Skip to content

Barefoot! Brownie Pudding and Missing Broccolini

March 19, 2009

img_1430

This week has been a little hectic to say the least.  Yesterday at lunch, I ran to Target to grab the ingredients needed for the two Barefoot bonus recipes.  This week’s recipes, Sauteed Broccolini, chosen by Mary at Meet Me in the Kitchen and Brownie Pudding, chosen by Tia at Southern, eh? had mixed reaction in our house.  The Husband and his sister (here for Spring Break) love sweets.  I, on the other hand, simply love making sweets and watching as others enjoy.  Especially chocolate.  I’m just not a lover of chocolate.  I was, however, very excited about the broccolini.  

Sadly, Target failed me yesterday and didn’t have their normal supply of broccolini.  I grabbed a small bunch of broccoli instead and decided to forge ahead with the recipe using plain ol’ broccoli.  Lunch came and went and I found myself unsatisfied, not unusual when I’m stressed.  The broccoli called to me from its bag next to my desk.  I gave into the urge sometime around 3:00 and took the broccoli to the sink, rinsed it off… grabbed a knife and started cutting away at it.  When it came time to go home I reached for the remaining broccoli… which was gone.  Whoops.  Guess I’ll just be making brownie pudding!

Really, the pudding was excellent.  The top was crispy… the center gooey.  It was like a molten chocolate cake on crack.  I had approximately 4 small bites before throwing in the towel and declaring it way too rich for my taste buds.  The Husband and The Sister-in-Law devoured it.  There was moaning!  

Often one to cut the fat from our Barefoot recipes, there wasn’t really much I could do to this.  Butter is butter.  Instead of the framboise I added some leftover Irish cream from the previous night’s festivities and added about a teaspoon of coffee granules.  I could totally taste the Irish cream and coffee and it was excellent!

Brownie Pudding
Ina Garten, The Barefoot Contessa
 

1 c butter
4 extra large eggs, at room temperature
2 c sugar
3/4 c good cocoa powder
1/2 c flour
Seeds scraped from 1 vanilla bean
1 T framboise liqueur, optional (I used Irish Creme)
I also added 1 t coffee granules
Vanilla ice cream, for serving

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Lightly butter  a 2-quart oval baking dish.  Melt the butter and set aside to cool.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the eggs and sugar on medium-high speed for 5 to 10 minutes, until very thick and light yellow.  Meanwhile, sift the cocoa powder and flour together and set aside.

When the egg and sugar mixture is ready, reduce the speed to low and add the vanilla seeds, framboise (or Irish Cream) and the cocoa powder and flour mixture.  Mix only until combined.  With mixer still on low, slowly pour in the cooled butter and mix again just until combined.

Pour the brownie mixture into the prepared dish and place it in a larger baking pan.  Add enough of the hottest tap water to the pan to come halfway up the side of the dish and bake for exactly 1 hour.  A cake tester inserted 2 inches from the side will come out 3/4 clean.  The center will appear very under-baked; this dessert is between a brownie and a pudding.  Allow to cool and serve with vanilla ice cream.

So… you aren’t a barefotter yet?  You should be ashamed of yourself!  Come join us!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 09:35

    Yum- with strawberries, I can’t resist! I did cut the butter by a quarter and there was still plenty of moaning. 🙂 Gotta love Ina’s recipes!

  2. March 19, 2009 14:17

    That looks and sounds great. Sorry you missed out on the broccolini- I really liked the recipe.

  3. March 19, 2009 14:51

    It was tasty but a bit rich for my blood too and I love chcolate. I adore your berries–so bright and pretty. (I would have been happy with just them and the ice cream!). Too funny you ate a head of broccoli before you could cook it. Hope you find the broccolini sometime.

  4. March 19, 2009 18:07

    I was on the fence about this one, but … there was moaning, you say? Guess I’d better start letting those eggs get to room temperature. 😉

  5. backtoba permalink
    March 19, 2009 19:14

    That looks SUPER good!!!

  6. March 19, 2009 20:03

    Too rich for me too. Did everyone think to add berries except for me – that would have been a good touch.

  7. March 19, 2009 20:12

    I love the idea of the berries. I will definitely be stealing that when I make it this weekend. You would have loved the broccolini, it was divine.

  8. March 19, 2009 21:13

    I am still reeling over the fact that you can get brocollini at Target! Our local HyVee didn’t have any, I ended up at Hen House.
    Your brownie pudding looks amazing, love the addition of strawberries.

    I am so behind and now all I want to do is watch basketball, I still need to get my post up!

  9. March 20, 2009 07:54

    I loved the broccoli as well; I think it was a really good pick. The brownie pudding was too rich for my taste as well, but I liked your variations. Something I might try for the future.

  10. March 20, 2009 11:59

    Your Brownie Pudding looks wonderful. I couldn’t find broccolini either, but I’m certainly going to try the recipe first chance I get. Hope life calms down for you in the next week. Sounds like you have a lot going on!

  11. March 22, 2009 08:41

    If I had to pick one of the recipes to make, I would definitely have rather had the brownie pudding! I love your addition of the strawberries!

Leave a Reply

