Skip to content

Packing a Punch

September 5, 2008

*Attention: If you don’t want to hear my politcal views, but you want the recipe for a burger that packs a little punch… scroll to the bottom where the food pictures start.  If you want to hear what this ol’military wife has to say about the upcoming election… well, read on.   

I’ve debated about writing this because I don’t want to add undo negativity in my life.  Then, through an email conversation with A Soldier’s Wife I grew up.  She gently pointed out that I have the right to say what I want because my husband fights to give me the freedom to do so.  I write annonymously so there won’t be any reprecution on my husband’s career because I can’t keep my mouth shut.  So here it is.  I am proudly supporting John McCain and Sarah Palin in the upcoming election.  I find John McCain’s record remarkable.  I find his demeanor humble, supportive and determined.

I refuse to lower myself to bickering and slinging mud in the direction of Obama.  I will, however, share a little something that main-stream media isn’t sharing (because you must admit, they are very Pro-Obama).  When Obama visited Iraq in July, 2008 he barely spoke with the troops.  In fact, an email from someone over there states that Obama looked at the troops “as if they were scum.”  Obama had scheduled photo shoots with the troops.  He didn’t dare touch the troops for a second longer than necessary to snap a publicity photo.  The basketball?  Totally scripted.  By that point in Obama’s tour with the troops, they had to order troops to play with him.  Obama’s conduct in Iraq was inexcusable.  These are the men that fight for our freedom, and they are being treated like trash.  None of this was ever covered in the news, why? because the media is hell-bent on getting Obama elected.  Oh, and I left out the really raunchy parts of the email from Iraq.   

As for McCain, he’s been there… as a troop and with the troops.  He listens to those on the ground, in fact… he listened so well, that he saved countless lives by coming home and pushing for the surge.  Maverick?  Sure, if that’s what you want to call a man who risks his future to save the lives of others.   Yes, The Surge saved the lives of our troops.  As a military wife, that makes me damn proud.  The country has a misconception as to how our uniformed men feel.  Sure, there are the outspoken men who come home and scream about how they didn’t want to be there, they never wanted to see or do the things they were “forced” to do… but in my opinion… these are probably the same men and women you see on television crying “I just wanted a free college education.”  Then find someone else to pay for your school!  You joined the military!

I can’t speak for everyone, but I can say, that of those men and women that my husband and I personally know serving in Iraq, Afghanistan, and places unknown to you and I… they are proud to be there.  Last night, John McCain, in speaking of his military service in Vietnam said, “I wasn’t my own man anymore.  I was my country’s.”  Chills went down my spine and tears sprang to my eyes when those words filled the air.  That’s what my husband has been saying for years.  He didn’t have a choice to serve this country or not.  It’s a calling on ones life.

I will admit, a week ago when John McCain announced Sarah Palin as his running mate, I was extremely disappointed.  In the past week I’ve found myself turning rapidly in the other direction (if I’m being honest here, I should admit that by the morning after the announcement, I adored her).  I believe we need the experience John McCain has to offer and the fresh outlook that Sarah Palin has to offer.  I think it’s an unbeatable team and I find it rather humorous that the main stream media has taken to comparing Sarah Palin’s qualifications with Obama’s.  Umm… isn’t she running for Vice President… and Obama is running for President.  Dude.  Our Vice-Presidential Nominee blows Obama’s experience out of the water! 

Speaking of experience, John McCain said last night…

We face many threats in this dangerous world, but I’m not afraid of them. I’m prepared for them. I know how the military works, what it can do, what it can do better, and what it should not do. I know how the world works. I know the good and the evil in it. I know how to work with leaders who share our dreams of a freer, safer and more prosperous world, and how to stand up to those who don’t. I know how to secure the peace.

Yes, he is prepared for threats, he isn’t afraid of them.  No, he doesn’t like war… NO ONE does, but that doesn’t stop our brave men and women from buttoning up their uniforms and marching into the unknown to protect us.  In these terrible times of terror… we need someone who is the calm in the eye of the storm, knowledgeable about operations and listens to the troops.  That kind of knowledge isn’t learned… it’s ingrained.  Military instinct isn’t a learned trait.  It’s a part of someone who’s been there, done that and isn’t afraid to get down on his knees and speak to GOD. 

The end of John McCain’s speech last night packed a punch that had me standing in my living room, hands pumped in the air cheering for this man who will lead us in victory and pull us out of the crisis our great country is in.

I’m going to fight for my cause every day as your president. I’m going to fight to make sure every American has every reason to thank God, as I thank him: that I’m an American, a proud citizen of the greatest country on Earth, and with hard work, strong faith and a little courage, great things are always within our reach. Fight with me. Fight with me.
Fight for what’s right for our country.
Fight for the ideals and character of a free people.
Fight for our children’s future.
Fight for justice and opportunity for all.
Stand up to defend our country from its enemies.
Stand up for each other; for beautiful, blessed, bountiful America.
Stand up, stand up, stand up and fight. Nothing is inevitable here. We’re Americans, and we never give up. We never quit. We never hide from history. We make history.
Thank you, and God bless you.

He’s fought for me before, and now… I’m fighting with him. 

If you want to leave me a nasty-gram, go ahead.  I’m a tough girl.  After all, I’ve sent my husband to war three times in five years.  I think I can handle ignorant nastiness, and I’ll do it with a smile on my face… because that’s what those of us called to our Nation’s duty do… we serve with a smile to protect freedom so others can have a voice.  If you want to affirm your support with me… feel free, again… that’s what my husband fights for.  Speak out and speak up!

 

Buffalo Burgers (with my comments)
Better Recipes

2 lb ground chicken (I ground 2 chicken breast)
1 glove garlic (I used 4)
3/4 c chopped celery (I minced it)
3/4 c chopped carrots (again, I minced it)
1/2 c chopped parsley (I’ll 1/4 c next time)
1 T hot sauce (I’ll use the spices in hot sauce next time in addition to the hot sauce)
1 1/2 t grill seasoning (oops… I used 1 1/2 TABLEspoons)
6 hamburger buns
3 T olive oil
1 c cornmeal
Bibb lettuce (I don’t like hot lettuce, so we didn’t use this)
Crumbled Blue cheese (allergic, so I used Monterey Jack)
Non Stick Spray

In a mixing bowl, combine ground chicken, garlic, celery, carrots, parsley, hot sauce, grill seasoning, and 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Blend all of these ingredients together and divide meat into 6 portions and make 6 patties out of them (I only had enough for 4). Put the cornmeal into a flat pan and dredge both sides of the patties well in the cornmeal and place on a cookie sheet and refrigerate for 15 minutes. Spray a skillet with the non stick spray (uh, okay.  I didn’t do this because it’s kind of counter-productive) and heat remaining olive oil up in pan over med-high heat. Place patties in pan and cook for 10 minutes on each side or until cooked. While patties are cooking, toast buns under broiler (I shredded some Monterey Jack over the bottom bun before toasting) and garnish with ranch dressing (I made homemade), lettuce, and blue cheese. Place patties on bun and add a splash of hot sauce to kick it up.

Next time I make these, I want to increase the heat and decrease the amount of veggies a little.  I could barely taste the “buffalo” of this burger. 

Regardless of my burger lacking punch… Sarah Palin and John McCain made up for it.

Garlicy Cajun Fries
A Cat’s Pajamas Original Method

Count on using about 1 1/2 russet potatoes per person.  Peel enough potatoes for your crew, then cut them into the size you like.  I was feeling puny fries the other night, so I cut them smaller than I normally would have.  Now throw in a couple cloves of finely chopped garlic, and about 1 t per potato of cajun seasoning.  Sprinkle with freshly chopped parsley, salt and pepper.  Add a touch of oil at a time, working through until there’s a light coating of oil (I use canola or peanut) on the potatoes.  Bake at 450 degrees for about 20-30 minutes, flipping after about 10 minutes. 

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2008 11:59

    I always love to hear the viewpoints of people in the military. You see – I would just assume that they are ready to come home and are ready for a new administration because of that. HOWEVER… every single person I’ve talked to has the opposite reaction. The are proud and that is amazing to me. If they are so proud to be fighting for our country, how can the rest of us over here sitting on our bums watching only from our comfy recliners doubt that they know what is right for us?

    I took my post down. Chickened out, even though I wasn’t all out there with strong opinions either way. My blog is being featured on iVillage today and I didn’t want some random people who don’t know who I am to come over and slam me for my beliefs or confusion. I admire you putting this out there! Very,very strong argument. You definitely have me thinking!

    And – anyone who would leave a nastygram about something like this needs to get over themselves. We ALL have a right to our own opinions. We all have the right to share those opinions, as long as we are accepting of others as well.

    Great job!
    I’m stumbling this one!

    FROM CAT:
    Kristen,

    You can’t imagine the trepidation I had before posting this. I know 100 or so readers every day isn’t much… but I’d hate to loose them. Then I got to thinking, this is ME. If I was having coffee with someone, this would be my conversation. I allow these people into my life (so to speak) and they should get what they came for.

    I completely understand your taking down your post. When I hovered over your link this morning, it looked like there was something else there, but I never saw it. That’s the cool thing about this great country we live in…. you can share your opinon or not. It’s totally up to you. As for confusion about all of this… I can understand that as well. Those of us in the military community that have “the calling” are quiet. We’re humble people who don’t call attention to ourselves and when called a “hero” the response is, “I was just doing my job.” That’s why the voice of others is the only voice heard. According to my husband, it’s all in a day’s work.

    I have a feeling with a lot of prayer and a few more voices out there setting the record straight, everything will turn out wonderfully.

  2. September 5, 2008 12:53

    Well written, well thought, inspiring post. I’m being won over and wooed by Palin myself. I always and forever respect and admire McCain. I think he and Palin will make a winning and very dynamic team. The burgers look fab and I’m making the fries. Tonight. If I can wait that long. Seriously they look wonderful.

    FROM CAT:
    I completely agree with you about McCain and Palin. In the beginning, I was very worried about McCain’s age… but did you see his mom last night? Fit as a whistle!

    Hope you enjoy the fries. They are muy yummy!

  3. September 5, 2008 12:59

    Cat,

    I am so proud of you. You have made a statement that defines your feelings and the feelings of so many others. I could not have said it any better and I am going to link this to my blog. Like I said to you the other day…. every Service Member in our military, including your own husband, fights for your right to freedom of speech, along with every other right protected under the Constitution.

    I’m glad that you decided to stand up and finally write out what you have been saying to so many about the election, the more you share it, the more you talk to people and educate them about your views, the more chance you have to spread the word about what a great choice McCain/Palin are for our new Administration…..

    As military spouses, often we are careful of what we say and do, fearing that our opinions or actions might affect our soldier’s career. As crazy as that may sound, it is a very viable argument for blogging anonymously and one of the reasons that I too do it…..

    And once again….you have made me hungry 😀 Good job girl!

    ASW

    FROM CAT:
    ASW,

    I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again… thank you. With women like you as a roll model, I know that no matter what, I always have someone to lean on in hard times. I guess that speaks volumes for us as a military community…

    And as always, the dinner offer is always open!

  4. Trish permalink
    September 5, 2008 13:01

    Your burgers look yummy. I am not one to get into a political debate, but we don’t agree on the presidential election. But that is okay….because popular vote isn’t what wins elections anyway. Love you sister!

    FROM CAT:
    And to think… you’re coming to my house for dinner tonight!

  5. September 5, 2008 13:21

    If you want to leave me a nasty-gram, go ahead. I’m a tough girl.

    Negative on the former and Roger that! on the latter, Cat.

    We’re on the same page. Your post is well said, indeed.

    FROM CAT:
    Buck,

    Thank you. It’s always nice to know I’m not alone.

  6. September 5, 2008 15:24

    I keep going back and forth politically. I am in love with a soldier in Iraq but I’m also an environmentalist. I believe in hope but I don’t believe in negativity and saying that we need to change things. Sure some things could be better but we are still the greatest country in the world. I didn’t know all that you said about Obama’s visit to Iraq. Very sad indeed. I really like Palin too. Wow. I’m learning more from blogs than from the media. You just may have swayed me one way in particular. Huh, I didn’t see that coming at all!

    Great post!

    FROM CAT:
    T,

    I’ll keep your soldier in Iraq in my prayers.

    As for the enviroment… my husband says if we focused our energy of creating a viable Room-Temperature Super-Conductor we wouldn’t have the energy crisis we currently have. Of course, now I need to google Room-Temperature Super-Conductor to have an intelligent conversation with my husband.

    As for swaying your vote… well, I didn’t set out to do that. I wanted to share my support and give civilians a look on the inside, so to speak.

    I hope that you research the stance that Nobama takes on the environment, he makes a lot of promises that he can’t really back up. I think he’ll be on The O’Reilly Factor talking about his environmental stance on Monday or Tuesday.

  7. September 5, 2008 22:12

    God bless you and yours. I’m very interested in hearing the opinions of those who serve. While I will always respect John McCain for his service to our country, both as a civilian and a Senator, I do not always agree with him politically.

    This is a very hard election for me because I am indifferent to both candidates. However, I am being swayed somewhat by Sarah Palin.

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

    The burgers look great, the fries look even better.

  8. September 5, 2008 22:24

    We had the fries tonight and they went over BIG at our house. Thanks for the recipe!

  9. September 6, 2008 22:22

    What a great post Cat. I’m totally with you. I’m grateful for men and women like your husband (and supportive spouses like you!) who serve our country.

    And on a lighter note… that burger looks wonderful!

  10. September 7, 2008 02:57

    Can you tell me what email you are referring to regardin the Obama visit? My husband is currently in Iraq — and was in an area that Obama visited — and gave me a very different picture of the visit. Are you, by chance, referring to the Afghanistan email that the Army Times has since reported as a fraud? (http://www.snopes.com/politics/obama/afghanistan.asp)

    FROM CAT:
    The email was sent to me by a friend currently serving in Iraq. I know the email you are referring to, but this was actually sent by a personal friend.

  11. September 7, 2008 14:39

    That’s interesting. I also got emails about that visit that said something very different.

    I suppose it all boils down to perspective. And, more than likely, where you happened to fall on Obama’s schedule.

  12. September 7, 2008 16:50

    Great post! I have visited your blog in the past but don’t think I’ve ever commented. This deserves a kudos to you. Oh, and great recipes, too:)

  13. September 8, 2008 07:29

    Hey girl, how’s it going?
    I am Canadian so I’ll leave the American politics to you guys, I have enough trouble keeping track of these guys up here!
    Love the burger. I like most things buffaloed. Mmm, hot sauce! I love the garlicky fries too. You can never have too much garlic.
    I have an award on my site for you today, enjoy!

  14. September 8, 2008 12:57

    I’m so glad to hear a non-liberal speak their mind. Hooray for you!

  15. September 12, 2008 16:19

    Thank you for writing this. I agree with your views whole heartedly and really enjoy your honesty. Keep on girl!

    Mandy

Trackbacks

  1. Smiles from You « The Cat’s Pajamas

Leave a Reply

