Skip to content

A Letter from my Daddy

February 3, 2009

*An email I got from my dad this morning.  God doesn’t make them better than him.

Cat, my little girl.  

I will always think of you as my little girl, even though I know how nebulous that statement is.  Your mother and I knew that when God blessed us with you, that you were only on loan.  We knew that someday, God would exercise HIS WILL and take you away from us to fulfill His own will for your life.  We could not forbid HIS will for you and had to accept that your loss to us was preordained. 

ACCEPTANCE.  The only way your mom and I were able to live with God’s will for our loss of you was through Acceptance.

Please carefully study the short narrative on acceptance.  It will ease some of your anxieties about missing Gomer.

And acceptance is the answer to all my problems today.  When I am disturbed, it is because I find some person, place, thing or situation- some fact of my life- unacceptable to me, and I can find no serenity until I accept the person, place, thing, or situation as being exactly the way it is supposed to be at this moment.

Nothing, absolutely nothing happens in God’s world by mistake.

When I complain about me or about you, or about a life’s situation, I am complaining about God’s handiwork.  I am saying that I know more than God.

One other thought, Punkin, and this old man’s ruminations will be over, so bear with me.  Don’t beat yourself up, or beat up those who love you.  Your mom and me have our memories of your being in our home briefly before God called you away.  We have since accepted His will.  Sometimes, God allows things we dislike to happen in our lives, and it could merely be a way of helping you personally grow.  God isn’t through working in you yet.

Acceptance is the key to my relationship with God today.  I never just sit and do nothing while waiting for Him to tell me what to do.  Rather, I do whatever is in front of me to be done, and I leave the results up to Him; however it turns out, that is God’s will for me.

Remember that nothing happens in God’s world by mistake.  Grow with this situation Punkin and know that however it turns out you will grow stronger, be a better person because of it, and trust God’s will to bring you through it.

I love you.
~Dad

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2009 12:07

    You are one lucky daughter. Thanks to Cat’s dad for such words of wisdom.

  2. February 3, 2009 14:00

    Cat, I feel your pain in missing your Orange Guy. I misplaced my own, and your dad is right. It wasn’t until I could accept that I could not change the situation, I could not alter anything, only have control over how I responded and what I would do in the future, did I find peace. I never found my Caspian, but after 12 years, I know that wherever he went and wherever he is now, it’s all right. I’ll be thinking of you and Gomer.

  3. Kristin permalink
    February 5, 2009 09:34

    sweet daddy. and sweet daddy’s girl too…
    xo
    K

  4. February 9, 2009 18:03

    Wow….wow….
    Your dad is amazing.

Leave a Reply

