Skip to content

MilWife passing for Civilian

August 15, 2008

I consider myself a morning person.  The Husband says he wouldn’t want to wake me with a 10 foot pole lest the beast be released, but I swear… that’s only waking up.  I’m chipper as a bluebird once I’m awake.  If I’m going to be productive at all in the day, it’s going to be in the morning when the sun is rising and bringing in warmth taken away in the night.  I can also tell within 5 minutes of waking up if it’s going to be a bad brain day or not.  This morning, I knew.  I just knew that I was going to fail miserably at holding it together. 

The Husband and I are headed to Omaha for the Air Show this weekend.  Another couple is joining us because they haven’t ever been to a military air show and want an expert to show them around (The Husband isactually an expert… I’ll explain on Monday).  Sweet!  I get to immerse myself in the life I know and love for 2 whole days!  Pure bliss is working it’s way through my blood right now. 

I keep struggling to write about my life right now, put into words this strange feeling… as if I don’t belong.  Moving here, I had grand ideas that this time in our lives (The Husband is going through a commissioning program) was going to be a blast.  We’d actually see each other!  I never thought I’d feel lost without my military family.  No one prepares you for this when the Air Force sends you away to live as civilians for a couple years.  They prepare you for everything else.

The Husband is definitely making a career out of the Air Force.  A normal enlistment/commission “career” means the member qualifies for retirement after 20 years of active duty service.  The years between 20 and 30 years are optional.  The military won’t kick anyone out, but the members are at liberty to apply for retirement at any time.  After 30 years, I’m pretty sure that unless the member is a General (highest ranking officers) the person will be forced to retire.  The Husband plans on sticking around until he’s forced to retire. 

Knowing The Husband wanted to make this a career, I buried myself in the lifestyle of a MilWife.  Come to think of it, I didn’t bury myself in the lifestyle, I found myself.  I miss the community and comerodery terribly.

Some days I wonder why I started writing for other people to read, days like today… I realize that there are wonderful people out there that treat me like a real human being and not some Crazy Military Type person.  I’m me here.  Plain and simple.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2008 12:58

    Kind of hard living that way…..I’m sort of stuck in that limbo too….living a life immersed in a civilian world…..an Army wife, stationed at an Airforce base that is part of an ARMY TRADOC program….basically it’s all schoolhouse….we are a detachment from a larger installation and I’m so friggin lost here too. When we go and visit our parent Brigade, I feel whole again…if only for a few days and I so envy my husband when he is there and I’m left behind, like this week…..but it will work out once I get my behind in gear and put myself to use within the unit here….which I have been avoiding due to things I have had to deal with in the past….funny, I miss it, yet it is a pain….I guess it is truly a double edged sword.

    Oh and after 30 years, you can get a waiver to stay in to 35…..at least in the Army for anyone enlisted who reaches E9 in certain positions (working for Generals and such)…..I’m sure it’s that way across the board for all services….not sure what applies to officers above Colonel.

  2. August 17, 2008 08:10

    I’m so glad you have your blog as a creative outlet and just to have a place to figure things out and be yourself. Not to mention the recipes. I’m not from a military family at all and I really don’t understand, so I’m glad to learn about it too. My parents have always had tremendous respect for everyone who has served in the Armed Forces. From the time I was young, we spent Veteran’s Day baking cookies and dropping them off to anyone who had served AND any widows in the community who had husbands that served. My parents moved to a new state (we followed them and now live across the street) and we made cookies and did it again last year. We were dropping off to strangers since we didn’t know any of the vets in the community but they were still so appreciative and kind.
    I’m excited to bake for your brother. You just let me know what to do and when and I’m honored to be able to do it.
    Anyway, boy I just keep going and going today. I’ll stop here and hope you have a great time at the air show and a fab rest of the weekend.

Leave a Reply

