Skip to content

The Search for Pyle

February 2, 2009

Too many times in life, something awful happens and we loose our bearings.  Yesterday, I searched for 16 hours for my little love to no avail.  I’ve cried out to God to please bring my boy back to me.  The owner/pet relationship is very complex.  No one knows how special my little love is to me.

In an effort to put this in perspective, I thought I’d share a few things about my Mr. Pyle.  Five weeks after The Husband and I married, he came to me at work to tell me that he was leaving for destination unknown.  That night, The Husband said we were going out to dinner and then to get a kiki.  We searched high and low and settled on a raggedy old mangy looking redheaded Tabby who growled at us and swatted us from the cage.  He was sleeping in his litter box and had feces stuck to his tail.  The Husband pointed at him and said, “I want him.”

We took Gomer Pyle home, bathed him then shaved his tail (we tried to wash it off.. but it wasn’t happening).  He immediately became our boy.  Three days later, The Husband left for his first tour in Iraq.  Gomer and I stuck with each other, our only friends in the strange place of North Carolina.  

Two years ago I had surgery on my spine while The Husband was in Afghanistan.  The Sister-in-Law and The Mother came to be with me during my surgery, taking care of household things and forcing me to stay on my stomach.  When we walked in from the hospital, Gomer Pyle sniffed and sniffed me.  Immediately after I was seated he began to run from one end of the house to the next screaming his battle cry for two hours.  He finally settled down when I laid on my bed.  He curled up at the base of my spine and stayed there for 12 hours.  When The Mother or The Sister-in-Law came in to change the dressing, Gomer stood watch.  He watched every move they made.  

Saturday night I left my little love outside.  I didn’t realize he was outside, but when I woke yesterday at 6:30 I knew immediately.  I felt it in my bones.  I searched for 16 hours for him.  

Realization hit when my friends starting showing up.   My walking-buddy neighbor was outside in her pajamas when I came crying, she grabbed a scarf and gloves and off we went in our pajamas… just looking for my baby.  She woke her son up and he too searched.

I sent a text to my friends that read, “Please pray!  I’ve lost my Gomer.”  Immediately, The Lovely Co-Worker called, “I’m on my way!”  When The Neighbor went to Church with her family, The Lovely Co-Worker and I picked up the hunt.  We thought we got lucky as we neared new construction and heard the mewing… we looked and looked.  Out of the boulders came an orange head, eyes like liquid gold.  My heart soared.  “GOMER!  THANK GOD!” I screamed.  I pulled the cat from the crevice in the rocks… and it wasn’t him.  It was a kitten that looked just like Gomer.  I lost it.  I hyperventilated and dry heaved.  Where’s my baby?

As the day wore on, The Parents and Grandmama showed up.  The Dad and I drove and drove, we went to the farms behind the house.  We called out, “Gomer!”  At dinner I said to Grandmama, “Grandmama, why don’t you get on the horn to God and tell Him I need my baby back.”  “I did honey, ” she replied.  “He said patience my child.  Patience.” came the rest of her reply.  “How patient do I have to be?  It’s been 14 hours since he went missing!

Daylight faded and I found myself alone on the search.  Wandering the farms, the neighborhoods… I cried out to God.  “Please God.  Please.  Bring my baby home.  Please.”  Negotiations began, “God, if you bring my baby home… I’ll be a better person.  I promise.”  Then anger hit, “God.  Why would you let this happen? You are the only one who can bring my baby home.  Where is he, God?”  

Radar and I kept the couch warm last night listening for things that go bump in the night… praying for something to go bump in the night.  I prayed all night long.  As I laid on the couch praying I realized it had been way too long since I went to my Savior and asked forgiveness.  I’ve become someone I don’t like too much.  Where is the girl that leaned first on God, then herself?  I’ve lost my way… just like my Gomer Pyle.  

I spent the morning with my boss, Slick.  We prayed and she listed while I cried about my inability to accept God’s grace… don’t tell me that God doesn’t put people in your life for a reason.  

So, please pray for me.  Pray for Gomer Pyle to be warm and safe… to find his way home.  But most of all, please pray that our awesome God will get the message through to my thick-headed love that his mama will be waiting with unconditional love and open arms when he comes home.  Just like my Father has done for me.

As for me, I will always have hope;
I will praise You more and more.
My mouth will tell of Your righteousness,
of Your salvation all day long,
though I know not its measure.

Psalm 71:14-15

I start a fresh round of counseling again this week.  I just made the appointment with Pastor Rick today.   I guess I’ve still got issues.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 13:17

    We’ve all got issues and a whole liefe time to work them out. I think you are pretty wonderful. I’m praying for you!

  2. February 3, 2009 05:20

    Hi
    You have a good blog.
    Please visit my fun blog on:
    http://www.soldierfun.blogspot.com
    Be happy

  3. February 3, 2009 16:47

    Gomer is in my prayers sweetie…..

    as are you…..

  4. February 3, 2009 22:45

    I hope your kitty finds his way home soon.

    p.s. We all have issues 🙂

  5. Gail permalink
    February 3, 2009 23:20

    I am saying my prayers for your kitty to come home. We have a farm and MULTIPLEs of each species. However, our kitties are each special in their own way. (The dogs would beg to differ.) Losing one is hard, finding them again is bliss!!

    Keep us posted!

    Gail

    P.S. If we didn’t have issues, we wouldn’t be special – would we??

  6. February 9, 2009 18:01

    Oh my… I would be sick with worry. You, of course, have my prayers that Gomer Pyle will come home to you very, very soon! Is there anything else I can do to help out?

Leave a Reply

