Skip to content

Operation Baking GALS

July 29, 2008

Okay, this truly touched me.  I came across this from a commenter on Prudy’s blog and I sat with shaking hands reading this woman’s mission

Baking GALS (Give A Little Support)

Baking GALS (Give A Little Support)

 

Mission: To bake for the troops. 

I don’t know if it’s jacked up hormones or if I am just so deeply touched that there are still people out there that care about our men and women in uniform.  Life has gone on for so many Americans.  9/11 came and hit hard.  The country rallied, threw their flags to fly high outside their homes, sang National Anthems… and then, as time went on, the flags came down.  We (Americans) forgot.  Americans like to complain about how much money is being spent over there and complain about the “Death Toll.”  It’s not a “death toll” to us (the Military community) these are our brothers and sisters.  This is our hodgepodge family.  Stop talking about them as if they are a number.  As for the money being spent- that’s safety gear for our men and women!  If you insist on using a number, tell me… what’s the NUMBER of people serving on active duty “over there” right now?  What’s the NUMBER of families that are stateside missing their husband, wife, mother, father, brother, sister, daughter, son?  What’s the NUMBER of men and women YOU can touch by baking a simple batch of cookies, dropping it in the mail and brightening the lives of others? 

You know what?  As a MilWife I can say- I haven’t forgotten.  I live this life every damn day and I don’t consider them numbers. I don’t think I could ever do enough to show support for those men and women.  Won’t you help Operation Baking GALS?  Won’t you help our guys?

So you can’t bake?… buy some of that break and bake stuff.  Just do it.  If you still care, if you still support the men and women over there – show them.   Show them you haven’t forgotten and you don’t consider us a number. 

With love,
~The Cat’s Pajamas (who hasn’t moved on)

I’ll post some of my packing tips on the site tonight.  Look for me over there.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2008 07:20

    This is a wonderful idea! And to answer your question, no I haven’t made the bonus recipe yet. Not sure that I will find time…not sure where the time goes…but it goes. I look forward to seeing the pictures of yours!

  2. July 30, 2008 09:03

    Thanks for the reminder about what our troops lay on the line. All I can say is Thank you-not just to our troops but to their families who have to sacrifice and worry.

  3. Cyndi permalink
    July 30, 2008 10:47

    Hey, you should check out Anna’s post over at cookie madness about baking for the troops too. she posted that a neighbor of hers is over in Iraq and people can take turns sending her goodies so that a week doesn’t go by where she (and the friends that she shares with) doesn’t get something. I have signed up for two weeks prior to Christmas ’08 so I am definitely looking for ideas of things to ship.

Trackbacks

  1. Barefoot! Coeur a la Creme « The Cat’s Pajamas

Leave a Reply

