Skip to content

Overwhelmed

February 25, 2009

chicken-biscuits-12

I’m working on a proposal to send to a magazine offering my services as a freelance writer.  My mom is having her gallbladder removed today.  The Husband made honors at school this semester by completely neglecting his home life to be a study master.  My Gomer Pyle is still MIA and my heart aches for him, literally hurts.  My counselor has decided to “move-on” in his career, three weeks after I started seeing him again.  I’ve found a way to get much needed exercise and tone my body and mind at the same time.  

Knowing that no matter what happens in my life, The Husband and his career are always priority.  No one told me when I signed the marriage certificate that I had just signed over the rights to my own life.  I’ve effectively become the property of the United States Armed Services.  This is by no means a sob-story, woe is me kind of article… more of a how on earth did it take me this long to figure it out kind of thing.  I shouldn’t say it that way, it didn’t take me seven years to figure out… but me not really knowing me  is an increasing irk on my brain lately.  

I didn’t want to marry a man in uniform.  I didn’t set out in my life to marry anyone at all.  Furthermore, I never dreamed that I would move every 3-4 years and have to start over each time I moved.  In terms of supporting myself financially, this never works as I am stuck at the bottom of the food chain each time I move.  Every new duty station is the start of another year before I earn vacation.  When I only live somewhere for 3 years… is it worth it?  How do I make a spot to stand on… when the foundation is built of sand?

I love The Husband.  I love him more than I could dream possible.  We are each other’s mate… partner, best friend… everything.  I’m proud of him and his service to this Nation.  I wouldn’t trade him or his calling in life for anything.  He’s an incredible man and I’m blessed to be his wife.  Loving him and supporting him doesn’t mean that I can’t carve out a little me in there too.

Truth is, I have a million thoughts floating through my mind.  What I do now for a “job” isn’t what I want to do for the rest of my life.  I want to be me… in addition to being the best wife I can be.  I’m almost 28 and I feel like the last few months have been a gift for me.  I opened my eyes to the possibilities that surround me.  The Husband has encouraged me to do what I’d like… take advantage of the time we have here.

I want to go back to school, but this time I want to go to culinary school.  I want to obtain my degree in culinary arts… but I don’t know that I want to be a chef.  I’m contemplating changing the name of this blog.  I’m thinking of going straight with Delta Whiskey and ditching the whole Cat’s Pajamas thing.  I don’t know.  I don’t know anything right now other than I’m happy and blessed to be where I am.  I’m happy that I feel like I can make a move in my life, finally figure out who I am going to be for the next 20 years or so.  It’s just so overwhelming.  

All of this chatter in my brain has made me crave ultimate comfort foods.  Knowing I’m not going to fill my body with a bunch of junk so I can feel good about myself as my taste buds tingle… I had to rewrite an old favorite.  Get yourself some comfort tonight.  It doesn’t get much better than this.

Chicken & Biscuits, on a lighter note
An Original Cat recipe

 1 recipe of Tyler Florence’s Better Buttermilk Biscuits*
2-3 chicken breasts, cut into 1/2″ pieces
1 onion, chopped
4-5 cloves garlic, chopped
3 stalks celery, chopped
4 carrots, chopped
1 bag (10 oz) frozen peas
4 c chicken broth
2 T cornstarch 
1/2 c milk (I always use 1%)
Salt & pepper to taste
1 bay leaf
2 t dried thyme (or fresh if you have it)

biscuits-1

In a large stockpot, heat a tablespoon of oil over medium heat.  Add chicken pieces and lightly brown (don’t stir immediately because this rips the chicken and dries it out).  Once the chicken is opaque, stir in onions and garlic.  Cook for a few minutes until onions are tender and garlic is fragrant.  Stir in celery and carrots, then season with salt, pepper and thyme.  Cook for another few minutes, just to get the crunch off.

Stir in chicken broth and bring to a slow boil over medium high heat.  Knock temperature down to low, add bay leaf and simmer for about 20 minutes.  Stir in frozen peas.

In a small bowl, beat the cornstarch and milk together.  Slowly add the milk mixture to the chicken and vegetables.  Stir occasionally for about 10 minutes until thickened and resembling a gravy.  Taste for seasoning and reseason if necessary.

Split two of your incredible Tyler Florence Better Buttermilk Biscuits (that you made because you’re a rockstar), plate the biscuits cut side up and top with the chicken gravy.  

Take a bite and find peace in your soul.

*Andrea made these biscuits a while ago and I immediately went home and made them.  I’ve made them several times since using 1 c whole wheat flour and 1 c all purpose flour.  We try not to use shortening in our joint, so I also up the buttermilk to 1 c and decrease the butter to 1/4 cup.  Give it a try.  They really are better!

biscuits-2

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2009 11:07

    You are such a strong woman – you’re blessed to have each other!

    I’m looking forward to seeing where the new job op takes you, but as for the culinary arts thing, go for it! You could be a private chef. That kind of thing would move well with you, whenever you happen to get uprooted again.

    The chicken and biscuits look very yummy, especially with the whole wheat biscuits. Might have to stick this in the future supper folder…

  2. February 25, 2009 15:15

    I love the pretty shape of the biscuits, I don’t know why I have never thought of using the shaped cutters on them.
    Nothing like chicken and biscuits for comfort.
    I didn’t consider the employment ramifications to your lifestyle, that must be hard. I think you will enjoy school though, and what a thrill it would be to be paid to write!
    I hope kitty comes home soon, my own elderly kitty passed away last week and it was very sad for everyone. The kids can’t remember life before her. And the puppies keep looking for her.
    Still, she was very old. I can’t imagine not knowing where my pet was, that must be so hard for you. Keep strong.

  3. February 25, 2009 15:16

    The world is your oyster! It sounds like you are ready to branch out and do things that you are passionate about. What a great place to be! I loved this post; it was a real insider’s peek into Miss Cat, or is that Miss Delta Whiskey? Either way I’m a devoted fan!

  4. February 25, 2009 16:57

    I am so trying this recipe soon. Wow, sounds delicious!

  5. February 26, 2009 06:29

    Good luck with your next chapter – I’ve been playing with the idea of going to study cooking at a higher level too. Time is not right for me now – hope that it all comes together for you.

  6. February 26, 2009 22:23

    Congrats on this next venture! It was great reading more about your life.

    And, the recipe sounds delicious! It’s going on my list of things to try!

    ;)amy

  7. Kristin permalink
    March 2, 2009 04:51

    I’ve been having little stirs of additional callings in life too…. I’d say it’s “our age”… but, errrr…I’m a dozen years ahead of you. (eek). I hear you though. That’s what I’m here to say.
    (I’m still thinking about Gomer too…..)
    xo

Leave a Reply

