Skip to content

Barefoot! Cream of Not-Mushroom Soup

September 25, 2008

 

This week’s Barefoot Blogger recipe was chosen by Chelle of Brown Eyed Baker.  Chelle also participates in Operation Baking GALS, which means she’s cool with me.  As much as I wanted to like everything about her, I just couldn’t do this week’s challenge. Instead, I racked my brain with The Lovely Co-Worker to make a Cream of something that didn’t involve fungi. 

The Husband and I don’t do fungus.  I don’t know why… neither one of us dig the shroom.  I’ve tried.  I promise, I’ve tried.  I just don’t see the appeal.  The flavor, the texture… I just can’t handle it.  So, The Lovely Co-Worker and I were talking over lunch one day and she said, “When I was in Mexico we had this great Cream of Spinach soup!  You should make that!”  Hmm.  Okay. 

Originally, I was going to use Ina’s recipe except swap the mushrooms for spinach, but it just didn’t feel right to me.  Thyme with spinach?  Perhaps not.  Then, you know… there’s always Operation Be Hot Again so I’m trying to be mindful of how much non-healthy stuff is going in, knowing the more unhealthy stuff that goes in just equals more miles to wog (walk/jog).   First of all, I omitted almost all of the butter and swapped it for olive oil.  Then I ditched the white wine (I was going to use 1/2 c but spaced out and forgot to add it), omitted the flour, thyme, half and half and cream.  So I basically scrapped the entire recipe… but I wanted to do it the Barefoot way… I promise!  My hips, they were screaming about already being mistreated… and then when they heard about all the butter, cream and flour they protested. 

My suggestion: Stop what you’re doing right now.  Go to the store, buy some fresh spinach, leeks and a can of 2% evaporated milk… the rest you probably already have on hand.  This was an incredible soup.  When I say incredible… I mean, wow that’s good… can I have another two bowls!  And… it’s quite healthy if I do say so myself! 

Cream of Spinach Soup
A Cat’s Pajamas Original Concoction

2 T olive oil
1 T butter
1 onion, chopped
2 leeks, sliced
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 carrot (or about 4 baby carrots), sliced
1 lb fresh spinach, cleaned
1 t crushed red pepper
Salt & Pepper (about 1/2 t each)
1/2 t freshly grated nutmeg
4 c chicken broth
1 can 2% evaporated milk
2 potatoes, 1/4″ dice
Sour cream, for serving

In a large stockpot, heat butter and olive oil over medium heat.  Add leeks, onions, garlic and carrot and cook until tender, about 3-4 minutes. 

Once tender, add spinach and cook down (this will take about 30-60 seconds). Season with salt, peppers and nutmeg.  Add chicken broth, bring to boil over medium-high heat. 

Reduce heat to low, then with an immersion blender, blend the vegetables until smooth (or- at this point, transfer the mixture to a blender and blend until smooth, returning to pot).  Stir in potatoes and cook until potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes.  Stir in evaporated milk until heated through.  Taste and re-season if necessary.

Garnish with lowfat sour cream (don’t skip this… it’s the craziest yum ever!) and serve… I served the soup with Whole Wheat Rolls from the Better Homes and Gardens Book (which are also fabulous)!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2008 08:25

    Your soup looks great – I am a sucker for spinach in (almost) anything. I think you made a great swap.

  2. September 25, 2008 08:36

    I love your version. I’m not a mushroom lover (we haven’t made the soup yet) so perhaps a little subsituting will happen on our end as well. Also, I’ve been a little behind on my blog reading, but I like the updates you’ve made to yours!

  3. September 25, 2008 08:36

    I like spinach soup too. We always keep baby spinach in the fridge. I like to pop it in most dishes for some colour/nutrition. Great pick for your new lifestyle plan.

  4. September 25, 2008 08:41

    I will make it. It sounds scrumptious. I was anxious to see how you’d make your soup with OBHA. Sounds like you got a healthful winner.

  5. September 25, 2008 08:59

    Oh Cat, that looks delicious! I know the soup as written doesn’t fit in with OBHA at all but firgured it was worth the extra workout since I absolutely love cream of mushroom soup and never get the chance to make it 🙂 My dh is just like you and yours, no mushrooms for him. At all. Ever. I guess they are just something you either love or hate. I am a little picky though and think canned are disgusting and only use fresh. Can’t wait to try your healthy soup!

  6. September 25, 2008 10:27

    I love that you made this more healthy. It looks absolutely delicious. I can’t wait to try your recipe.

  7. September 25, 2008 10:32

    As long as you WANTED to do it Ina’s way, that’s good enough for me. 🙂 I actually LOVE the sound of the soup your way, though, and I will definitely be trying your way. Personally, while I enjoyed this, it’s hard for me to stomach using up all of that fat and calories in a soup, since there are so many wonderful, healthy soups out there. Your version looks fantastic!

  8. September 25, 2008 14:49

    I totally don’t blame you for not doing mushrooms. I have never done them either, but I have to admit, the soup wasn’t bad. Just insanely rich and bad for my goal of being bathing suit ready by December. Love your changes though!

  9. September 25, 2008 16:07

    Yum…. that looks delicious! I just couldn’t bring myself to do mushrooms either. Your recipe looks even better!

  10. September 25, 2008 16:51

    I like it! While I am the shrooms number one fan…I am also a big fan of spinach and I know that I would really like this…the kids-not so much!

  11. September 25, 2008 17:18

    Your soup looks incredible even if I do fungus! Love the color–I will bookmark and try this one!

  12. September 25, 2008 17:23

    yeah no fungus here either……ok, that does not sound right…..I don’t do shrooms either….ok, now that sounds like a line from the sixties (well I was born then), let’s see, I do not eat anything that made Alice get big or little…… Oh, you get the point 😀

    Your soup looks great, I may just have to make it for Mr. Wonderful, if he ever decides to remain in one place long enough that is…..

  13. September 25, 2008 18:25

    Your soup look yummy!!! I will try it! I just planted spinach in my garden…but maybe I will buy some so I don’t have to wait! p.s. I live in Mexico and have never seen cream of spinach soup, hummmmm, wish it was in my neighborhood! I still need to do my Apple turnovers…love those too!

  14. September 25, 2008 18:52

    I understand…when you don’t like it, you don’t like it. Way to make it work!

  15. September 25, 2008 19:20

    I have got to try this! I bet it would taste even better the next day simmering in the crockpot. Perfect for the fall, great job!

  16. September 25, 2008 20:55

    That is what I am talking about! This looks absolutely delicious!

  17. September 25, 2008 21:40

    This looks great! I totally can relate to the hips screaming! I don’t mind mushrooms, but I love spinach so I’ll try this recipe out!

  18. September 25, 2008 23:10

    You are a brave one! I love that you went with your gut and made healthy substitutions. I too love spinach and will give your new recipe a shot. Well Done!!!

    Mandy

  19. September 25, 2008 23:27

    Yes! Lion’s head soup tureen. Wedding gift about 25 years ago.

  20. September 25, 2008 23:44

    You are genious! I love your not mushroom soup. I just learned that I am starting to enjoy cooked spinach and now “have” to try your soup. I also love your “wog” terminology =D

  21. September 26, 2008 01:12

    The soup sounds great and much healthier! I like that. Spinach soups are so delicious!

  22. September 27, 2008 18:05

    Oooo I have never heard of Cream of Spinach soup, but it sounds and looks delish! Certainly, I love me some spinach- I may have to give this one a try especially since my main issue with Ina’s soup was the full fat and richness of it!

  23. October 1, 2008 02:26

    Your version looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

