Skip to content

Barefoot! Jalepeno Cheddar Cornbread

July 10, 2008

If I told you I love cornbread, it would be an understatement.  Like peanut butter, I have to refrain from going anywhere near cornbread.  I will eat the whole pan.  The Mom used to make cornbread in a pyrex pie plate (say that 3 times fast!) so that’s my preferred cornbread shape.  For the Barefoot Bloggers challenge, I made it in two 9″x9″ pans because I really like the hard edges on cornbread.  I have to admit, this cornbread was more a corncake than bread. 

The only change I made to the recipe was I minced up a couple cloves of garlic to the butter while it melted on the stove.  At the last minute of prep, I just didn’t think I could eat this cornbread without a little touch of garlic in it.  Notes for next time: I’ll reduce the flour to 2 1/2 c and increase the cornmeal to 1 1/2 c to give it more of a corncakebread flavor.  I think I’ll throw in another couple jalapenos and add 1 T chili powder and decrease the sugar to 2 T.  I might even throw some red onions or shallots in with the butter and garlic in place of the scallions to give a more pronounced oniony flavor. 

Oh!  I also topped the cornbread with snipped chives instead of more scallions (because I used them all in the batter… oops!)

After sharing the corncakebread with the neighbors, I’m left with just a small piece to warm up with a little butter tonight.  Mmmm.. sounds good.

Jalepeno Cheddar Cornbread
Ina Garten, The Barefoot Contessa

3 c ap flour
1 c yellow cornmeal
1/4 c sugar
2 T baking powder
2 t kosher salt
2 c milk
3 eggs, lightly beaten
1 c butter, melted, plus more for the pan
8 oz aged extra-sharp Cheddar, grated, divided
3 scallions, white & green parts, chopped
3 T seeded and minced fresh jalepeno peppers

Combine the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine the milk, eggs, and butter. With a wooden spoon, stir the wet ingredients into the dry until most of the lumps are dissolved. Don’t overmix! Mix in 2 cups of the grated Cheddar, the scallions and jalapenos, and allow the mixture to sit at room temperature for 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9″x13″x2″ baking pan.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, smooth the top, and sprinkle with the remaining grated Cheddar and extra chopped scallions. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool and cut into large squares. Serve warm or at room temperature.

The Husband and his cheese!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2008 07:52

    Wow-your bread looks be-yoo-tee-full. And happy Birthday. What a sweetie to bake that cake!

  2. July 10, 2008 12:36

    Happy birthday! I remember 27, sigh.
    What a great idea to put garlic in the cornbread, I am trying that next.
    Great job!

  3. nbbride06 permalink
    July 10, 2008 12:45

    Looks wonderful!

  4. July 10, 2008 19:15

    I love the garlic idea. Your cornbread looks delish! and happy birthday!!

  5. July 10, 2008 19:40

    Your cornbread looks nice and cheesy!!

  6. July 10, 2008 19:47

    Happy Birthday! Great job with the bread and to add the garlic too–I didn’t even think of that, I am sure it added a lot. Great pictures!

  7. July 11, 2008 10:46

    Bread looks good…and I’m a peanut butter junkie too.

Leave a Reply

