Skip to content

Wings of Love – Chapter Four

March 6, 2009

Wings of Love logo

Wings of Love Previously

“Cat.  I have to talk to you.” Trish rushed to say.

“Oh, no.  What’ve you done now?” I asked.

“You remember Jay?  That boy you met a little over a year ago?  He joined the Air Force and left for Korea…” Trish trailed off.

“Of course I remember Jay.” I countered.

Trish went on in a hurried tone, “Well… uh… Jay’s coming home for mid-tour and he’s bringing a friend.  I promised Jay’s mom that I’d spend some time with Jay… show him around, keep him busy.  I also… um… told Jay that I’d find his friend a date.  Your name came up… I sort of volunteered you to go out with Jay’s friend.”

Silence filled the air.  My nostrils flared, pupils dilated… my anger came dangerously close to exploding.  I forced myself to be calm then turned my eyes to Trish and said through gritted teeth, “I cannot believe you would assume that I want to go out with one of Jay’s disgusting friends!  I want nothing to do with this, Trish.  I won’t have anything to do with this.  How could you assume that I want to take time to spend with some deadbeat Air Force guy?  My family will not stand for this… we’re a Marine Family Trish.  Marines and Airmen don’t mesh…”

Trish looked at me apologetically and replied, “Cat.  I’ve already given him your name.  Jay’s told his friend that he’s taken care of.  Please, Cat.  You know how much I want this to work with Jay.  Please.”  

She pulled a folded photo out of her back pocket and moved to my side.  On the left of the photo was a scrawny Asian guy holding his right hand in the peace symbol, his left arm draped around Jay.  Jay looked the same: tall, skinny, olive skin… his right hand held a half-empty beer while his left arm was wrapped around the head of another guy.  The guy on Jay’s left was a short black guy with a spark in his eye that spoke of mischievous adventure, a cigarette dangled from his lips and he appeared to be toasting a drink to the tall blond on his other side.  The blond stood slightly away from the rest of the group.  He had a closed-mouth smile, eyes the color of the ocean with skin the color of milk.  I heard a sharp intake of breath as Trish pointed to the blond.  “He’s the friend coming with Jay.”  I tore my eyes from the photo and looked behind me wondering where the breath came from… only to realize it was my own.  

What a gorgeous man!  I thought.  Too bad he’s a friend of Jay’s.  I’m willing to bet he’s a real piece of work… a womanizer… ugh!

Trish’s voice broke into my thoughts, “Here’s his email address, why don’t you email him and see how it goes?”  

By the time I reached my office my head was spinning.  I was angry at Trish for putting me in this situation, angry at myself for being so cold-hearted and angry at the blond for being so darn cute!

I walked over to my computer and typed a quick email to this funny-named blond…

Hi there.  I realize you might have some expectations of your time in Kansas City.  Although I’d like to be hospitable and show you around, I don’t feel it’s a good idea.  Since I’ve been volun-told to do so, I’ll spend one evening with you.  I’m sure you can figure it out after that and find other… more willing women to spend your time with.  I’ll tell you one thing… whatever you’re expecting… forget about it.  I’m not the kind of girl you’re interested in.  I want nothing to do with you or your silly Air Force friends.  As far as I’m concerned, the sooner we get this over with, the better.  I’d rather pick lint from my belly button than spend time with you… 

By the way… thank you for your service to this nation.  It must be really difficult to be in the Air Force at these trying times.  As the daughter of a Marine… I know how hard you Air Force types work.  Whatever.

~Cat

It wasn’t long before I got a response…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2009 13:48

    Oh sweetie… you really know how to share the love! And make a girl laugh at the same time!

    Hope you get to feelin’ better soon! Quit writing blog posts and go back to sleep, you nut.

    Kate

  2. March 6, 2009 19:37

    Oh my goodness Cat-that email! I love it. I can’t tell you how much I adore love stories that start off with hostility in the ilk of Anne of Green Gables and Gilbert, Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy, even Princess Leia and Hans Solo. I can’t believe you are leaving me hanging from this. Oh pretty please, pretty pretty please with sugar on top, post his response tonight!

  3. March 6, 2009 22:44

    Cat, I most have been away on vacation for Chapter 3. Both 3 & 4 are great. You need to get on with this story, it is great!

  4. March 8, 2009 12:48

    Knowing the things I know about the husband….I’m sure this flyboy about spit out whatever he was drinking all over his computer screen when he got that email from you…..what a riot. Cat you certainly have not changed in the years you all have been together either….outspoken, self assured and well….inside, quite the pushover…..blond haired, eyes the color of the ocean, skin the color of milk….I am sure he loves to know you thought he had skin the color of milk…..you and your food associations…..you really are a SUCKER! And I certainly love you to death!

    You do know that your email just made him want to be with you all the more….you became the challenge.

  5. Christine permalink
    March 8, 2009 20:14

    Cat you are to funny!

  6. March 8, 2009 23:30

    You are hilarious!

  7. Trish permalink
    April 1, 2009 16:05

    I don’t quite remember you being angry that I volunteered you to go out with him….just saying..

Trackbacks

  1. Wings of Love - Chapter Five « Delta Whiskey

Leave a Reply

