Skip to content

Over the River and Through the Woods…

July 12, 2008

To The Neighbor’s new house we go!  It’s a bittersweet time in the Cat’s Pajamas hood.  My neighbor has lived in our picturesque community for the last year while she, her husband and 4(!) kids built a new home a few miles away.  Our time together as neighbors is coming to an end, but our friendship I’m sure will endure.  

The house isn’t finished, but she gave another neighbor (my walking buddy) and I a preview last evening.  Off we trotted with our beer and vodka lemonade, over the river (okay, lake) and through the woods (literally) to the Neighbor’s new house we go.  The first thought that came to mind… cooking school!  The Neighbor is always asking if I can teach her how to cook (because seriously, the girl can burn water!)  She has a kitchen that could make a sane girl (me) jealous.  The house is beautiful and the absolute essence of her family.  Every room is done to perfection and echos of each of their personalities.  I know there will be many lazy evenings sitting on her 20 foot deck staring at the stars, listening to the crickets while sipping something wonderful and watching our husbands burn everything on the grill. For now, I’m going to enjoy the time I have with she and her family while they still live 20 feet from me.

Times like these call for drastic measures.  Comfort.  Like I said earlier, I have a fondness for Mexican food.  Yesterday after a busy day at work, I stopped at the grocery and got the makings for guacamole and fire-roasted salsa.  I went for my walk with my Walking-Buddy Neighbor, who is a great friend, regardless of my penchant for occasionally moaning about wanting to turn around.  After 4 miles of complaining, I came home, jumped into a swimsuit and stood in the kitchen assembling my guacamole and salsa.  This was intended to be a topping for chicken nachos but the best laid plans don’t always work out.  The Neighbors came over and insisted we leave to look at “The Land” as The Neighbor refers to her new home.  I threw everything in the refrigerator and took off.  The Husband came home hungry and as of 10:00 last night, we had a snack of comfort standing in the kitchen.  

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2008 22:18

    I’m eating nachos with fire roasted salsa as I’m reading my favorite blogs. I’m sorry you’re losing a neighbor, but I’m glad you have some yummy salsa in the fridge!

  2. 1freshstart permalink
    July 14, 2008 08:29

    Haha! I love that salsa. We used the rest of it up last night. I’ll tell you all about it later today (hopefully).

Leave a Reply

