Skip to content

Honestly Delicious

February 9, 2009

th_honest_scrap_award

A few weeks ago, my buddy Martha awarded me with the Honest Scrap award.  Martha interpreted the award to mean that she portrays herself as an honest woman through her words… I agree.  

The rules for the award are as follows: 
a. List 10 things about yourself – and make it interesting, even if you have to dig deep! and…
b. Pass along the award to 7 bloggers who you think embody the spirit of The Honest Scrap.

Here goes!  The most random things you never wanted to know about me!
1.  In the past 8 days I have realized that Peace is a gift from God… and only God.
2.  In a fit of depression, I colored my hair this weekend to a deep brown… my natural red came through a little.  My friends have all had to do a double take… but the general consensus is that I should never go back to blonde (I’ve been blonde since I was 10!).  Apparently, I’m much prettier as a auburn/brunette. (I’ll post pictures soon…)
3.   I am absolutely terrified of horses… but I am determined to learn to ride!
4.  I recently started Martial Arts… and I’ve never loved exercize more! The feeling of accomplishment after some serious butt-kicking is incomparable!
5.  I miss the active duty military life more than I let on… I actually feel lost, like part of my identity has been stripped from me.
6.  About a month ago I realized that the one thing I want more in life is to be the best wife I can be.  A military wife has a million different roles to play… and I want to do it all.
7.  I really hate doing laundry, but I can’t handle it if someone else does it (Ex: The Husband folded the towels one day… since I couldn’t refold them without offending him, I actually went through 9 towels within 24 hours!).
8.  I would rather be cold than hot… there’s only so many clothes you can take off  before the police get involved.
9.  My husband is my best friend.  I pray that I spend eternity with him. If our friends start a conversation with, “Please don’t tell The Husband this…” I ask them not to finish.  
10.  I often don’t see the distinction between my “military family” and my blood family.   I love them all… 

Now… on to passing along the Truth Scrap

1. Kate – my cowgirl.  Kate is actually the inspiration behind going to Martial Arts.  She hears about all of my achy joints after a good workout.  If she weren’t already engaged… I’d hook her up with ANY of my friends.  The sweetest cowgirl ever.  Really.  She’s also a major butt-kicker Martial Arts guru… watch out!

2. Chocolatechic – Chocolatechic is the constant calm.  Always there to dish out advice, prayer or anything… Chocolatechic is always honest in her assessment of a situation.  She is appreciated more than I could tell you.

3. Mandy – Mandy is one very fabulously put together woman!  If you ever need an event planned… HIRE HER!  She’s amazing… utterly amazing.

4. Summer – Summer makes me jealous of her beautiful NY apartment… her perfect dinner settings and beautiful life.  Honest to a fault… I love reading about her absurd moments on the train.

5. Natashya – Natashya is like a rock for me.  She’s always cooking up something delicious with her puppies.  Also… she’s a Canook!  My mom’s family hails from Canada… I love it!

6.  Veronica – Veronica won’t hold back on the best deals… she’ll tell you all about them and give you mouth watering recipes to go along with it.

7.  Erin – Erin is the most down-to-earth, friendly wonderful woman EVER.  If our travels across the country put me within 200 miles of Erin, I am definitely detouring to her house and sitting at her dining table for hours drinking coffee and listening to her stories.

Have fun!!!!!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2009 13:55

    Canook? Is that like a cross between a Canuck and a kook? 🙂
    I am with you on the towels, I have taught my daughter to fold them just like I do – but I don’t let anyone else do it. Hubby once folded them inside out!
    What fun to sport a new hair colour! A great way to shake up a long winter.
    Thanks for all your kind words, sweetie. 🙂

  2. February 9, 2009 20:37

    Thank you lovely, I’m flattered! I loved learning more about you. I swear I could have written #8 myself. I always sat that, there’s nothing worse than being hot. Can’t wait to see your new dark hair.

  3. February 10, 2009 08:52

    Hey! Thanks so much for the award and congratulations for getting it. Thanks even more for the kind words which are making me smile! I want to see that pic of your new hair please. I love what you wrote in number nine. And number four. I want to have someone come to my house and teach us all karate together. Wouldn’t that be fun? And number eight, oh yep. I’m the only person around these parts it seems that feels sadness when I see spring on its way. Long live winter.

  4. February 11, 2009 14:52

    I have a thing about #7 too although I realized when I was completely sleep deprived after my daughter was born that folded is folded. I didn’t much care then, but I do now, ha ha.

  5. February 11, 2009 18:13

    Good award and nice things about yourself! I can’t wait to see the new hair color, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

