Skip to content

Ten Things I’ve Learned Being a Military Spouse

April 8, 2009

welcome-home-love

I know many of these items can be translated to a civilian lifestyle as well, but without the military I don’t know that I would ever have learned these things…

1.  I’ve learned to like myself and enjoy alone time.  In the past, I was so connected to everyone that I never had a chance to breath on my own.  The military has given me several opportunities to get to know myself, my thoughts, fears, etc..  I lean on myself to keep a positive attitude and not other people.

2.  Support comes from my faith in God.  Everything else falls in behind.  As long as my focus and trust is in God, then the frequent situations that arise can be met with calm instead of hysterics.

3.  The Mission always comes first.  No matter what the circumstances are at home, the military will always come first.  This was, perhaps, the hardest lesson I’ve learned thus far.

4.  I am strong enough to do it on my own.

5.  Family is a relative term.  I will always be tied to my blood relatives, have a special bond with them that cannot be broken.  I have, however, forged a whole new family that I share the same unbreakable bond with.  No one can understand our situations better than another military spouse.  I would be nowhere without my military family.

6.  Life cannot be lived in fear.  The Husband and I are very passionate about our country.  In times of fear, I focus on the bigger picture of what’s going on in the world and I wait for peace to fill my heart.  Worry will not change the outcome of any situation.

7.  Military families are the only people in the United States that defend Democracy but do not practice democracy.

8.  Savor every moment because you are not promised tomorrow.  

9.  During a deployment, 6 months can feel like 2 years.  When he’s home… a 3 day weekend can be gone in the blink of an eye.  Time is a strange sensation. 

10.  Laugh at every opportunity.  Love with all my heart.  Be positive.  Smile even if I don’t feel like it.  Always, always, always say, “I love you.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 17:48

    great list!

  2. Christine permalink
    April 8, 2009 19:10

    Cat a wonderful list and you are so right can be applied to military and civilian life! Live well, laugh often love much!

  3. Gail Robertson permalink
    April 8, 2009 20:00

    Cat –

    My husband is third generation oilfield and we have had the privilege to have friends in the military while we were in Alaska (twice – totaling 12 1/2 years.)
    Your Ten Things are absolutely correct and I have heard partial versions from the military wives I knew there. The same goes for us oilfield ladies for the majority of your Ten, especially when they are going places not very nice either (especially if it is a “transfer” or no job.) Our family truly appreciate the military and the sacrifices they & their families have to make to serve our country.

    Thank you for a great list.

    Gail

  4. April 9, 2009 20:39

    What a great list. Thank you for sharing more about yourself.

  5. April 22, 2009 16:53

    Cat, I love your list. My dad traveled a lot when I was young and I never really thought about the fact that my mom raised us kids then. Lately, I have begun to wonder just how she did it alone, and the many items on your list are part of how she did it! We also live very far away from any direct family, so I consider our friends and neighbors to be our family. You are right, it’s relative. Who you love is who you love and you form a family with them. Nice post!

Leave a comment