Skip to content

Wings of Love – Chapter Five

April 1, 2009

wings-of-love

Wings of Love Previously

I had just emailed this mystery man a scathing email telling him in no certain terms that I didn’t want anything to do with him.  I considered him a charity case and was willing to waste only one evening with him.  I hit send and smugly sat back in my chair.  I’d given this guy a good impression of what he couldn’t expect.  I’d never considered his response.  In the back of my mind, I anticipated him reading the email I sent, then calling me a nasty name as he deleted it into cyber nowhereville.  

Instead, I got a response a few hours later.

Dear Cat.  I’m glad you think so highly of the Air Force and our work.  I’ve encountered a few Marines myself and know they think the world would come to an end without them.  

It appears that we’re on the same page about this “date” of ours.  In reality, I’d rather be watching my 12 year old sister play soccer with her friends than spend time with you in the middle of Hickville, Kansas.  I’m sure a great time will be had by both. 

Since you showed such great interest and concern about me, I thought I’d share a bit about myself.  I’m currently designing my 27th tattoo that will complete the sleeve on my arm.  My legs and back have been covered for years.  I recently got my nose pierced and a couple  additional holes in both of my ears.  We Air Force guys have loose regulation regarding personal conduct and don’t have to maintain such drastic physical appearances as Marines.  In fact, since I don’t work much and sit around all day drawing space shuttles on scrap paper and flying paper airplanes, I don’t really have much interesting to say.

I’m sure you are a highly intelligent person and can distinguish sarcasm from seriousness.  I, however, don’t want to take that chance and prefer to continue this conversation over the phone.  Why don’t you email me your phone number and I’ll give you a call this weekend?

Oh. Crap.  I flew out of my office down the hall to Trish’s office and snatched the flimsy picture from the cork board.  No apparent tattoos.  This boy is seriously funny.  He needed to figure out that Kansas City did not mean Kansas, but I, in fact lived in Missouri… but that’s just simple geography.  I floated back to my office, logged back into my email and read his response another five times before shutting the computer down and heading home.  Once home, my mom and dad asked me what the grin was about.  I couldn’t stop smiling.

I couldn’t tell my parents.  They would think this was some crazy internet romance and my Air Force guy was a crazed stalker.  Besides.  This guy was in the Air Force!  I had to stop this communication.  I couldn’t do that to my family.  What was I going to tell this blond Air Force guy?  I’d made the decision to email him and let him know that our one date would be plenty of time to further acknowledge that we didn’t want anything to do with one another.

Waltzing into our home office I logged into my email yet again.  I opened his response and read it, laughed, then reread it.  I hit reply and before I knew it I’d hit send… the fleeting image of my cell phone number dashing off into cypberspace.  Glad you can follow through with your own plans, Cat.  I chided myself.   He didn’t call that weekend.  It would actually be more than a week before he’d call me.  We’d exchanged a few brief emails with basic info: name, age, rank, heritage, height, etc… the basics of getting to know someone.  He was 19, I had just turned 20.  We were so young.

______________________________________________________________________

Since our fateful float trip in September, things between Bobby and I had cooled considerably.  We were still seeing each other occasionally, maintaining politeness but he knew it was over.  A few days earlier, Bobby had witnessed a change in my behavior.  I was quicker to laugh, smile and tease.  It was obvious my actions were not a product of his doing.  I was preoccupied when we went out, rushing to finish dinner and not giving my full attention to the conversation.  

Bobby and I were out to lunch with a few of our co-workers when my obnoxiously loud cell phone started ringing and shaking violently.  I grabbed it out of my handbag and looked at the screen, What a strange number, I thought.  It must be an error.  I reached down to hit the End button to silence the beast when I subconsciously hit Talk instead.  Whoops.  “Hello?” I asked.

“Hi.  Cat?  Its’ Air Force guy.  Is this a good time?”

My heart skipped a beat as I excused myself from the table and wandered outside to my car.  “Now is fine.  Uh… how are you?” I managed to squeak out.  His was the deepest, sexiest voice I’d ever heard…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2009 15:12

    Oh, this is just the story I’ve been waiting for. I loved his response. He’s already perfect for you and you haven’t even been on your first date. You must have known that right from the get go!

  2. Trish permalink
    April 1, 2009 16:06

    LOL…I just have to laugh…I remember all of these days like they were yesterday….I wish I could find myself someone as great as I found for you….Love you and the husband!!!

  3. April 1, 2009 16:23

    Oh Cat, keep the chapters coming. You’ve got me hooked.

  4. Midwestbelle permalink
    April 6, 2009 15:19

    Wow! Loved this! Can’t wait to read more!!

Leave a Reply

