Skip to content

Moments

September 2, 2008

Saturday The Husband and I woke early to make French toast and cheesy grits for The Sister-In-Law before loading her up in the car and dropping her at the airport.  We spent the remainder of the afternoon tooling around Barnes & Noble in Kansas City.  Bookstores are “a thing” for The Husband and I.  There’s something calming about being amongst the stacks looking for hidden gems.  It’s just our thing I guess.   We stuck around the city for a while until joining my parents for dinner at their house.  When The Husband and I got home Saturday night it was very strange.  There wasn’t anyone waiting for us, no noise except Gomer Pyle and Radar mewing their welcomes.  Laying in bed, The Husband turned to me and said, “Listen.  It’s quiet.”  “I know.” I replied.  Bittersweet. 

Sunday morning we skipped missed church and ended up going to The Combat Air Museum in Topeka, KS.  We’re dorks, I know.  The museum was great.  If you live in the Kansas City area, take a little day trip to Topeka and visit the museum.  There’s a crusty old guy that works the desk with one of those hats too big for his head that announces in the largest script ever that he’s US AIR FORCE RETIRED.  You know the one, loved by Vets all over the country. 

 

These crusty old people seem to be attracted to The Husband.  It’s like they know he’s military.  Granted, we were in a Combat Air Museum, but I digress.  Usually The Husband is peppered with questions, “Which war campaigns have you been to?  How long were you gone?  What do you fly?  What squadron were you in?  When are you going active duty again?  Do you miss it?  Tell me stories.”  And out come the hand gestures known only to pilots.  It’s like sign language for military.  The right hand is ramrod straight, elbow moving at odd angles (that’s the plane) as it moves in on the watch on the left wrist.  Target locked… vroooom… MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!  It’s pretty cute. 

As we entered the hangar that houses the museum, a motion detector triggered lights in the exhibits and a soundtrack from days gone by.  As we leaned in to read about WWII air campaigns the song, Straighten Up and Fly Right came on.  My bum started wiggling, I was humming along and before I knew what was going on, The Husband grabbed me and we did a little jig whispering “Cool down, Papa… don’t you blow your top!”  We made our way through the planes and helicopters and outside to an old spy plane as daylight started to dwindle.  The crusty old man let us know that time was up, but he sure enjoyed us being there. 

Summer is fading so quickly and I feel like I’m grasping at the air saying “Wait!  Don’t go!”  We had what was supposed to be a pool party on Sunday night, but in reality- none of us got in the pool.  We sat around the dining room table eating bacon cheeseburgers with homemade hamburger buns (which were incredible), baked beans and grilled corn on the cob.  We stayed up until the wee hours of the morning discussing very important things.  For the most part, all of us were agreed in our beliefs.  The Husband and I have already started planning an all red menu for November 4th.  Thank God wine is red!

Yesterday I spent the morning watching the news of Hurricane Gustav roll into the Gulf Coast and the afternoon giving the house a good scrub.  My heart and prayers go out to the families who had to leave their homes again.  As the hours rolled on and the house began to look a little more normal, the news turned to the GOP Convention.  I stood in my living room with my jaw on the floor as I watched the protesters roll a flag-draped casket down the street.  I’m still pretty speechless. 

One of my biggest “URG!” things is when civilians walk around in camouflage.  It was worsened about a decade ago when “colored” camouflage became popular.  Seriously.  This is a Battle Dress Uniform.  Why do people find it acceptable to walk around in public in pink camouflage!  Show some respect to the men and women who’ve earned the right to wear a uniform.  Now there are people pushing a flag-draped coffin around in protest.  Give me a break.  And thank you, media… for showing the pictures over and over and over again.

Sound off: How was everyone else’s weekend?  Did you take advantage of local festivities, go on vacation, hang at the house?

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 2, 2008 18:06

    It sounds like a lovely Sunday. Lovely. I can totally relate to the bittersweet absence of company.
    We had out of town guests again this weekend and it was fun and chaotic and my house is messy, but now it is quiet and maybe a little bit dull without them. So glad you liked the buns!

Leave a Reply

