Skip to content

Enlist: Operation BakingGALS Bakes for The Brother!

October 15, 2008
tags:

Hey there!  I hope everyone has heard about Operation Baking GALS by now!  Each month a group of hosts support a soldier that is near and dear to their hearts, then 25 bakers get together and bake for that soldier.  This month we have close to 30 hosts!  I’m hosting my brother, Captain Daniel.

Daniel, Jordan River Israel, 2008

Daniel and I were born and raised in the great city of Kansas City, Missouri.  He’s 2 years older than me making me a proud lil’sis.  Our parents, a Naturalized Canadian mother and Marine father, instilled in us a never-ceasing passion for our great country.  Choosing to serve his country in a most patriotic way, Daniel spent his youth as a cadet in the Civil Air Patrol (an auxiliary of the Air Force) in Kansas City.  

Daniel enlisted in the Army National Guard in 1996, attending basic training between his junior and senior years of high school.  He received an honorable discharge to accept a Naval ROTC scholarship in pursuit of becoming an officer in the United States Marine Corps

My brother met his beautiful wife, Ashley at The University of Missouri in 1998 where they fell madly in love.  Finally, he made her my wonderful sister-in-law in November 2001.  She has been standing lovingly by his side since day one during the past four deployments and every day in between.  

Following college they moved to Kaneohe Bay, Hawaii where my brother served as a Marine artillery officer.  That’s right… he shoots the big guns!  They blessed me with my adorable nephew, Taylor in July 2004 who thinks daddy is a hero.  

The three of them moved to Camp Lejeune in August of 2005, just a mere 2 hours away from The Husband and I (where we were then stationed at Pope AFB).  He is currently an Artillery Officer in the 26th MEU (Marine Expeditionary Unit) at Camp Lejeune.  The 26th MEU is currently serving our nation on a 7 month float (deployment) touring the middle east and everywhere in between. 

I’d love to have you on my team!  You want to bake for my brother?  Please send me an email, cats(dot)pajamas08(at)gmail(dot)com.  

Semper Fidelis (Always Faithful)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2008 08:47

    You know I’m in! Just let me know what to do!

  2. October 16, 2008 22:26

    It is so great that you guys spoil the guys in the trenches. Wild that you are able to do it for your brother too. What a great way to bring American women together.

Trackbacks

  1. Week of Siblings « Delta Whiskey

Leave a Reply

