Skip to content

History in the Making

January 20, 2009

As a conservative republican wife of a military member, I can say I have mixed emotions about today.  

I’m excited to see history being made and hope that we can all start being simply Americans and not hyphenated Americans.  I hope and pray that in today’s Inauguration we, as a country, are able to break down some of the racial barriers.

I pray that the new President will continue to keep this country safe, continue to put Her safety at the forefront of his mind.  We’ve been seven years without an attack on our soil because of the dedicated people in Washington DC: at the Pentagon, the White House and at the Capitol.  

Our military needs a skillful and knowledgeable leader to take us into the next decade.  I can only pray for and support our new Commander in Chief.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2009 18:25

    Very nicely said. Here’s hoping for good things to come!

  2. January 21, 2009 13:10

    I agree, Cat, I had mixed emotions too. But I hope God is looking over us to let President Obama change those things that need to be changed to make America better for all of us.

  3. January 21, 2009 14:59

    I have to agree about the hyphenated thing. I don’t go around saying I’m an English-American. I identify with America. I hope that others will find it possible to put racial dividers behind them and just be AMERICAN. Nicely said, Cat.

Leave a Reply

