Skip to content

Operation Be Hot Again!

September 21, 2008
From the top of hill number one

From the top of hill number one

I wrote a few weeks ago about being recharged with a mission to take better care of myself.  The mission, appropriately named, Operation Be Hot Again.  I confessed to knowing the tiggers for myself.  At 27 years old, I know what’s going to work and what isn’t.  

I got an email from a fellow food blogger I know through Barefoot, she mentioned that she could have written my post herself.  A few emails later, we’ve formed an alliance with each other.  We’ll share our goals, motivations and most importantly, hold each other up when the going gets tough.  

I didn’t wake up one morning and discover that I’d packed on the pounds overnight.  It’s not a quick process.  It’s a million mistakes made along the way that landed me in front of the mirror knocking and saying, “Hello?  Can the real me show up, because that fat girl is so not her.”  

Speaking with The Father-In-Law last night, we decided that he’d join in Operation Be Hot Again as well!  I think I may have even convinced him to start his own blog!  He’s got great stories to tell, and he’ll be an inspiration to all of us.

My fellow foodie would like to loose the same amount of weight that I’d like to loose.  We’re both looking at a minimum of 40lbs.  She’s actually set her goal to be her sixth wedding anniversary in February.  The Husband and I will be sharing our sixth anniversary in January… and I’m totally on board with this.  The number may seem high, but it’s actually an attainable goal.  Very attainable.  She’s purchased a few DVDs to do some at-home workouts to get in the groove of things again.  

I’m not a fan of running, in fact it hurts my back so badly I can barely walk the next day.  You see, I’m ah… well endowed.  My doctor in North Carolina actually cautioned me away from running due to possible back injury (I had surgery on my spine about 18 months ago).  So I walk.  Briskly.   

This is what I know to work for me:  

I have to pray every day for the strength of God to come through to me to continue on.  Without Him, I don’t know that I’m strong enough for anything.

I can’t shut out certain foods because I’ll binge and do the bulimia thing for a few days.  I will eat anything, but in moderation.  My mom and I often talk about The Clean Plate Club, meaning that as a child, she was told to clean her plate regardless of whether she was full or not.  She repeated The Clean Plate Club with The Brother and I.  I learned to overeat at a young age.  So now, after ten bites, I start to assess if I’m still hungry.  I’ll take one bite at a time, putting my fork down to gauge my hunger.  I’ve seen a stomach and it’s roughly the size of my hand, so anytime my plate is loaded with food greater than the size of my hand, I know I’m going to possibly be in an situation to overeat.  As silly as it sounds, when eating out, I often ask for a to-go box when my food is delivered.  Most of the time, I don’t bother to bring it home knowing I won’t reheat it… but cutting the portion in half often is still a bit much.  

Protein and calcium are key to my success.  Fortunately for me, my former neighbors in North Carolina were health nuts and turned me on to Whey Protein.  I quickly fell in love with protein shakes and made them for breakfast every morning until we moved to Kansas.  I’m 45 minutes away from a Commissary.  I used to grab GNC Whey Protein at the Commissary for $16 a jug.  Here, the same protein is $49.99.  I haven’t found any other whey protein much cheaper, so I gave it up.  Between the expense of fruit, milk and then the $100 a month on protein… I just couldn’t do it.  Last weekend while The Husband and I were at Sam’s Club I noticed the jugs of protein and the very attractive price of $13.98!  It’s Soy Protein, but it’s still wonderful.  We snatched up the protein, a bag of frozen strawberries, another gallon of milk and we were on our way.  I start my day around 6:30 with a protein shake that keeps me full until about 10:30, then eat a yogurt (which I choke down because I can’t stand it!)

I have to take a walk that challenges me.  I have to push myself, feel my muscles burn or I won’t go.  LaNeighbor walks with me frequently, but she’s always a few steps behind me trying to catch up.  I have silently vowed to make it a goal never to let her catch up.  It pushes us both.  We started a new path a few weeks ago that I absolutely love. 

So for now, I’m not weighing myself.  I’m going to gauge my success with Operation Be Hot Again by determining how I feel and how my clothes fit.  I have a closet full of clothes that My Left Arm and I slaved over putting together… I love the clothes I have and can’t wait to look good in them again!

Want to take a walk with me?  I live close enough to the lake that I can see it when I step out my front door.  I walk down to the lake, up to the top of a hill that’s about a mile from the house, back down, up another hill then circle around to the house.  The hills look really uninspiring, but I guarantee, they’re a pain in the rear (literally).  

 

My house is on the left, on the other side of the hill

My house is on the left, on the other side of the hill

In the above picture, I’m about 1/4 mile from the house.

 

The view to hill number one.

The view to hill number one.

Now I’m about 1/2 mile from the house.

 

Brown Eyed Susans line the path.

Brown Eyed Susans line the path.

I live in what has been termed “The Most Active City in Kansas.”  We have a ton of beautiful walking and bike trails.  Most of them have beautiful scenery lining the walk.

 

From the bottom looking up

From the bottom looking up

I know it doesn’t look too ominous but seriously, once you’ve wound your way around the hill to get to the top, it’s quite a nice workout for your toosh.  You’ve made it a mile and about 1/4 already!

 

The path up the hill

The path up the hill

The path isn’t paved, I hope they don’t ever pave it… it’s really cool.

 

From the top

From the top

My house is over in the left… but it’s hard to see at this point.

 

Bottom of hill two

Bottom of hill two

Down the first hill, back down the path to the bottom of hill two.  Now, we’re about 2 1/2 miles in.  The trek up this hill is between 1/4 and 1/2 mile.  I swear, the winding of this thing kills.  It’s like it never ends.  Seriously.  But it feels great!

 

From the top of hill two

From the top of hill two

The rest of the walk home is pretty uneventful.  I usually see planes flying overhead, I pass through a state park and then back to the house.  The whole walk is about 3 1/2 miles… but a really good 3 1/2.  

Exhausted yet?  Want to join us as we get fit?  Send me an email at cats(dot)pajamas(at)gmail(dot)com.  I’d love to have you!

Cat’s Protein Shake

In a blender, pour in frozen sliced strawberries to the 2 cup mark.  Pour milk (I always use 1%) to the 2 1/2 cup level, then add two scoops vanilla flavored soy protein.  Pour into a glass, stick a straw in it and move on.  Delish! Just enough for two shakes.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Ted and Kristin permalink
    September 22, 2008 05:08

    I am so proud of you!!!! I am trying to take off some extra pounds that I put on during the PCS here. I was doing well for a while, but, this was one of the longest moves ever… loaded w/ lots of dinner’s out, dinner’s at the neighbor’s house, BBQ’s at Aunt’s and Uncle’s, family cook outs… you name it. I ate it.
    I’ll be walking with you – but – um – from way over here. 🙂
    xo
    KT

  2. September 22, 2008 09:12

    I have got to take off the few extra pounds that I put on in the last couple months before the holidays approach, so I can gain them then. 🙂 That walk looks gorgeous!

  3. September 22, 2008 15:35

    Hubs, pups and I did a great hike in a Canadian conservation area this weekend. It really felt great to push ourselves. Even the dogs were tired at the end.
    I think fast walking with arms going is a lot healthier than running anyway – this looks like a great way to get fit and have fun. Remember that muscle weighs more than fat, so go by how you feel, and what you see in the mirror, rather than numbers on a scale.
    Do they allow dogs in your housing? They make good personal trainers!

  4. September 23, 2008 19:21

    I so need to get my rear in gear to get rid of some of this pudge. You are motivating me, girl!

  5. September 25, 2008 10:32

    Thanks for the motivation! I need to get back in gear myself. I’d love to walk with you, but I’m a bit far away. 🙂

  6. September 25, 2008 17:18

    Oh Cat….I am so proud of you…..we need to talk and soon….ok?

    You can do this…..I promise you that you can….I’m here when ever you need me…..I still have a story for you and it seems to be getting more and more interesting as time goes on….
    😀

  7. September 25, 2008 21:44

    Sounds like you have a good plan here. I can relate to the overeating and clean plate club. I’m Italian and we can do some damage in the eating department. I’m paying for it now! : )

    Good luck with the weight loss! You have some really beautiful walking areas!

Leave a Reply

