Skip to content

Barefoot! Apple Blobs

September 18, 2008

It’s Thursday again, and Barefoot Bloggers bonus week.  This week, Anne from Anne Strawberry (who I adore) chose Apple Turnovers for the group to attempt.

I was super excited about this, as I pretty much love anything apple related in the fall.  The recipe was easy to pull together.  The only problems I ran into were rolling out the pastry to the required dimensions, then I overstuffed the triangles… so they didn’t look quite right.  

If you’re a crisp-apple in your apple pie lover (like I am) this is perfect for you.  I love the orange hints in the background of the turnover.  It reminds me of my mom’s apple cider… which I’m going to have to make very soon.

Give it a try… you’ll love it! 

We halved the recipe, but doubled up on the spices.  Of course, since Apple Pie A’La Mode is The Husband’s preferred method of eating apple pie… we topped it with Snickerdoodle Ice Cream.

Apple Turnovers
Ina Garten, The Barefoot Contessa

1 t orange zest
3 T freshly squeezed orange juice
1 1/4 lb tart apples (I used Granny Smith)
3 T dried cherries (I used a berry explosion mix… blueberries, cherries and cranberries)
3 T sugar
1 T flour
1/4 t cinnamon (I used about 1 t)
1/8 t nutmeg (I used about 1/2 t)
Pinch of kosher salt
1 egg, beaten and a little water to make a wash

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.Combine the orange zest and orange juice in a bowl. Peel, quarter, and core the apples and then cut them in 3/4-inch dice. Immediately toss the apples with the zest and juice to prevent them from turning brown. Add the cherries, sugar, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt.

Flour a board and lightly roll each sheet of puff pastry to a 12 by 12-inch square. Cut each sheet into 4 smaller squares and keep chilled until ready to use.

Brush the edges of each square with the egg wash and neatly place about 1/3 cup of the apple mixture on half of the square. Fold the pastry diagonally over the apple mixture and seal by pressing the edges with a fork. Transfer to a sheet pan lined with parchment paper. Brush the top with egg wash, sprinkle with sugar, make 2 small slits, and bake for 20 minutes, until browned and puffed. Serve warm or at room temperature. 

I actually made them into little apple purses… the turnover thing just wasn’t happening in the Cat kitchen that night.


Mosey on over tomorrow for a little talk about identity crisis… and a recipe for Veggie Stuffed Shells!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2008 10:00

    Yum, those apple “purses” look delicous. I can’t wait to start some fall baking. Always makes the house smell good!

  2. September 18, 2008 10:11

    They look wonderful! I think they make adorable little purses. Snickerdoodle ice cream — that’s brilliant!

  3. September 18, 2008 13:43

    Nice little purses, but the snickerdoodle ice cream sounds amazing!!!

  4. September 18, 2008 15:00

    Snickerdoodle Ice Cream?? Now you’re talking my language-oh the apple stuff looks great too, but I’ve never heard of Snickerdoodle Ice cream…I must find it.

  5. September 18, 2008 15:12

    Nice job on the turnovers! I saw your comment on the banana apple bread – you would be fine with two granny smiths. If you have a third one, I’d say throw that in too. I actually used two large gala apples and it turned out great so if you have a third of another kind of apple you could use that too. Good luck!

  6. September 18, 2008 15:24

    Oh Cat, those look delicious! And snickerdoodle ice cream?!? You will need to let us in on that yummy little secret! One of my husband’s favorite cookies are snickerdoodles, and he loves ice cream so I bet he’d be a huge fan! The little apple purses look beautiful, don’t call them blobs 🙂 You know when I saw your first picture the reminded me of an ‘apple blossom’ dessert that used to be for sale with Market Day (that school fundraiser). I love how you did your turnovers!

  7. September 18, 2008 15:26

    Me again, you had me thinking ‘apple blossoms’ and I had to google ’em. I guess they still make them for market day 🙂
    http://www.marketday.com/shopping/products.aspx?sk=0&itemid=4910&cat=9

  8. September 18, 2008 16:26

    I had trouble with the dough rolling out correctly, too. 🙂 I love the shape of yours, though… tres cute!!

  9. September 18, 2008 16:39

    Your little parcels of apple look cute and appetizing. Next time, make it easy on yourself and buy prerolled puff pastry in sheets. Now I’m off to google snickerdoodle ice cream…

  10. September 18, 2008 17:55

    I like the little purses! They look delicious and sound like the perfect accompaniment to Snickerdoodle ice cream (which I’ve never had but am craving now!) Great job!

  11. September 18, 2008 18:11

    Makes me feel so much better that I wasn’t the only one with not turned over turnovers. But they were still delicious!

  12. September 18, 2008 20:27

    Absolutely beautiful! And I know they tasted amazing.

  13. September 18, 2008 20:36

    Oh I like them like that–they look so ready for a scoop of ice cream. you should have just told us you made them that way on purpose!

  14. September 19, 2008 01:31

    Snickerdoodle ice cream sounds magnificent! Your “Apple Purses” look terrific – great job! They looks just devine with that lovely ice cream on top 🙂

  15. September 19, 2008 17:46

    Oh goodness! They look so good, especially the last one with the ice cream. 🙂

  16. September 24, 2008 16:51

    They look delicious. I had issues rolling the dough as well. It was pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

