimes

Lots more music was had, but this is the stuff we had on repeat for the majority of the night.  The Neighbors and I certainly enjoyed the beautiful weather and cold flirtinis.

Cat’s Flirtinis

1 c passion fruit vodka
1 c cranberry juice
1 c pineapple juice
1 bottle cold sparking white wine

Stir everything together in a large pitcher.  Serve over ice and don’t stand suddenly.

One Comment leave one →
  1. catchthevision permalink
    July 8, 2008 07:33

    Thanks for this.

    As someone from across the pond, I’ve been trying to understand why America is so very independent minded, and I’ve had some interesting comments.

    I wonder what you think? Have a look at “Happy Independence Day, USA!”

    Url: http://catchthevision.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

