Skip to content

Barefoot Bonus!

November 20, 2008

bb2

Life seems to be slipping through my fingers these days.  Can you tell… 2 posts in a week… and I actually have many wonderful things to write about!  100_6504

Thankfully, menu planning was a little easier this week because it’s Barefoot Bonus time.  Deb, of Kahakai Kitchen referred the most people to the Barefoot site, so she got to choose a dish and Lisa from Lime in the Coconut created our cool new avatar so she got to choose too!  


100_64981

Tuesday night when The Husband was playing Air Force with the kiddos in ROTC, I made the risotto cakes, lit the grill for some steaks and stir-fried some mini bell peppers.  The risotto cakes were fabulous.  No matter how fabulous they are, I don’t, however, recommend making them while talking on the phone with a sister-in-law who is telling funny stories about a lady-killer nephew that will leave you in stiches.  Laughter and hot oil… not such a great combo.  

100_6509

Last night I realized that I still needed to make the Orange Chocolate Chunk Cakes that Lisa chose.  I set to task immediately after work, only for my sister to call in the middle of everything.  I still managed to make the cakes, and the uh… bit? I had was fabulous.  

100_6511

I realized about 5 minutes after I threw the cakes in the oven that I forgot to spray the rose-shaped bundt pans with non-stick spray.  ‘No problem.’ I thought.  It’ll be okay, it’s one of those cool non-stick pans.  Yeah.  Problem.  I tried to flip them out of the pan without luck.  Fine.  They’re warm, right?  Heat makes things expand… ‘ah… put them in the freezer!’  That made it worse.  They were easier to work with when they were warm, ‘back in the oven!’  Whatever.  I ended up having to pick the cakes out of the pan.  I threw it in a bowl, drizzled the syrup over it and decided I might do something with the crumbs tonight.  

100_6512

After much frustration, at 8:56 when The Husband walked in the door, I dished out bowls of Prudy’s Tuscan Vegetable Soup and finally, everything was right with the world again.

To get the recipe for the Risotto Cakes and Orange Chocolate Chunk Cakes visit the Barefoot Bloggers website (click away!)

I know I’ve been neglectful to some of my friends out here in the internet world.  I promise, I’m trying to catch up on everything you’re doing.  As The Husband would say, I have 26 hours of things to do every 24 hours.  It’s bound to slow down soon, right?  Right?!??!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2008 09:12

    Too bad your cakes didn’t turn out of the pan, but I bet the crumbs tasted just fine! Glad to see you’re back!

  2. November 20, 2008 09:41

    I didn’t make the risotto cakes.

    I’ve just got way to much on my plate.

    I will be making the orange cakes, once I get some oranges.

  3. November 20, 2008 11:34

    The flavors in both recipes were really good. Your risotto cakes have great color. I hate when I forget to grease pans. When something breaks up or doesn’t come out as pictured I either call it “rustic” or give it a new name. So maybe: Orange-Chocolate Crumble Cake Bowls? 😉 Great job in doing both bonus recipes in a busy month!

  4. November 20, 2008 12:34

    Wow- great job getting them both done! It’s always disappointing having a run in with the pan but I bet the crumbs were delicious anyways!

  5. November 20, 2008 14:44

    I’m laughing with you about the orange cakes! I have done the exact same thing before. Nice to know that there are others like me who are trying to jam too much into their days.

  6. November 20, 2008 17:38

    At least your risotto cakes turned out well! Sorry about the mishap with the orange cakes.

  7. November 20, 2008 18:05

    I think non-stick is a misnomer anyway. It all needs greasing. We have all had that moment when we realize that we forgot.
    I bet it tasted good anyway.
    So glad you loved the risotto cakes, they really were good, weren’t they? 🙂

  8. November 20, 2008 21:12

    The risotto cakes look delish! I got splattered with some oil too, but it was all worth it. I loved them Your orange cakes are too funny. That is so something that would have happened to me. I bet they still tasted good though.

Leave a Reply

