Skip to content

Barefoot! Herb Roasted Onions

November 13, 2008

bb1

The Husband and I are like two planes flying without navigation in the skies right now.  Someday we’re bound to find each other, but for now…. we’re making due with the short snippets of time that we actually fly by.  100_64823

Monday, The Husband called at 8:30 to say he was on his way home, and was dinner ready?  He hadn’t eaten all day.  I said, “it will be by the time you get here.”  “Great,” he replied, “What are we having?”  “Herb Roasted Onions,” I distractedly replied.  “Onions?” he asked, “Onions?  We’re having onions for dinner?”  “Uh… yes.” I firmly stated.  Were you expecting something more?”

Of course, I’m an awfully facetious woman.  I looked up the recipe that Kelly with Baking With The Boys had chosen for this week’s analysis and determined that I would simply make the full meal that Ina Garten orchestrated for her Jeffrey.  It’s Barefoot time again… which means pulling together a group of ingredients and shocking your taste buds with something fabulous!

100_64832

 

This was a fabulous meal.  The only gripe I have about it (besides the normal gripes about butter, butter, butter…) is that I should have planned to do this on a weekend when I wasn’t so frazzled from the day.  I was actually quite excited about this because when our family makes roasts or big family meals, the bowls of steamed or roasted onions are the first to go.

100_64842

I actually made the recipe exactly as written.  You can find it on the Food Network Website… here.

100_64882

Oh… I used marjoram instead of thyme… that’s the only change I made… promise!

By the way… don’t you love the new Barefoot avatar?  Courtesy of Lime in the Coconut!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2008 08:07

    Everything looks delicious.

  2. November 13, 2008 08:23

    Cat, your whole meal looks wonderful! You sure spoiled your hubby with that dinner. Thanks for all the comments, they really made me smile! I can’t agree more with what you said about “pulling together a group of ingredients and shocking your taste buds with something fabulous!” You are right on! Have a great day!

  3. November 13, 2008 08:38

    I’m immediately drawn to those potatoes! Everything looks great.

  4. November 13, 2008 12:39

    The meal looks perfect! I loved the chicken and onions together and the potatoes look like they perfectly completed the meal. I hope you guys gets some more together time soon!

  5. November 13, 2008 12:54

    Can I come to dinner when you are having “just onions” next time? 🙂

  6. November 13, 2008 13:08

    Dinner looks wonderful. Any starving man would be thrilled to come home to that!

  7. November 13, 2008 13:49

    Your entire meal looks fabulous! I bet your husband was one happy camper when he came home!

  8. Kelly D permalink
    November 13, 2008 14:23

    Your meal is gorgeous. I am impressed you could pull that together on a weeknight.

  9. November 13, 2008 14:42

    Hey – I made the piccata as well (although with veal instead of chicken). Great minds! Yours looks lovely – hope you both get a bit more time together soon.

  10. November 13, 2008 16:46

    Sounds like me and my hubby. That made me laugh! I want to know more about the other dishes you served with this, the whole meal looks great!

  11. November 13, 2008 19:39

    Ha! You went all out on this dinner. It all looks great.

  12. Barbara Hahn permalink
    November 13, 2008 20:26

    This meal really looks great. Was hubby surprised with the food?

  13. November 13, 2008 22:05

    Seriously beautiful pictures. Your onions put mine to shame! My husband had the same initial reaction but ended up loving them too.

  14. November 14, 2008 09:52

    Your meal looks great!

  15. November 14, 2008 13:43

    Your poor hubby! But he is a lucky man…getting a Jeffrey dinner. It looks great! How was the picatta?

  16. November 14, 2008 17:14

    Wow it looks like you had twice as much sauce as I had! I’m glad you guys liked it. I liked it, just hubster did not touch it. You can’t make someone love onions that just doesn’t. Oh well, on to chicken soup next time!

  17. November 14, 2008 18:46

    Now I want to cook that chicken!

  18. November 14, 2008 20:28

    Cat the whole meal looks delicious! I wish I wasn’t dying on the couch from strep throat the chicken would have been a huge hit and the onions would go over well only mixed with potatoes. Yours looks amazing!

  19. November 15, 2008 20:11

    Wow, that is one delicious looking meal! Weren’t the onions just great, next time I must plan for making the picatta too! Looks great!

  20. November 16, 2008 18:35

    What a perfect meal to come home to. I can imagine how delicious your kitchen must have smelled!

  21. November 19, 2008 22:01

    Those potatoes look yummy too… in fact, the whole plate of food looks delicious. I love cooked onions. My hubby and I always fight over the last bites! Mmmmm!
    Hope things settle down for you and your husband soon 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Barefoot! Chicken Picatta « Delta Whiskey

Leave a Reply

