Skip to content

Barefoot! Butterflied Chicken

August 28, 2008

Last night was supposed to be our last night with The Mother-In-Law and Father-In-Law.  We had such a wonderful week with them, the decided to stay an extra day!  I wish they didn’t have to go, but home beckons.  I do believe that MSgt Gomer Pyle and A1C Radar convinced them to get a baby or two of their own when they move into their new condo. 

The Husband and The Father-In-Law went to the camera shop (Christmas is coming love!) to get a few gadgets for The FIL’s camera(s).  The girls and I stayed back and prepared dinner.  How fortunate The Husband decided weeks ago to grill on (what was going to be) The In-Law’s last night here.  Thankfully I didn’t have to think too hard about what to grill last night.  It’s Barefoot Bloggers time again and Stefany at Proceed With Caution chose Butterflied Chicken as the recipe our little (eh, not so little anymore) group would make. 

I will admit.  The butcher at my local Hy-Vee was not impressed, nor humored by my request for a whole chicken, butterflied and deboned.  Since this is the only place I buy my meat from, I have a pretty nice relationship with the man.  When I called, I didn’t want to give him my name and I almost sent The Sister-In-Law in to pick it up for me. 

When I requested it he asked, “You want what?” 
I replied, “A whole chicken, butterflied and deboned.” 
“Really?” he replied. 
“Uh. Yes.  Sorry.  Am I being a pain in the bum?”  I asked.
“Uh,huh.  Quite frankly.  I mean, how am I supposed to do this?  Split the breasts and butterfly that way, or split the back?” 
“Dude.  You’re way out of my league.  I would really prefer it if you didn’t split the breasts.  I think they like hanging out together.” 
“Oh.  Okay.  We’ll see what we can do.” 

When he asked for my name I wanted to be a brat and say, “Ina Garten.”  But I already use Cat, which is not my name… so I think I should probably stick to one alias.  I tend to confuse myself sometimes and don’t need anything else to taunt my harried brain.

The Husband and Father-In-Law were running late, so I thought I’d go ahead and get the coals going and start the chicken.  My mistake, I guess the coals were still too hot because I lit that poor bird on fire!  There were flames licking out of the grill by the time I came back out to check on it.  I flipped it over quickly, charred the outside and yanked it off the grill.  The bird finished cooking in the oven. 

We grilled some Talapia for The Mother-In-Law and we also threw a couple bacon-wrapped sirloin fillets on the grill.  The Husband requested mashed potatoes and grilled veggies with dinner.  Everyone enjoyed the chicken, it was moist and flavorful.  I probably won’t make it again though.  It tasted somewhat like my Herby Lemon Chicken and if I don’t have to humiliate myself with the butcher, well… I won’t.  The Husband and I are not skin and dark meat people anyway.  I ended up peeling off the skin after taking it out of the oven and all of the dark meat is in a freezer bag awaiting a nice pot of soup. 

Cedar Plank Talapia

Cedar Plank Talapia

Butterflied Chicken
Ina Garten, The Barefoot Contessa

1/4 c chopped fresh rosemary leaves, plus 2 sprigs
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 t lemon zest
1 1/2 T lemon juice
Olive oil
Salt
Pepper
2 roasting chickens (2 1/2 to 3 lbs each, deboned and butterflied (I had one chicken, 4 1/2 lbs.)
(I added fresh basil, sage and parsley as well)

Mix the chopped rosemary, garlic, lemon zest, lemon juice, 1 tablespoon olive oil, 2 teaspoons salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper together in a small bowl to make a paste.

Place the chickens on a sheet pan, skin side up, and loosen the skin from the meat with your fingers. Place 1/2 of the paste under the skin of each chicken. Rub any remaining paste on the outside and underside of the chickens.

Turn the chicken skin side down and scatter the lemon slices and sprigs of rosemary over each chicken. Season with salt and pepper. Roll each chicken up, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

Heat a grill with coals.  Spread the coals out in 1 dense layer and brush the grill with oil. Unroll the chickens, place them on the grill and cook for 12 minutes on each side.

Tomorrow I’ll have a recap of our visit with The In-Laws and my recipe for Artichoke Alfredo.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2008 12:29

    I think ours caught on fire a bit as well! Ha! It turned out nice, but I agree, a little too much work.

  2. August 28, 2008 13:54

    Cat:
    The chicken looks good, although it’s a good thing you rescued it when you did. That tilapia and the veggies are singing my name. Your butcher story was hilarious, especially about the breasts being unsplit.

    FROM CAT:
    Erin, do you know I have stupid conversations with people all the time and they look at me like I’m crazy (or retarded) because they don’t know I’m being sarcastic. You should have heard this guy’s voice, he started speaking slower to me and everything. It was a riot.

  3. August 28, 2008 15:35

    You’re so lucky you have a good relationship with your butcher. I gotta find me a butcher friend like that!

  4. August 28, 2008 15:50

    I don’t even have a butcher here! Funny story. It did turn out looking good though–despite all your trials. The individual pieces rule I think!

  5. August 28, 2008 16:28

    Artichoke alfredo sounds amazing! Your chicken looks wonderful but yeah… my butcher scoffed too. Your chicken looks great, though, and I always love reading your adventures!

  6. August 28, 2008 17:57

    What a hilarious post – I love the way you write. Hope the leftover chicken in that pot of soup makes it all worthwhile!

  7. August 28, 2008 19:00

    Too funny with the Butcher! What’s he asking you how to do it for? He’s the butcher! I’m really liking the looks of your cedar planked salmon. Wish I was there for your BBQ-what lucky in-laws you have.

  8. August 28, 2008 19:37

    I’m thinking I need to drive the time to go to your grocery store if your butcher is as patient as that!
    Looks yummy – so glad you have enjoyed your week with the in-laws.

  9. August 28, 2008 20:59

    lol! Loved the chat with your butcher! Great job on the chicken! Looks delicious!

  10. August 30, 2008 12:27

    You made Cajun chicken!
    I actually like the blackened bits. Odd, I know.
    There is no butcher here who would debone a whole chicken so we went with breasts.
    You are right, it is just herbs and lemon – but yummy nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

