Skip to content

Those Days

March 4, 2009

When I woke yesterday I knew I should just get right back in bed and forget the day existed.  After approximately 2,572 squats at Martial Arts the previous night, I was sore… like it was too much effort to get out of bed hurt.  I forged on, took my shower, drank my coffee and tried to pretend I was human.  

I make protein shakes for The Husband and myself every morning, yesterday being no exception.  The Husband was running late to class so he kissed me on the forehead and asked that I put his shake in the fridge for later.  I complied, shut the door to the fridge and heard a very slight splatter from inside the door.  Uh oh.  I tentatively opened the door to find pink goo spreading quickly across the top shelf then dripping onto the next shelf, seeping through the cracks of the shelves… 

Cleaning up the mess was a breeze when I grabbed the trash can, a roll of paper towels and swiped everything off the top shelf into the trash can.  My shoulders screamed from the exersion.  I sanitized the shelf, put my shake in the fridge for The Husband and decided to take some milk for breakfast instead.  

Milk in hand, I grabbed a jar and proceded to miss the jar by a good 2 inches because I couldn’t get my arms to stop shaking.  Milk quickly made it’s way accross my counter, down my cabinets and dripped onto my pink kitchen rugs.  Radar was having a ball lapping up the spilt milk.

I gave up.  I put the milk in the fridge, grabbed my bag and went to the garage… where I promptly opened my car door into The Husband’s work bench.  Stay home today.  Go back to bed and pretend this day doesn’t exist.  You can sleep through it and no one will be the wiser.  Write today off on your taxes… do anything besides existing today.

The day got progressively worse from there.  

My boss, Slick and our friend Lou (otherwise known as The Lovely Co-Worker) came over after work for a glass bottle of vino.  I walked in the door, grabbed wine glasses and uncorked a bottle of Yellow Tail.  We rehashed the day we had experienced.  There was  too much to be said between personal junk happening to all of us, to the extroidenary environment we work in.  

Slick and Lou were there for me more than anything when I lost Gomer Pyle.  They came and searched for hours with me.  It seemed fitting that we talk about him last night.  It felt right to laugh about the good memories, to listen to The Husband joke about Gomer’s attitude… to silently cry for my boy.  

Slick had to leave for a “Speed Networking” date.   I poured more wine, invited Lou’s husband and started making dinner for everyone.  

The night came to a close around 9:00 with dishes crowding the counter, wine glasses strewn about the kitchen… full bellies and contentment.

I stood at the sink rinsing dishes when The Husband wrapped me in his arms and whispered in my ear… “This is what life was made for.”  

Thank God I didn’t go back to sleep.  My new mantra… when life hands you lemons… drink wine with friends.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 12:03

    Just as long as you don’t stick any of that lemon juice in your wine, that’s a line to remember. 😉

    Kate

  2. March 4, 2009 15:04

    What a way to end the day.

  3. March 4, 2009 15:15

    I love happy endings. Especially after starts like that. I just cleaned up a spilt milk glass in the fridge and it wasn’t pretty. Maybe that means I’ll have good luck tonight.

  4. March 4, 2009 19:51

    Wine has a lovely way of making everything better.

  5. Christine permalink
    March 4, 2009 21:34

    A good wine and friends make everything better. Gotta try Hayman Hills I love their chardonnay during the summer!

  6. March 5, 2009 00:36

    What a great post, your writing is wonderful!

    I am a definite fan of the vino…just one more reason we need to have a playdate!

  7. Kristin permalink
    March 5, 2009 18:45

    Isn’t it amazing how one moment (when The Husband wrapped his arms around you) can change the whole, entire day? ❤

  8. Kristin permalink
    March 5, 2009 18:45

    that ❤ is supposed to be a “heart”

Leave a Reply

