Skip to content

Operation Baking Gals: Operation Cat’s Brother!

November 19, 2008

I hosted my brother, Captain Daniel this month for Operation Baking GALS.  I swear, I had the best group of women out there!  What an excellentgroup of women.  Want to know what everyone sent to the Marines aboard the 26th MEU?

Mary at AlpineBerry made both Oatmeal Raisin Cookies and Cranberry, White Chocolate Cookies with Pistachios (oh, that makes my mouth water… I wish I was with Captain Daniel!)  Mary has a beautiful blog.  Go check out what she’s got cookin!

Alpine Berry Cookies

Alpine Berry Cookies

Mary also sent a great picture of the box filled with TONS of goodies.  Check out the top right corner of the picture… I’m hoping the cat got to go along for the ride.  He’d be taken care of.  What a cutie!

Alpine Berry's box of goodies!

Alpine Berry Ships!

Melissa at Hot Stuff in the Kitchen (check out all of her blogs… she’s amazing!) sent enormous chocolate chip cookies (that I’m sure will be devoured!)  A first time baker, while standing in line and working out the customs forms… Melissa had an encounter with an angel in the flesh.  The woman at the post office was sending boxes to her son and friends and gently guided Melissa through the stressful forms. 

allmelissasblogs-cookies
Melissa’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

 She also threw in a bunch of twizzlers (which are totally a family weakness!)

Melissa Ships!

Melissa Ships!

Emily and Sarah, two wonderful girls living in Florida had a baking party over a weekend and baked up a ton of goodies.  Emily is also the sister of a Marine and fellow former Midwesterner (I’m trying to convince her to start a blog… help me!).

emily_baking

Emily

Sarah

Sarah

Hey girls!  Next time I want to join the baking party!

Morgan of Bosely Down Under made four dozen peanut butter cookies.  I suspect she also took some beautiful pictures of American scenery and dropped them in the box as well.  Morgan is a professional photographer and mother of two beautiful young girls.  Go give her blog some love!

bosely-down-under1

Morgan Bosley's Peanut Butter Cookies

Patricia from the great state of Texas packed up a huge box for Captain Daniel (did you expect anything less from a Texan… I mean… I hear everythingis bigger in Texas!  Patricia’s box was filled with Chocolate Rolo Caramel cookies, Magic Layer Bars, Country Time Lemonade singles, Kool-Aid singles, Skittles, Tootsie Rolls, Peanuts and Gum!

Patricia's Chocolate Rolo Caramel Cookies

Patricia's Chocolate Rolo Caramel Cookies

Patricia’s daughter-in-law also participated in Operation Baking GALS this month and shipped a box to Captain Daniel as well.  Thanks, Courtney from Dallas!

patricia-dreiling-magic-layer-bars

Patricia's Magic Layer Bars

Patricia's box of goodies...

Patricia's box of goodies...

Patricia's boxed up and ready to go!

Patricia - Boxed up and ready to go!

Laura from Laura’s Home Cookin planned on making Pumpkin cookies, but ended up going with trusty old Chocolate Chip Cookies instead.  Laura is a very busy young woman, trying to wrap up school.  We really appreciate your baking Laura…the cookies look great!

Laura's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Laura's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Alison out of Atlanta made a couple huge batches of Chocolate Coconut Chews (which I would fight the bro for if I could!) and Mexican Wedding Cookies.

Alison's Chocolate Coconut Chews

Alison's Chocolate Coconut Chews

Alison cushioned the cookies with twizzlers, bubblegum and fireballs (family favorites of ours).

alisonlong-mexican-wedding-cookies

Alison's Mexican Wedding Cookies

Jennifer at Fodder and Libations sent a huge box filled with 7 dozen cookies, magazines and newspapers.  Oh, how I wish I had one of these chocolate cookies!

Jennifer's Cookies

Jennifer's Cookies

 

Jennifer's Chocolate, Chocolate Cookies

Jennifer's Chocolate Chocolate Cookies

Christine, lovely Christine from Blenders Galore sent Daniel a box stuffed with Paula Dean’s Double Chocolate Chip Cookies.  Knowing Christine, they’re going to be fabulous!

christine-choc-chip-cookies

Christine's Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Christine used a Reynold’s vacuum sealer for her cookies this round, I’ll ask The Brother how everything turned out and update some info on the Baking GALS sight as soon as I hear from him!

christine-choc-chip-cookies-2

Christine's vacuum sealed cookies

 Mandy of Home With Mandy made beautiful Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies… and tons of them!

mandys-cookies1

Mandy's Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

mandy-baking

Mandy Baking... isn't she adorable!

Alison from California also sent peanut butter cookies… and some amazing pictures too!

alisons-cookies1

Alison's Cookies

Alison's Cookies... Stacked and Ready to Pack!

Alison's Cookies... Stacked and Ready to Pack!

Kate at Foodie from the Boonies whipped up a batch of shortbread cookies from a shoplifted recipe from Joy of Cooking.  Go read her post about these cookies… it’s The Husband’s and my ideal date (you know… bookstore junkies that we are… without the shoplifting of a recipe… maybe).

 

Kate's Shortbread (STOLEN RECIPE!)

Kate's Shortbread Cookies

Kate also sent along some Snickerdoodles (which are probably The Brother’s second favorite cookies…)  they look great!  She padded the packed with lots of other goodies guaranteed to bring a smile!

snickerdoodles004-1

Kate's Snickerdoodleoohs!

At the Cat House, I had one of my oldest friends, Trish and our friend Hope stop by to make cookies for Daniel.  We had a great time (like always)!  We made chocolate chip cookies and peanut butter blossoms.

Trish

Trish

Trish & Hope

Trish & Hope

Peanut Butter Blossoms

Peanut Butter Blossoms

This has truly been an amazing experience.  I’m sure the cookies will start to arrive soon, the ship is reporting about a 3 week delivery… so coming next week… Daniel is going to be one.spoiled.man!

I hope everyone enjoyed this as much as I did.  It was heartwarming… to say the least.  Thank you so much ladies.  You filled my heart with joy.  I can’t wait for Round 5!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2008 09:41

    WOW

    You have done an amazing job!

    Look at all those cookies!

  2. Trish permalink
    November 19, 2008 09:48

    Your friend Trish is adorable.. LOL…..send me those pics. My stuff was mailed a little late, but it is well on it’s way to the Brother……you know me….always late. 🙂

  3. November 19, 2008 09:49

    This was an incredibly rewarding experience – I’m looking forward to participating in the next round!

  4. November 19, 2008 11:41

    Wow that was amazing! Everyone did a wonderful job! I am signing up for next month.

  5. November 19, 2008 22:00

    Hi Cat, do you need any more ladies to join in to support the troops? I would like to volunteer so let me know.

    Barbara

  6. November 20, 2008 00:47

    Looks like you have an awesome posse of ladies baking for the troops. Your brother and his troop will be thrilled and heart-warmed with all that good food and love.

  7. November 21, 2008 17:03

    I participated with Team Just Ducky and we had Lt Hewett. Sadly, I have no idea if he got what I sent and one other on our team had his box returned to her. Hopefully he is safe and maybe just moved to another location!! Is there any way to find out? Regardless, it was very fun to bake all the treats and I had an epiphany while blogging about it. Taking care of the troops is just something we *should do* no matter why they are deployed. Thanks for starting up the Baking Gals and I look forward to Round 5!!

Trackbacks

  1. Operation Baking GALS, Round 4 Recap « a foodie from the boonies.

Leave a Reply

