Skip to content

Barefoot! Smoked Salmon Spread

July 24, 2008

The Husband grew up in Long Island, I know I’ve touched briefly on the variety of things he was accustomed to eating as an adolescent but I’ve purposefully neglected telling you about bagels with lox and cream cheese.  I don’t eat fishies.  In fact, my distaste for anything fishie is so great that I threatened to throw away my cutting board, knife and beaters after making this.  l admit (in a moment of adulthood) I tried two different types of fishies this past weekend!  The talapia everyone was raving about was actually quite good!  I might even start encorporating fishies into my weekly cooking. 

The Husband’s grandparents live in a beautiful community in Long Island that is home to (in my opinion) the best bagel shop in the world.  We go visit his grandparents and swing by the bagel shop in the mornings to grab bagels (Everything Bagel for me please!), cream cheese… and lox.  To this day, he hasn’t managed to get me to wrap my mouth around a salmon topped bagel.  I just can’t do it.  Next time we go visit the wonderful Grand-In-Laws, I’ll be starting my morning the same as everyone else in the house… give me the lox! 

This weeks Barefoot Blogger mission was chosen by Ashley, of The Spicy Skillet.  Thanks Ashley, I actually tried fishies and enjoyed it!

Smoked Salmon Spread
Ina Garten

8 oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 c sour cream
1 T freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 T minced fresh dill
1 t prepared horseradish, drained
1/2 t salt
1/4 t ground pepper
1/4 lb (4 oz) smoked salmon (LOX), minced

Cream the cheese in an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment until just smooth. Add the sour cream, lemon juice, dill, horseradish, salt, and pepper, and mix. Add the smoked salmon and mix well. Chill and serve with crudites or crackers.

** I served mine with sliced English cucs.  The Husband enjoyed the leftovers with a nice fresh bagel.

This could not have been easier to make.  I didn’t use the KitchenAid, like I said, I was going to throw every kitchen utensil that came in contact with the salmon in the trash.  The Husband did not  allow me to throw everything away being that the knife was a very expensive and thoughtful gift from him.  He told me to grow up. 

I used a plain old hand mixer and it got the job done for me.  I also mixed the sour cream and horseradish in with the cream cheese in the beginning and avoided beating the cream cheese alone… I was in a time crunch!  Smoked Salmon Spread was the perfect dish to take to a barbeque we attended on Sunday since it was light and refreshing and it was pushing 98 degrees that day.  Rave reviews from everyone in attendance!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2008 08:48

    This was too funny. I love how you kept saying”fishies”-I’m still laughing. I love you were going to throw everything in the trash. You really are a kindred spirit.

  2. July 24, 2008 11:22

    Good thing we both had barbecues to go to so we could get it out of our house! I did find the smoked salmon is much easier to stomach than fresh salmon.

  3. July 24, 2008 11:33

    I’m glad you got over your fear of fishies. Good for you for being brave enough to try a recipe that had frightening ingredients for you!
    I love the shallow white bowl at the beginning of your post. I’m a dish freak.
    Yours looks lovely and healthy with all the cukes.

  4. July 24, 2008 11:55

    Yea for liking fishies! Looks great.

  5. July 24, 2008 12:15

    It looks wonderful- I’m weird about fish too but seeing everyone’s beautiful dip making me think I should try again, lol!

  6. July 24, 2008 12:24

    I’m glad that you decided to try it and actually enjoyed it. Hooray for fishies!

  7. July 24, 2008 13:28

    “Fishies” made me crack up. You are braver than me for trying it!

  8. July 24, 2008 13:58

    Good for you on getting out of your comfort zone and trying something new.

  9. July 24, 2008 14:38

    Good job with the dip and taking steps to overcome the phobia! Fishies aren’t so bad for the most part! 😉

  10. July 24, 2008 15:29

    It’s the “smoked” fishies thing that I don’t really like. And oh…Long Island bagels….I just posted about how my husband and I always long for Long Island bagels and pizza…not the lox though, yetch.

  11. July 24, 2008 17:56

    I love bagels and lox. Oh Long Island bagels we used to go to a bagel shop all the time when we lived in Long Island. Congrats on getting out of your comfort zone and giving fishies a try! Looks great!

  12. July 25, 2008 09:39

    We are going to have ours on bagels for dinner tonight!! I’m glad you tried it!!

  13. July 27, 2008 08:01

    I’ve got an award for you on my blog. Come on by.

Trackbacks

  1. Consider yourself Enlisted « The Cat’s Pajamas

Leave a Reply

