Skip to content

Perfect Brownies

January 13, 2009

brownies2

Every once in a while a chocolate loathing girl needs chocolate.  Given the choice of chewy-fruity things, a bowl of salty something or chocolate… my last choice will always be chocolate.  Perhaps sprinkle a little sea salt on a piece of dark chocolate… now that might do it for me.

Strangely enough I love chocolate cake.  No special occasion is neeeded for chocolate cake, every day would be great.  Really.  

Brownies… are a personal thing.  Cravings for brownies are sporadic, a must have now kind of thing.  You know those cravings?  The one that just can’t be shaken from your mind?

Of course, just because I don’t like chocolate doesn’t mean that there isn’t chocolate in the Cat house.  I bake all the time so there is always some sort of chocolate.  The Husband’s nirvana is a bowl of peanut butter and chocolate (in any form) so I keep all sorts of baking bits about, making the emergency craving for brownies a possibility.  Any time. 

The best recipe I’ve found is made from pantry basics for me.  With other recipes I find a trip to the grocery necessary… these perfect Joy Of Cooking Brownies… everything is at the house.  They’re crunchy on top, crisp around the edges and gooey on the inside.  Perfect really.

brownies1

Cockaigne Brownies
Joy of Cooking

1 (4 oz) bar chocolate*
1/2 c butter
4 eggs
2 c sugar
1 c flour
Mix ins**

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly butter a 9×13″ pan or a 9×9″ pan.  

In a small saucepan, melt the butter and chocolate together over low heat.  Cool while you start prep on the remainder.

With an electric mixer (I use the kitchen aide) beat the eggs until light and foamy, about 4 minutes.  Slowly beat in sugar and continue on medium speed until mixture turns a pale yellow.  Remove bowl from mixer and gently stir in  chocolate and butter mixture.  Fold in flour just until moistened.

Pour mixture into prepared pan and bake for 25-35 mintues (based on pan).

Top with a little ice cream and oh.my.  Your cravings will subside.  Promise!

*Generally, the type of chocolate I have on hand varies.  I’ve used semi-sweet, bitter-sweet, dark… I’ve also used 1/2 c chips instead of the bar and everything worked out fine.  It’s about the brownie… right?

**This time, I added in about 1/4 c cappuccino chips to the top of the batter after spreading the mixture into the pan.  I served it with coffee flavored ice cream.

Somehow this morning or last night a post I was working on for Wings of Love was published but incomplete.  I appologize to those of you who have read it already… I’ll finish it soon and post it this week.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2009 23:11

    Those look fabulous…I’m not the biggest brownie fan-with one exception: I am absolutely nuts (not pun intended) about the Barefoot Contessa’s “Outrageous Brownies”. They’re rich and chocolatey and studded with bittersweet chips and walnuts. mmmm.

  2. January 14, 2009 09:33

    I am with you – not a chocolate girl. But once in a while I get a craving… brownies would fit the bill! 🙂

  3. January 14, 2009 10:41

    I really need to not read you in the morning…since I am A. a chocoholic and B. a lover of only brownies….

    And I thought that installment ended a bit abruptly…..thought well, just like the Cat to just jump topic on me :D.

    Have a nice day, I’m off to play MOM for the day…..oh how I love that job…….better then daughter or sister, which I fail miserably at, eh?

    Happy Thursday CAT!

  4. January 14, 2009 14:31

    I feel the same way about chocolate as you do! Thanks for checking in on me. I’m fine. I kind of lost track of the blog world in December. We lost power at our house for a week due to an ice storm and lived with my parents, then the holiday’s were a wirlwind! January seems to be “birthday month” so we’ve had what seems like a million parties and we have a new baby coming in a month! So, needless to say my blogging and blog reading have really taken a back seat. I’m taking a leave from Barefoot Bloggers while I’m on maternity leave but will hopefully start back up after I’m back to a more normal routine. Again, thanks for checking on me…you’re too sweet!!!

  5. January 14, 2009 22:43

    I don’t really care for chocolate or cake and yet, I love chocolate cake. These brownies look fantastic! I would love one right now.

  6. Kristin permalink
    January 17, 2009 18:37

    We are on the same page, yet again. I can have a bowl of chocolate somethings in front of me for months and not touch it…. (can’t say the same for popcorn, pretzels, bread…..)… HOWEVER. I could have chocolate cake w/chocolate frosting (go ahead and put chocolate sprinkles on there too!) every night of the week!!!
    xoxo

  7. January 17, 2009 23:07

    Do you happen to know when the next round of Baking Gals will start?

  8. January 19, 2009 09:03

    Catching up after being away again and I’m already hooked. I’d love to read some more of your love story with a big gooey brownie. I’ve been craving brownies like mad but I’m trying to hold off till Wed. because my sister is coming for a visit and her children love brownies. I wonder if I can make it that long. Happy Anniversary and thank the heavens you made it away from Sean. Tell me more…..

  9. January 21, 2009 14:38

    Mmm . . . your brownies look great – and bonus points for finding a recipe you don’t have to go grocery shopping to make! I have the Joy of Cooking – but I’ve never even looked at the brownie recipe. Isn’t that crazy?

Leave a Reply

