Skip to content

The rest of it… and a meat ball!

August 7, 2008

The Artist (dancing)
The Artist (dancing)

 

 The past week has been strange for me.  It’s been a baaaaaaad week for my ADD, bad week for jacked up hormones and an amazing week for me to recognize all of the wonderful things The Husband does for me. 

I usually have bad ADD days.  Last week was bad.  There are several things that can trigger my brain to just randomly decide not to pay attention to any of the twenty things going on in front of or around me.  The triggers don’t really matter because sometimes they’re unavoidable.  Lack of routine is my worst trigger.  Back in the day, while attending Sylvan I learned that routine is very important to a person with ADD.  Not because things have to be done a certain way… but because if I don’t do things in a certain order- they simply won’t get done.  I can usually be found with no less than 3 lists in my possession at any given time.  Last week was rough because I started the week out of whack.  Today is one of those days.  Example: on these bad ADD days The Husband can wake up to find that I’ve tripped down the stairs or walked into walls because I’ve forgotten to pay attention.  I’ll pour coffee in the cat’s water dish, return the coffee caraffe to the fridge and the half and half in the coffee pot. 

Today The Husband woke up to find that my car was in the driveway, the garage was half open, and I was nowhere to be found.  I decided mid-leaving that I would take his car  this morning.  For no reason.  The best part of today- don’t laugh – half of my shirt is ironed.  I can’t quite figure out how I managed to do this… but the left side of my body seems to be in good order- the right… umm… not so much.  Is there an underlying message about my brain in this?  Thank God I can hole up in my office and have minimal contact with others today.

I wrote a couple of days ago about my crazy bout of depression and the people in my life that were neglected because of it.  I’Meatve finally started talking to everyone again, actually started answering the phone and having conversations.  These are people that I love, people that mean so very much to me that I find it scary that I survived the past year without them.  The reaction is always the same, “I’m so sorry I wasn’t there for you.  I’m sorry you went through that”  Enough.  I take responsibility for the hurt I’ve caused others by not being honest with them.  How were my friends supposed to know there was something wrong when I was so good at pretending everything was perfect?

The other night I got a call from The Artist.  She’s another of those unbelievable friends that becomes a part of you.  She moved away from North Carolina about 2 years before The Husband and I did.  After a 12 month deployment, her husband came back from over there with some sort of PTSD.  Things spiralled out of control for both of them and she ended up moving to Maryland and then Virginia after he asked for a divorce.  I’m not going to hash out her divorce here- because thankfully, she too blacked out a hard time of her life and she doesn’t remember (and I don’t want her to remember) what happened to her in those dark months. 

The Artist continued to come visit The Husband and I in North Carolina after she moved away.  She’s part of our hodgepodge family, she always will be.  Today she’s a senior and studying Theater at Liberty University and designing interactive displays at a museum in town.  She’s amazing.  Really.  If you’re in the Lynchburg area and you have children… go to the museum.  If you find The Artist, give her a big ol’ hug from me.  She’ll be the one that you look at twice because she’s strikingly beautiful and interesting.  She’ll also be the one that if you look, you’ll see God’s light shining through… and kind soul with an incredible sense of humor. 

I explained to The Artist what had been going on with me during our three hour phone conversation the other night.  That’s what prompted me to write about all of this.  The good news is, I’m not pretending anymore.  I held together through 3 war campaigns and wasn’t one of those wives.  I stayed strong when The Husband needed me. I kept it together.  Then I freaked out- oh, but freaked out good!

One of The Artist’s favorite meals of mine is The Husband’s family spaghetti.  I happened to have everything needed the other night and in an effort of good will toward The Husband, who deals with so much from me… I made meatballs.  Since today is such a bad brain day and this has nothing to do with The Artist… I might as well confuse everyone and write about my balls too!

 Cat’s Meatballs
A Cat’s Pajamas Original Recipe

1 lb ground beef
1 lb ground pork
2 T olive oil
1 small onion, finely chopped
3-4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
10-15 fresh basil leaves, chopped
2 sprigs fresh thyme, chopped
1 1/2 T crushed red pepper
Salt and pepper (about 1 t of each)
1/2 c bread crumbs (more may be necessary)
2 eggs, slightly beaten
1 c grated Parmesan cheese*

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line a cookie sheet with foil and non-stick spray.

In a small saucepan, heat olive oil and red pepper flakes.  Saute onion and garlic until tender.  Set aside to cool.

In a large mixing bowl, combine all ingredients until well incorporated.  Don’t over mix, as Rachael Ray says this makes your meat become tough.  Who knew?  If the meat is really moist (won’t stick together if you try) add a few more bread crumbs a couple of tablespoons at a time until the mixture will stick together.

Form meat mixture into balls and place on baking sheet (if you’re OCD like me, make sure you have a pattern going on… it’ll make you worry the whole time if you don’t.)  Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes until cooked through.  Remove to a wire cooling rack for about 5 minutes so the fat can drip off.  Serve with your favorite family recipe for spaghetti.

* I didn’t use the Parmesan in my meatballs the other night because the family spaghetti sauce has a ton of cheese in it… and sometimes I have to put my foot down with The Husband and say enough is enough.

Grr!

Grr!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2008 18:37

    I’m glad you are better about things….worst thing you can do is deny issues that plague you. Although not ADD, I have moments when I totally forget things (I take a medication that causes brain fog on occasions) and doing things. It drives my family bonkers, but I smile oh so innocently and claim no comment…..

    I find that when I am having one of my not so super days, that it helps to just leave everything and go take some personal time to get myself back where I need to be……

    After the rollercoaster year I have had, I do that more now then I used to, it keeps everyone from being made to feel like they are the cause of my inability to deal. 😀 Hugs

  2. August 8, 2008 08:37

    I don’t have ADD (at least I don’t think I do) but I constantly wander off into lalala land with no awareness of what I’m doing. There’s some sort of physical detatchment between my brain and body when I’m thinking of something consuming. Anyway, I’m glad you have such a great group of friends and of course that husband of yours. I’m sure he loved his meatballs. I’ve been thinking meatballs lately, too. Your extra cheesy recipe looks so good.

  3. Trish permalink
    August 8, 2008 10:28

    That looks good….can we have that when I come to visit?

  4. the artist permalink
    October 11, 2008 22:47

    so funny, i was just looking through those pics the other night. good times! personally, i like my axel rose pic better than the – looks a little prego headbanger – pic 😉
    i love you!

Trackbacks

  1. The Good Old Days « The Cat’s Pajamas

Leave a Reply

