Skip to content

Blessings from Above

July 22, 2008
tags:

A few weeks ago, The Mom called to tell me she had some strange thing going on with her leg.  This information was not unusual, as the women in our family tend to be a wee-bit klutzy.  When I was younger I have a vivid memory of her standing in the front doorway of our home and the storm door slamming into the back of her heal.  Of course, it hurt.  Of course, it took a while to get her to the doctor to have it looked at.  She’d severed her Achilless tendon.  Over the course of the next few years her bones started to degenerate on her ankles and she’s worn permanent braces on her legs for about the last 12 years.  She can remove the braces at night, but she has limited mobility in her ankle area. 

So a few weeks ago when she called to say that something was wrong with her leg, I took it with a grain of salt.  It would be okay.  Everything’s always okay.  Not so.  She had a tumor in her leg that made the circumference of her leg 2 inches larger than the other, prohibiting her from wearing her leg braces and causing great pain.  Today was the meeting with the surgeon to determine what day he was going to hack open her leg and render her immobile for 2 months.  Many MRIs, X-rays, Sonograms later… guess what!  It’s gone!  The tumor is no longer there. 

So… blessings from above?  Absolutely.  Praise God for all He does in our everyday lives.  Without Him I’m nothing… and I know it.  Now I get to start praying about the lump in her breast.  That appointment is next Tuesday.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Trish permalink
    July 22, 2008 14:33

    That is awesome news. I will pray for the next tests. My Mom just went to the Dr and her blood count is going up again so probably more chemo. I will add Mama W to the prayer list. 🙂

  2. July 22, 2008 15:35

    I swear, Mama M is the strongest woman I know. Your family’s been through so much. I pray for her all the time, even when I’m not sure how things are going.

  3. July 22, 2008 20:05

    I’m sending blessings and prayers your way. What a healthy fighter your mother must be. She beat the tumor, now she just needs to take on the lump.

Leave a Reply

