Skip to content

Bonkin

October 6, 2008

When I was eighteen months old I scaled the front porch of my childhood home and sat on the roof giggling like crazy.  The Parents were going crazy running around the house unable to find me as The Brother kept pointing up with a look of awe on his face.  All the while, The Parents searched for me to no avail.  Finally my giggles made them look skyward.  There I was, sitting on the overhang of the porch, 20 feet in the air, laughing my diapered butt off.

Of course, I don’t have any recollection of this day but I’ve been told the story several times.  

When I was three years old on our annual family trip to Disney World, The Dad had me hanging over the back of the Mark Twain boat going to Tom Sawyer’s Island when I kicked one of my brand new Stride Rites off into the deep murky water.  The Parents searched to no avail in every gift shop trying to find a replacement pair of shoes for me.  They ended up at the nurse’s station with a flip flop begging for duct tape or something to keep a shoe on my little feet.  

The nurse pulled me into a separate room and quizzed me about abuse.  She asked me questions that, of course, I couldn’t answer because I wasn’t abused.  My parents never laid a hurtful hand on me.  I was just a tomboy.  I liked to be outside with BB guns, mud and bugs.  I was a rough tumbler of a girl that never allowed my parents heart rates to function at a normal rate.

My nicknames from The Dad include Bonkin and Punkin.  I attribute Bonkin my never ending ability to bruise myself with no recollection as to how I bruised.  Every daddy calls their little girl something cute when they aren’t roughing about, and my other nickname happens to be Punkin.  Knowing this, I’ve developed a strong love of all things pumpkin.

To start fall off right, I made pumpkin bars that are actually a little more cake than bar… but who cares?  Pumpkin and cream cheese frosting!  It doesn’t get any better than that!  Of course, I can’t figure out if I should let The Dad call me Bonkin or Punkin this week.  I, of course, bonked my head (bad enough to see black dots) in the fridge (don’t ask) while making these perfect pumpkin bars.

Spiced Pumpkin Bars
Adapted from Better Homes and Gardens

2 c flour
2 t baking powder
2 t cinnamon
1 t ground cloves
1 1/2 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
4 eggs
1 (15 oz) can pumpkin
1 2/3 c sugar
1 c vegetable oil
Frosting
1 (8 oz) package cream cheese, softened
1/4 c butter, softened
3 c confectioners sugar

In a medium bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat together eggs, pumpkin, sugar and oil with an electric mixer on medium speed.  Add flour mixture; beat until well combined.  Spread batter into a 9x13x2″ baking dish.

Bake for 30-35 minutes until the center is set and the sides just start to brown.  Cool completely on a wire rack. 

Frosting:
In a medium bowl, beat together cream cheese and butter until fluffy.  Gradually add confectioners sugar beating until smooth.  Frost pumpkin bars, cover and store in refrigerator.

I really think the best way to eat pumpkin bars is to eat them ice cold.  My parents really like them room temperature… it’s up to you.  Enjoy!

Taking advantage of the rainy day that is surely to get worse, I’m headed to the fruit stand tonight to get a bushel of apples!  Coming soon… apple butter, applesauce, applebread… apple daydreams and apple nightmares.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ted and Kristin permalink
    October 6, 2008 19:34

    yummy…….
    My Dad used to call me the garbage disposal… nice huh? It was because I always ate so much. 🙂

  2. October 6, 2008 23:38

    Bonkin is not so bad as far as names go. I still call my baby girl (19) piglet. She only objects if we are in public.
    I am starting to get into a pumpkin/squash mood. It is getting colder here. Apples are my fave though, looking forward to seeing what you do with them.
    I haven’t made apple butter yet and would like to try it.

  3. October 7, 2008 06:43

    Wow…I can’t believe the Disney nurse quizzed you!! I love the sound of pumpkin bread…cute nicknames! I remember when I was a kid my brother had rearranged his room one day and in the middle of the night he got up to go to the bathroom and when he came back to his room half asleep he jumped into “bed” which was now the dresser, he sliced open his head. At the emergency room they thought the story was so ridiculous that he was separated from my parents for a few hours so they could question him!

  4. October 7, 2008 07:05

    Wow, Cat! You were quite the daring toddler! I would probably have a heart attack if my 18 month old climbed onto the roof! The pumpkin bars sound delicious, I’ve made some like that before, that taste more like cake than bars, all the better if you ask me 🙂 I love all things pumpkin as well. Have a wonderful day!

  5. October 7, 2008 08:15

    What a funny story! The pumpkin bars look delicious. I think I will have to make them soon. I love fall.

  6. October 7, 2008 15:58

    I love the memories. Sounds like you were one coordinated and crafty little tot. How in the heck did you manage to get on the roof… and not break your neck? The bars look like the perfect thing for fall. Yumma, yumma.

Leave a Reply

