Skip to content

If I had a signature dish…

July 17, 2008
tags:

The Husband and I eat copious amounts of soup; but even I will admit that the thought of chili in the dead of summer is almost repulsive.  Unless, of course, it’s Green Chili with Pork and Hominy.  The flavors in this chili are so fresh and vibrant, it tastes good all year round. 

Growing up Mom only made one chili… which is fabulous and remains my go-to chili recipe.  How naive was I to think that everyone made the same chili and only my grandmother made “bad” chili.  Mercy.  I’ve served this several times while entertaining and the reaction is always the same give me the recipe… NOW!  Last year I served this for our Christmas Open House and one of The Parent’s lifelong friends who is an incredible cook almost knocked me out trying to pry the recipe from my lifeless paws.  Occasionally when I’m in a not-so-bad OCD mood, I’ll use one can white hominy and one can golden hominy… and it’s equally good.   I do hope you’ll try this chili, no matter how hot it is where you are. 

This recipe comes from Epicurious, but it’s been changed a little.  I’ve added my (comments). 

Green Chili with Pork and Hominy
Epicurious

1 medium onion, quartered
2-4 jalepenos, stemmed & quartered
2 cloves garlic, peeled
1 3/4 c chicken stock
1/4 c vegetable oil
1 1/2 lb ground pork
1 t ground cumin
Salt & pepper to taste
2 (14 oz) cans white hominy, drained & rinsed
Handfull fresh cilantro, chopped
Serve with:
Shredded cheddar
Sour Cream

 

Purée onion, jalepenos and garlic with 1/2 cup chicken stock in a blender.  (I do this with my immersion blender and it’s perfect.  The method I use to determine how many jalepenos is to give the puree a good sniff after it’s blended and as RR would say… your nose will know.  Start with two peppers and add until you get that spicy sniff.)Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a 4-quart heavy pot over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking, then brown pork, stirring and breaking up clumps with a fork, just until no longer pink, about 4 minutes. Transfer to a bowl with a slotted spoon.  Pour off all but 1 tablespoon fat from pot.  (If you use lean pork for this or

 

grind your own, you won’t have excess fat and the flavor is actually better.)

Add remaining 3 tablespoons oil to pot and heat over moderately high heat until hot, then carefully add purée (it will spatter), cumin, and salt. Cook, stirring frequently, until mixture is thickened and most of liquid is evaporated, about 10 minutes.  (The puree will become paste-like and utterly delicious.  Don’t skip this step- you’ll regret it.)


Add pork, hominy, cilantro, and remaining 1 1/4 cups broth and simmer gently, uncovered, stirring occasionally, 10 minutes. Serve chili sprinkled with cheddar cheese and a dollop of sour cream.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 19, 2008 00:00

    Printing this one as soon as I get home. YUM!

Leave a Reply

