Skip to content

Barefoot! Chicken Picatta

March 12, 2009

img_1323

This weeks recipe for Barefoot comes from Lindsey of Noodle Nights and Muffin Mornings.  Chicken Picatta has become one of our rotation recipes because it’s just so darned good.  I originally made it to go with the Herb Roasted Onions we made a few months ago (which, by the way… if you haven’t made them… do so- they are fabulous!)

I made a couple adjustments to boost the flavor of the chicken since I’ve made this dish a couple times before.  First, in the flour mixture I use wheat flour and add about a teaspoon of garlic powder and about a half teaspoon of onion powder.  In the egg, I add a splash of milk instead of water to make it slightly more fluffy.  Finally, in the bread crumb mixture I add about a tablespoon of grill seasoning.  

img_13192

Of course, the sauce is delicious made as is… but I don’t use a whole lot of butter if I don’t have to so I opt to use a tablespoon of olive oil instead of butter for the beginning part of the sauce.  Once the wine and olive oil have mingled with each other for a while I throw in the lemon juice, cook for a minute then turn off the heat.  I always add one tablespoon of butter at the end to silken the sauce… which turns out wonderfully.  

You can find the recipe for Chicken Picatta in Barefoot at Home or follow along with my additions.

Chicken Picatta
Ina Garten, The Barefoot Contessa

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 t garlic powder
1/2 t onion powder
1/2 c whole wheat flour
2 eggs
1/4 c milk (I always use 1%)
3/4 c dried bread crumbs
1 T grill seasoning
Olive oil
For the Sauce:
1 T olive oil
1/2 c dry white wine
Juice of 2 lemons (Halves reserved and a couple slices for garnish)
1 T butter
Chopped parsley, for garnish

In three separate shallow bowls combine the following:
Bowl 1: Flour, Garlic Powder and Onion Powder
Bowl 2: Milk and egg
Bowl 3: Bread crumbs and grill seasoning

Preheat a large skillet over medium heat with about 2 T olive oil (add more if necessary… those breadcrumbs are greedy).  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

If you have large chicken breasts, place them in a small zip-top bag one at a time and flatten with a meat tenderizer (or your head if you feel like banging your head against a wall because it’s been another one of those days… I kid.)  

First lightly coat the chicken in the flour mixture, shaking off excess flour.  Place the chicken in the egg mixture and lightly coat, then into the bread crumbs to create a nice crust.  Immediately put into the waiting heated skillet.  Repeat with other chicken breasts until you’re out of room in the pan (two batches are generally necessary).  Once the first side is nicely browned after about 4 minutes, flip to the other side and brown.

Remove browned chicken from the pan to a cookie sheet then place in the oven for safe keeping.  

To prepare the sauce: wipe out pan if there are any errant breadcrumbs, etc. floating around.  Add 1 Tablespoon olive oil and white wine to the pan.  Heat the olive oil, wine and lemon halves for about 5 minutes, or until the wine starts to bubble and cook down.  Remove lemon halves and discard, add lemon juice to pan and stir to combine, warm through for about 2 minutes then turn the heat off.  Place one tablespoon of butter into the pan and stir until melted.  

Remove chicken from oven and plate, drizzling with the sauce and garnishing with chopped parsley and sliced lemons.

Enjoy!

You aren’t a Barefooter yet?  You should be ashamed of yourself!  We’re full of wonderful Ina recipes and good times… come join! 

Head on back later this week for all sorts of Irish recipes… The Husband is (go ahead… laugh…) Half IRISH and half POLISH.  Yes, yes, yes… I have my hands full- but I love it.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2009 09:05

    Your chicken looks great and I love your suggestions. Thanks for participating this week!

  2. March 12, 2009 10:09

    Yum, your chicken looks great! And, thanks for checking in on me. I had a baby girl named Abigail on Feb 7th. I’ve actually started taking food pics again, just haven’t found time to post them…but I will soon! Hope all is well with you! Love the new look!

  3. March 12, 2009 11:32

    Wow, your version looks FANTASTIC! Well done.

  4. March 12, 2009 12:28

    I am going to give your “experienced” version of this recipe a try. I have never used wheat flour. It’s now on my shopping list! Thanks for the new ideas.

  5. March 12, 2009 12:41

    Hi Delta!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Your dish looks wonderful. Smart idea to use milk in lieu of water with the egg. I’ll try that next time.

    Believe it or not, I served mine with the Herb Roasted Onions, too. Great minds think alike!

  6. March 12, 2009 13:25

    That picture of your chicken piccata is making me drool! and herb roasted onions?! yum

  7. March 12, 2009 13:37

    your chicken looks fantastic, too! thanks for the welcome. i’m excited to be a part of this!

  8. March 12, 2009 14:02

    Delta this looks great. I love that your chicken is really brown like mine was too! Love the way you photographed it. I’m so glad I tried this.

  9. March 12, 2009 14:13

    Hi Delta! Thanks for checking out my new blog. I was a little nervous about the first posting. Hopefully, I can keep up with all the talented Barefoot Bloggers. Speaking of talent, WOW, your picture of the finished dish is beautiful. Well done!

  10. March 12, 2009 15:22

    That looks amazing Cat and I love the changes you made- great job!

  11. March 12, 2009 18:56

    *mental note* looks like dinner for next week : )

    I love your presentation, the greens and yellow lemons really bring out the color of the chicken.

  12. March 12, 2009 21:27

    Your chicken looks amazing! We make this a lot around here too. I’ll have to try it with wheat flour, yum!

    Okay, once the weather isn’t so freaking frigid lets do a playdate!

  13. March 12, 2009 22:02

    Love the whole wheat of course! Your chicken looks fabulous. Great job. Liking the look of the blog too! 😉

  14. March 13, 2009 00:05

    I love all of your tweaks! This was so delicious that I look forward to eating the leftovers at work!

  15. March 13, 2009 17:02

    Your photo is mouth watering. I loved this one too and so did our guests. Love your additions.

  16. whatsonmyplate permalink
    March 13, 2009 21:07

    i love your modifications! garlic powder would be a great addition.

  17. March 14, 2009 11:14

    Your photo does look delicious! I have to admit, my sauce turned out way too tart for me, so I’d have to do some adjusting if I made it again.

  18. March 14, 2009 18:30

    I love your suggestions for modifications to the recipe. The picture looks great too.

  19. March 17, 2009 21:49

    looks delish, I love the modifications.

  20. April 16, 2009 02:49

    Another interesting article from your blog 🙂 When will it stop….hopefully never

Leave a Reply

