Skip to content

Barefoot! Grilled California Pizzas

August 21, 2008

Yesterday when The Husband and I were doing a little grocery shopping at Target I asked him what kind of pizza he wanted.  His reply was, “Oh, the usual.”  Slightly miffed I said, “Why don’t we try something new?  Like a buffalo chicken pizza?”  The Husband looked at me with horror in his eyes and said, “Love, if I’m going to eat buffalo chicken wings, I’m going to eat buffalo chicken wings… not on anything else.”  Fine.  I grabbed a package of turkey sausage and went on my merry way.  When we approached the deli to grab lunch, The Husband promptly snatched up a Buffalo Chicken Wrap.  Why he can be adventurous and eat his spicy chicken in a sandwich, and not on a pizza is beyond me.

I must say, Grilled Pizza was absolutely wonderful!  The pizza tasted just like a fire-cooked pizza you’d get in a greasy Italian restaurant served at a red/white checkered table.  I’ve wanted to grill pizzas for a while now (thanks Bobby Flay) but haven’t had the nerve to do it.  If I’m going to go to the trouble of making pizza dough, I certainly don’t want it to not turn out well.  This was the perfect excuse though.  Rebecca, at Ezra Pound Cake chose this month’s bonus recipe for directing the most hits to Barefoot Bloggers.  

Honestly, I didn’t follow Ina Garten’s recipe for pizza dough, I just followed the method. Being from New York, The Husband is very particular about his pizza dough.  So this time around, I made my pizza dough but swapped 2 cups of white flour for 2 cups of wheat flour.  It turned out amazing, only slightly dry because I didn’t oil the dough before The Husband threw it on the grill.  

We topped ours with grilled turkey sausage, chopped green olives, grilled red onion and sliced tomatoes.   If you haven’t grilled pizza before… do it.  If you don’t make your own dough, find a local pizza shop and ask if you can buy a dough ball.  You won’t regret it.  Promise.  Next time, I think I’ll wrap the onion in foil with a bunch of chopped garlic and basil, then nestle it amongst the coals so I can get some garlic going on too.

Grilled California Pizzas
Ina Garten, The Barefoot Contessa

1 1/4 c warm water
2 packages yeast
1 T honey
3 T olive oil
4 c all purpose flour
2 t kosher salt

Toppings:
1 red onion, thinly sliced
1 lb freshly grated mozzarella
1/2 lb grated fontina
1/2 lb mild goat cheese
1 red or yellow pepper, cored, seeded and julienned 
1/4 lb prosciutto
1 bunch arugula, cleaned and dried
6 sliced plum tomatoes
1 bunch basil, torn
4 cloves roasted garlic
Crushed red pepper flakes

1/4 c olive oil
Cornmeal

For the dough, combine the water, yeast, honey, and olive oil in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a dough hook. Add 3 cups flour, then the salt, and mix. While mixing, add 1 more cup of flour, or enough to make a soft dough. Knead the dough on low to medium speed for about 10 minutes until smooth, sprinkling it with flour, if necessary, to keep it from sticking to the bowl.When the dough is ready, turn it out onto a floured board and knead by hand a dozen times. It should be smooth and elastic. Place the dough in a well-oiled bowl and turn it several times to cover it lightly with oil. Cover the bowl with a kitchen towel. Allow the dough to rest at room temperature for 30 minutes.

Divide the dough into 6 equal parts and roll each one into a smooth ball. Place the balls on a baking sheet and cover them with a damp towel. Allow the dough to rest for 10 minutes. Use immediately, or refrigerate for up to 4 hours.

If you’ve chilled the dough, take it out of the refrigerator approximately 30 minutes ahead to let it come to room temperature. Roll and stretch each ball into a rough 8-inch circle and place them all on baking sheets sprinkled with cornmeal. (You will be able to fit 2 pizzas on each 18 by 13-inch baking sheet.)

Light your grill and wait until it’s hot.

Place the pizzas directly onto the grill and cook on 1 side for 1 minute. Turn the pizzas over and brush with olive oil or garlic oil.

Top the pizzas with any toppings you wish, piling them high. Drizzle each pizza with 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Put the lid on your grill and cook for 5 minutes more, until the crust is crisp and the toppings are cooked.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2008 09:28

    Oh, Jeff would be all about that combo. I need to try your pizza crust …

  2. August 21, 2008 11:31

    The sausage looks like a good pick for a topping. You are making me hungry for pizza all over again.
    I also like your idea of doing the published recipe in a different colour than your post – I might “borrow” that idea!

  3. August 21, 2008 12:21

    That dough sounds great! I have to try it sometime…once I get over my fear of yeast 🙂

  4. August 21, 2008 15:43

    Your pizza looks so delicious. Your toppings are making me want to make the pizzas all over again. Great idea re buying dough from a pizza shop.

  5. August 21, 2008 16:50

    I love that you used wheat flour. I think I’ll try that next time, with your recipe.

  6. August 21, 2008 22:47

    Ooh, I’ve just been checking here all day. I knew you would make this. It looks wonderful and kudos to you for the ww flour. Your toppings also sound amazing.

  7. August 22, 2008 16:18

    I love sauasage–your pizzas look great! I think a buffalo wing inspired pizza would be good too! 🙂 Congrats on the whole wheat flour–that’s my next step to try it with that.

Leave a Reply

