Skip to content

Expectations

July 16, 2008

I had great hopes when we PCS’d here that I would get to spend evenings with The Husband.  I made him promise before we left Fayettenamville that he’d walk with me in the evenings, sit and have dinner at a decent hour and share in fun activities.  A year into this, and it’s the same old pattern.  The Husband pours himself into projects.  He has so many things he likes to do, hobbies, lessons, school that there’s practically no time for me.  I’ve spent 6 1/2 years playing second fiddle to our country and now I’m playing second fiddle to school.  The truth is that he’s a wonderful, amazing, loving, devoted husband.  I love him more than anything. 

On top of his engineering commitments, he’s taking flight lessons which consume a fair amount of time between flying and studying.  I don’t think I’m asking a lot.  I’m asking for time management.  I’m asking for a date… that he plans, not the “we can go out any time you want.”  Plan it.  Tell me when and what we’re doing.  I don’t like saying “I want to go out.”  I feel like I’m taking away time from studying, spending time with other people, furthermore I feel like I’m wasting time and money.  Bottom Line: Sometimes, I don’t want to do the dishes.  Sometimes, I want to be treated; I want the staff at a restaurant to take care of everything: the refilling of water, cleaning up the table, doing the dishes.  Sometimes I just want to relax.  I know  that I’m the priority in his life… that’s why we’re here.  Doing this.  I ignore the worry lines on his face when he’s been up pushing himself to the limit.  Doesn’t he know that I love him?  That I just want to spend a little time with him and be a priority once in a while?  My counselor made me buy a calendar to schedule my time.  Perhaps I should buy one for The Husband and pencil myself in.

While we live in this perfect little community, these are things I’d like to do.  We didn’t live to our fullest in North Carolina.  The first time we saw the ocean was when The Brother PCS’d to Camp Lejeune after we’d already lived in North Carolina for 3 years.  The first time we saw the mountains was five months before we moved away.  I want to take advantage of this time in our lives. 

Long Weekends:
The Omaha Zoo
The Cosmosphere
Missouri Botanical Garden

Around Town:
Downtown KC Airline History Museum
Kansas City Toy & Miniature Museum
Nelson-Atkins Museum- Bloch Building
Powell Gardens
Boulevard Brewing Company

I want to enjoy this time with The Husband and in the great community I grew up in.  I want to share the fun things from my youth with him. 

Any other suggestions?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 16, 2008 22:15

    I love lists of fun things that I want to do. My kids and I make one for every season so we don’t let the good times pass us by. I hope you and your husband can make a good crack at it. I LOVE the Omaha zoo-so much fun!

Leave a Reply

