Skip to content

Roasted Potato & Leek Soup

January 28, 2009

soup

For Christmas, The Mother-In-Law gave me the new Barefoot Contessa book.  My normal mode of operation when getting a new cookbook is to pour over it with a pad of posties next to me marking pages of things I really want to make.  The new book was so marked with orange posties I could hardly recognize it.

One recipe that stood out immediately to me in Ina’s new book was Roasted Potato and Leek soup.  Instead of following the recipe to the letter, I switched it up a little building it into something amazingly yummy.

We eat a lot of soup in the Cat House, when I make soup I tend to do my own thing; adding ingredients I think will work well together using  spices and herbs as I go along.  

Roasted Potato & Leek Soup
Cat Style
 

2 T olive oil
4 potatoes
4 leeks
 Salt & Pepper
 4 carrots
6 c chicken stock
2 oz reduced fat cream cheese
For garnish,
4 slices
prosciutto
2 scallions, sliced 
Shaved parmesan 

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Line a large cookie-sheet with foil and lightly spray with non-stick spray (not using too much olive oil on the potatoes keeps the soup lowfat, therefore needing a little extra umph to make sure nothing sticks).  

potatoes

Peel potatoes and cut into 3/4″ cubes.  Place potatoes on the lightly greased cookie sheet.  Clean the leeks by cutting in half lengthwise, then running the cut side under cold water to release all of the sand and ick from the folds.  Slice the leeks in about 1/4″ slices and place on cookie sheet.  

Top potatoes and leeks with 2 T olive oil and season to taste with salt and pepper.  Rub the oil, salt & pepper evenly and spread the potatoes and leeks into an even a layer as possible.  Roast at 425 for 20 minutes.  Prepare the carrots by peeling and cutting into 1/2″ slices.  Remove potatoes and leeks from oven, add carrots to the sheet and toss everything.  Roast for another 20 minutes.

leeks

Once the veggies have roasted, transfer the veggies to a dutch oven (or large soup pot).  Add chicken broth and bring to a boil (about 3 minutes).  

While the oven is still hot, place prosciutto on a foil lined cookie sheet and bake for about 10 minutes (or until crispy.)  Set aside.

Using an immersion blender*, blend the potato mixture until smooth, leaving a few chunks for texture.  Stir in cream cheese until melted and warmed through.

Serve garnished with broken crispy prosciutto, sliced scallions and shaved Parmesan.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2009 14:37

    That looks great! I do have a potato-leek soup recipe in my collection but it is only fair. I think the roasting process may just make the difference.

    Check out my latest (Nov/08). It’s already getting great reviews:

    Tried and True Recipes from a Caterer’s Kitchen—Secrets of Making Great Foods

    On Amazon, etc.

  2. January 28, 2009 21:43

    oooh, I’ve been wanting to try this. It looks fabulous!

  3. January 28, 2009 22:02

    That looks heavenly, oh so yummy. Love all the simple and homey ingredients. I need more love story though. Don’t leave us all hanging!

Leave a Reply

