Skip to content

Barefoot! Banana Sour Cream Pancakes

January 8, 2009

 

img_0432

Karen of Something Sweet by Karen chose Ina Garten’s Banana Sour Cream Pancakes as the very first recipe of 2009.  My palms were sweaty as the realization hit.  I have to make pancakes!  Oh, it’s going to be a disaster!  After all, we’ve been down this road before.

It’s bad enough that the million plus readers at Smitten know that I can’t cook a pancake to save my life… my boss, Slick, sends me videos of Alton Brown making perfect golden pancakes, my father-in-law grabbed a bowl and a spoon when he visited over the summer and whipped up the most superb scratch-made pancakes I’ve ever eaten (how’s that for a run-on sentence!).

Yesterday in the middle of my meltdown I cried to Chocolatechic and told her the woes of my pancake dilemma.  A panic attack was eminent.  I had every intention of making the pancakes Tuesday evening, but luck ADD had another plan.  I was left with Wednesday evening to prepare pancakes that were gorgeous.  I didn’t even care if they tasted good at this point, I was simply concerned that they looked good.

You see, The Husband bought me a very cool and incredible camera for Christmas.  With all of the running around over the past two weeks, we just installed the cables to the computer.  I knew this was going to be the debut of my fancy new photo skills… the pancakes had to do the camera justice!  

The Husband and one of our friends went to the range yesterday afternoon.  I put off making the pancakes as long as I could.  I went shopping after work, I spent way too long on the phone.  I tried to let time slip away! My grumbling tummy wouldn’t allow me to wait any longer.  

I washed the perspiration off my hands.  I said a prayer and began chanting, ‘You can do this. You can do this.  Don’t let a pancake defeat you.  You are stronger than a pancake.’

img_0424

I made a few changes to the recipe.  First, I mashed the banana and mixed it in with the wet ingredients.  Diced banana sprinkled on top of an evil pride defeating uncooked pancake sounded like a bit more than I could handle.    Second, I used (sorry Chocolatechic) 1/2 ricotta cheese and 1/2 sour cream.  Also, since our friend was coming for dinner I doubled the recipe (Okay… really, I doubled the recipe because I was hoping that out of a double batch I would at least have ONE pancake worthy of photographing!) so I used 1/2 vanilla extract and 1/2 almond extract.  Also, I learned from watching my father-in-law make pancakes that there is copious amounts of baking powder in his cakes… so I used (gulp) 4 Tablespoons of baking powder.  I cooked them medium-low on the double griddle that stretches my stove.  I used a mixture of melted butter and canola oil for my grease.

img_0426

The result?  Seriously?  TheBestDamnPancakesIHaveEverMade!  Thanks Chocolatechic.  Really.    You talked me down from the ledge.  Oh, and Karen… thanks for the pick.  It was totally worth all the anxiety!

If you aren’t a fellow Barefooter with us… then shame on you.  I won’t hold out on you though, you can still find the recipe here.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2009 07:32

    They are absolutely gorgeous.

    See! Perfection!!!

  2. January 8, 2009 09:07

    Those are some beautiful pancakes, just perfect! Love the dusting of powdered sugar and the ricotta addition. Sounds wonderful! Glad you were able to overcome your fear of pancakes, I tell you, I had the same fear for a long time. Until I got a griddle I always messed up on the pancake flipping when I tried to make them in a pan.

  3. Trishie permalink
    January 8, 2009 10:09

    Um….those look really good and I am going to have to try them sometime.

  4. January 8, 2009 11:28

    Look at YOU, Conqueror of the Defeatist Pancake! They look delicious – no worries about doing the new camera justice. Congratulations!

    Honestly, I’ve never used baking powder in pancakes before, but I grew up on thin pancakes anyway. Maybe next weekend these will be on our plates – sans banana. 😉

  5. January 8, 2009 12:42

    They look perfect and I am sure they tasted great. Mashing the banana into the batter was perfect!

  6. January 8, 2009 14:32

    You sound just like me! I can’t make a golden pancake to save myself, and this defect in myself makes me very cranky. I switched to baked Pancake Bars (the batter is poured and baked in the oven, brownie style — as seen in my “breakfast category”) (and occasionally a Dutch Baby) and I’ve never looked back. I just dislike making pancakes that much, because if they are not perfect, I’m totally dejected.

    These pancakes, however, were GREAT, albeit not as golden as I’d like, and like you, I seriously didn’t want to take this task on, but I’m glad I did. I think we can get over this fear eventually!

  7. January 8, 2009 15:15

    Well I think your pancakes look absolutely fantastic! Love the changes you made!! And your pictures look awesome!

  8. January 8, 2009 16:01

    They look absolutely perfect! Congrats on conquering your fear and on the beautiful photos with your new gear. I can’t wait to see more!

  9. Karen permalink
    January 8, 2009 17:56

    i’m with you, this was my choice and i really had anxiety about making pancakes too because i could never do it right before! i’m serious, i always at least burned one side to a crisp. i’m really glad you liked these. the ricotta and almond extract additions sound like an interesting way to mix it up. and your pancakes did your new camera justice for sure. 🙂

  10. January 8, 2009 22:38

    yours look just awesome!!! happy new year too… 🙂

  11. January 8, 2009 23:00

    I love your nice high pile. They look great.

  12. January 9, 2009 00:47

    Ah, it’s the baking powder. I wondered why mine didn’t get very thick. Thanks for the idea! Your pancakes look fabulous! This makes me want to try again with your adjustments.

  13. January 9, 2009 01:18

    the prettiest pancakes I have seen so far. Way to conquer your fear!

  14. January 9, 2009 08:51

    They look like the best pancakes, too!
    Good for you, I look forward to making these one day soon. 🙂

  15. January 9, 2009 10:48

    Brand new Barefoot Blogger here, checking out everyone’s pancakes! They are one of the things I make from scratch a lot, and would never go back. Looks like you’ve got it figured out!

  16. January 9, 2009 16:05

    Gorgeous pancakes! You look like an expert! Way to overcome the fear in a big way!

  17. January 9, 2009 21:17

    congrats! the pictures are beautiful. so glad they were a success. Happy New Year!

  18. January 9, 2009 21:38

    Yeah a great pancake!!! I am so proud of you! My friend (the critic) was looking at your pics and he was amazed that you used a gridle! Good job!

  19. January 10, 2009 13:53

    Oh my…your pancakes look absolutely wonderful! All of the substitutions you made sound great. I was the same way with mine…I wanted to make sure I at least got on perfect pancake for my shot. I always seem to burn the heck outta mine!

  20. January 10, 2009 18:43

    Your pancakes look soooo good! I bet they tasted great! I will definitely be making these again.
    Great pic!
    -Ivette

  21. January 10, 2009 20:22

    You are too funny! Your pancakes look delicious. I am a little late on this recipe and plan on making these tomorrow. I was going to sub yogurt but I like the idea of ricotta. Also I am absolutely following your lead on the mashing…I’m not into chunks of banana in my panckaes either!

  22. January 10, 2009 23:29

    Your pancakes look amazing and I’ll definitely have to try your changes! I’m off now to read more of your great blog!

    Thanks for stopping by…

  23. January 10, 2009 23:34

    Your pancakes look great! Love the powdered sugar!

  24. cuppycreme permalink
    January 11, 2009 09:52

    thanks for welcoming me to the group. Your pancakes look amazing. 🙂

  25. January 28, 2009 04:50

    The pancakes did the camera justice. They look great – and good for you – another fear conquered!

Leave a Reply

