Skip to content

Asian Noodles… by the non-Asian

February 10, 2009

asian-noodles-2

I often find myself playing with recipes that bring together flavors in a new and comforting way… with a lot less fat than initially intended.  I decided to play with noodles last week while The Husband was working.  My staple Asian items are: noodles (the funkier the better), coconut milk, peanut butter, peanuts, bamboo shoots, green onions, garlic and tamari (or soy) sauce.  With these items in my arsenal… I can do anything.

Last week I made one of my concoctions… not expecting it to amount to much, I didn’t write anything down.  Of course, as The Husband is getting up to get thirds he tells me, “I think I have a new favorite.”  *silence* while I rack my brain trying to come up with my maddening recipe.

Grown Up Thai Ramen Noodles
A Cat Concoction

2 chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces
Olive oil
Salt & Pepper
Red Pepper flakes
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 can light coconut milk (A Taste of Thai is
always the best flavor)
1/4 c peanut butter
3 T dark soy sauce (Tamari)
1 can bamboo shoots
1 package “Chinese Noodles” (on the Asian aisle… looks like a large package of Ramen Noodles)

In a large skillet, heat about 2 T olive oil  over medium heat.  Sprinkle in as much red pepper as your family can handle.*  Lightly salt and pepper the chicken and cook over medium heat for about 6 minutes, stirring occasionally, until lightly browned and mostly cooked through.  

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk together coconut milk, peanut butter and tamari sauce.  Add in minced garlic.  Set aside.  Once the chicken has mostly cooked through, slowly pour the coconut milk mixture into the pan and heat through on low heat.**

Saucy saucy saucy saucy saucy saucy saucy

Bring a large pot of salted water to boil.  When the coconut and chicken mixture is heated through and thickened, drop the noodles into the salted water and cook, stirring constantly for 3 minutes.  Retrieve noodles with a spider or pasta spoon, placing directly into the sauce.  

Garnish with sliced green onions.

*Whenever I make something that requires red pepper flakes (which is often actually) I heat the flakes with the oil before anything else hits the pan… it sort of infuses the oil with the spice.

**At this point, you can leave this sitting for an hour or so.  The Husband ended up working an extra hour and I just left the sauce simmering on the stove.  

And an updated photo of The Husband and I… with dark hair.

brunette-cat1

Most exciting is that my face is starting to really thin out from Martial Arts.  I love learning to kick butt!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2009 09:46

    You are so beautiful.

  2. February 10, 2009 18:16

    This is my favourite kind of meal. Yum.
    Great photo – you guys are so cute!

  3. Kristin permalink
    February 10, 2009 20:53

    Wow!! You look great!
    That looks like Thai type of flavor… right?
    I’m thinking I’ll be stocking up on stuff here, before we head back to the states… I’m sure I’m going to miss a lot of the local flavor.
    (Still thinking about Gomer with you…)

  4. February 11, 2009 17:06

    Great photo! Your noodles look tasty…I really should cook Asian more often.

  5. February 12, 2009 20:18

    great photo. I love the hair! thanks for this recipe. I bought a can of coconut milk recently and have been waiting for a recipe to inspire me.

Leave a Reply

