Skip to content

Smiles from You

September 10, 2008

Have you ever known someone in your life that is the worst at accepting gifts or accolades from others?  I am so one of those people.  I get some kind of crazy thrill out of doing for others, giving and seeing the reaction… but for some reason I find it hard to accept gifts. 

On Monday, I received an award from Natashya at Living in the Kitchen With Puppies along with a very sweet note about why she loves me!  How cool is that?  Well, in the midst of my crazy, hectic week I’ve found great solace in speaking with Natashya.  I remember a few months back I saw a picture on her site and instantly thought… “I want to be there.”  Of course, me saying so in person wouldn’t be nearly as creepy as a comment saying something along the lines of “Give me a fork.  I want that salad… and I want to eat it right there.”  Of course, I wrote it anyway… creepy or not. 

When I started writing, I thought it would be an excellent way to organize my life.  I have all of these thoughts, emotions (and recipes) floating around me and I thought… write it.  I didn’t start for an audience, I still don’t write for an audience.  I will admit though, I love knowing that there are people out there that I’ve never met that I care deeply about, and them for me.  You make it worthwhile.  The emails, the comments, the support (and even a few nastygrams).  Thank you.  You all make me smile… even those of you I’ve yet to know.

Who to pass this wonderful I Love You Award to?  Hmm… Sorry, A Soldier’s Wife.  It’s headed your way.  You’ve been patient and understanding with me when you didn’t have to be.  I know that you “get it.”  The good times, the bad.  You’re there for me… and I’m there for you too chick! 

Prudy.  Dear, dear Prudy.  There are hardly words.  You inspire me to try harder, do better (and I bet you don’t even know it.)  Thanks for being you.  You make me smile.

Want to know what else makes me smile?  I know, I know… I’m a born and bread city girl… but George Strait.  Man, he makes me smile.

Hungry?  Want me to share another item checked off my To-Do list?  This was really, really yummy.  You should make it tonight (and tomorrow and the next day and the next day),  it was that good.

Pork Chops Provencal
Family Circle Magazine

1 T olive oil
4 boneless pork chops, 3/4″ thick (I used 1/4″ chops)
1/4 t black pepper
1/8 t salt
1 c dry white wine (used Yellow Tail Chardonnay)
2 cloves garlic, chopped
3 plum tomatoes, seeded and chopped
1 T grainy Dijon mustard (didn’t have grainy… used plain ol’Dijon)
1 T capers
1/3 c pitted and coarsely chopped Nicoise olives (used Kalamata… no clue what Nicoise is or where I can get it!)
2 T chopped fresh parsley
1/2 lb orzo, cooked according to package directions
(Juice of 2 lemons)

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Season chops with pepper and salt. Add to skillet and cook 4 minutes per side. Remove to plate.

Reduce heat to medium and add wine and garlic, stirring up brown bits in pan. Cook 3 minutes. Stir in tomatoes, mustard, olives and capers. Cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in parsley (and juice of 1 lemon).

To serve, spoon sauce over chops. Serve orzo on the side (I dressed mine with a teaspoon of melted butter and the juice of 1 lemon).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2008 11:50

    Awww….Cat, you make me cry…..and then hungry….and then FAT…. 😀 Thank you for your kind words….

    I have been blogging just a little over a year…yeah, no fanfare about it….the year just passed by and I didn’t really notice it until it was over….and this is the first time I have ever had someone give me an award. I don’t even know what to do with it….lol.

    But the fact that you took the time to think of me is award enough…. I have received accolades in person from units where I worked my ass off….and unfortunately the one time I really stuck my neck out there to be cut off (in spite of all I had going on in my personal life) our entire command shut the door in my face, proving once again what a bunch of hypocritical asses they are. It was award enough that my husband made it home safe to me for the third time…. and that those I helped during our deployment were okay…but this is something special to me…..as are you…..and my other friends I have found via my writing…..and reading 🙂

    So thank you again from the bottom of my weeping heart ❤

  2. September 10, 2008 14:57

    Cat’s PJ’s: Right back at you 110 percent. I’ve seen your kindness and warmth passed to everyone who comes on this blog. You deserve that award all the way. Hope all is looking a little brighter today for you. The food looks as marvelous as ever-pork chops with olive and tomatoes-I’ve never done it but it won’t be long now, and that orzo looks fantastic too. Thanks so much for thinking of me for the award, and for your kind words as always.

  3. September 10, 2008 15:17

    You have such a great blog and I’m sure there are hundreds of these awards out there just waiting to be sent your way 🙂

  4. September 11, 2008 08:00

    Congrats on the award. I love reading your blog. Those pork chops look fantastic.

  5. September 11, 2008 11:16

    Ahw, you are so sweet.
    And the dinner? Delish. I love the colours and am a big fan of orzo. Just like rice – only noodlier.

    I always go kalamata too, no matter what the recipe says!

Leave a Reply

