Skip to content

Zucchini Cakes

October 1, 2008

The air has finally decided to turn crisp for more than a few days in Kansas City.  Before it got too chilly to be anything but chili weather I grabbed some zucchinis and studied my To-Do list.  About the only way I can get The Husband to eat zucchini is to disguise it with a cheese mask and bacon-flavored chapstick.  I’m convinced he was attacked in his sleep by a zucchini when he was a small child. 

A while ago A Bit of Nutmeg made fantastic looking zucchini cakes and I knew it was a sure-fire way to get The Husband onboard with zucchini.  You see, as long as it’s smothered in his two food groups, bacon and cheese he’ll eat just about anything.

The zucchini cakes were fantastic.  I followed the recipe with very little exceptions.  Head over to Bit of Nutmeg for the original recipe and see what’s she’s got cooking right now. 

Zucchini, Cheddar, Bacon Cakes
A Bit of Nutmeg

4 slices bacon, cooked and chopped
1 small zucchini, shredded
1 c shredded cheddar cheese
2-3 scallions, chopped
2 eggs, separated
1/2 c flour
1/2 c yellow corn meal
2 T sour cream
1 T crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 t salt
1/2 t pepper
Garnish: Tomato, Avacado and sour cream
Oil and butter for frying

Combine all ingredients except egg whites in a large mixing bowl.  In a separate medium bowl, beat egg whites until still peaks form.  Gently fold the egg whites into the mixture.

In a large skillet, heat a pat of butter and about 2 T olive oil over medium-low heat.  Add a generous dollop of the batter to the skillet and slightly flatten into a patty shape.  Watch the cakes carefully because they like to cook fast and burn on the outside.  I started out on medium heat and quickly knocked it down to the lower-side of medium. 

When the cakes start to lightly brown, flip and cook through on the other side.

Transfer to a paper-towel lined plate, serve warm with sour cream, chopped tomatoes and avacado.

Yield: 9 good sized cakes

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2008 12:37

    Those sound delicious! I like the platter as well.

  2. October 1, 2008 14:35

    Those look delicious! I tried to make something similar, a zucchini pancake-ish recipe this past summer and they really didn’t turn out to my liking 😦 I love the idea of zucchini cakes and will have to give these a try. Have you seen those zucchini ‘crab cake’ recipes with Old Bay seasoning? Those have intrigued me lately…

  3. October 1, 2008 17:09

    That sounds delicious I am to have to give it a try! Always looking for more ways to get more veggies into my little one!

    PS – I have been real busy too so I know you aren’t ignoring me, things at my job have slowed down so I am visiting friends and sites to keep me busy!

  4. October 2, 2008 08:42

    Why have I not made these yet? I saw those too and they look amazing!

  5. October 3, 2008 17:49

    With bacon and cheese – my son might even eat them.
    As for being attacked by zucchini – it happens. You have to watch them every minute. 😉

Leave a Reply

