Skip to content

Consider yourself Enlisted

August 12, 2008

My in-laws are coming to visit in a little under 2 weeks.  My mother-in-law is a vegetarian who eats fish… and as you know, The Husband and I don’t eat fishies.  I’m at a loss as to what to serve for breakfast and lunches.  The Husband is a high-protein eater because of his exhaustive schedule.  My father-in-law and sister-in-law are both meat eaters as well.  So what do I make for breakfast when the vegetarian won’t eat egg whites or meat?  Can you help a girl out?  I need a couple more dinner suggestions that aren’t pasta dishes and no mushrooms (surprise… I don’t like fungus either.)  Lunch?  What on earth do I serve for lunch when almost every soup I make is made with a chicken base?

For dinners I plan to make:
Make your own stir-fry (my favorite meal) that can easily go from vegetarian to meaty.
Fettuccini with Artichoke Alfredo topped with Grilled Chicken (that obviously can be left off).
Grill Night to include steak and a large assortment of Grilled Vegetables,  perhaps baked potatoes
We’ll also have a smoke-out one day.  The Husband will smoke a brisket and I’ll make a squash casserole, mashed potatoes or something.

Help?  Please?  Pretty Please?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2008 10:39

    Muffins, fresh fruit, cottage cheese? Does she eat cheese? Bagels and cream cheese?

  2. August 12, 2008 10:46

    Oh! I don’t know why I didn’t think of cottage cheese. She loves it. Yes, she eats bagels and cream cheese too… I’m just worried about all of the carbs in muffins/coffee cakes/bagels. We’ll splurge and do carbs at least once though.

  3. August 12, 2008 13:11

    You have to make some of those calzones with your leftover grilled meat and veggies for the veg. For breakfast, can you get one of thos 10 grain oatmeals. They’re pretty good on protein and you could serve it with fresh berries. How about homemade granola? I’m doing a recipe on monday.

  4. August 12, 2008 16:14

    Erin,

    This is why I found it a good idea to put these questions out there. Leftover Veggie Calzones? Oh. My. Goodness. Maybe with a pesto instead of tomato sauce? You rock!
    ~Cat

  5. August 13, 2008 07:44

    I agree with Erin. How about some fresh granola with yogurt and berries? Although I think one of my favorite breakfast ideas is good old fashioned sticky buns (carb overload). Good luck and enjoy the visit.

  6. August 13, 2008 11:15

    I’d buy a bunch of vegetables and enlist her help in making meals, it would not only help you in ensuring that she has foods she will eat, it will give you time together (provided you want to) ….use the vegetables and make a vegetarian version of what you are making….i.e. pizza…..

    I think I’d just ask her ahead of time….it also shows that you are taking her preferences into consideration…….But you have really great suggestions from the other posters.

Trackbacks

  1. Barefoot! Panza-schetta « The Cat’s Pajamas

Leave a Reply

