Skip to content

Barefoot! Out of Control Brownies

May 28, 2009

Outrageous BrownieThis week’s Barfefoot recipe was chosen by Eva of I’m Boring.  After a long weekend spent having a glorious time with The Husband and our friends, I completely spaced out about Barefoot  and honestly, I was junked out.  The weekend was filled with grilling out, smoking (that’s KC style BBQ) and grilling again, I couldn’t handle the thought of anything sweet or junk-foodish.  Grub food was the last thing on my mind.

I ended up making the brownies Tuesday night as I was making some delicious ragu sauce for a spaghetti dinner (recipe coming).  My neighbor came over for a while and distracted me, then I spent the better part of the evening messing around with my friends on Twitter.  I wasn’t too worried about the brownies because it happens to be the only chocolate I enjoy on occasion.  Unfortunately, I got wrapped up in a couple conversations while messing around on twitter which caused me to forget a few key ingredients.  Like… the flour and baking powder.

Oh well!  I only made a half batch because I wasn’t feeling the chocolate groove anyway so it wasn’t too much of a loss (unless you want to talk about 1/2 lb of butter and a lb of chocolate SHEESH!).  Next time I’ve got a craving for the chocolate I’ll pay more attention to what I’m doing because these brownies were like molten-chocolate cake.  I’m sure the addition of some flour and baking powder would have made all the difference in the world.

Give the recipe a try if you’re a die-hard chocolate fan.  I guarantee your heart will sing if you love chocolate.  Not a Barefooter yet?  You should be ashamed of  yourself!  Come join us, we’re full of delicious dishes.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2009 08:31

    Even without the flour or baking powder they look fantastic to me!

  2. May 28, 2009 09:57

    Wasn’t it totally fabulous?

  3. May 28, 2009 09:58

    I knew you’d love them!

  4. May 28, 2009 15:10

    Molten chocolate cake sounds pretty good though! These were pretty outrageous. I just did a half batch and gave all but a few away–I gained weight just smelling them in the oven I think!

  5. May 28, 2009 15:33

    there were out of control!

  6. Trish permalink
    May 28, 2009 16:18

    You are on Twitter??? Not on facebook but on Twitter? Silly girl.

  7. May 28, 2009 16:29

    From our mistakes can come our greatest creations! Your “molten brownies” look good to me!

  8. May 28, 2009 17:08

    Your “molten” brownie looks awesome. I do stuff like that all the time. Seriously, it’s like we might cook too much to pay attention!

  9. Tonya @ What's On My Plate permalink
    May 28, 2009 18:43

    no flour and baking powder? butter and chocolate only sounds like a dream 🙂

  10. May 28, 2009 21:28

    I’ve made flourless cakes that are probably pretty similar to this recipe and they are one of my favorites. I think I need some ice cream for my brownies too.

  11. May 28, 2009 21:33

    I love how yours looks in the dish!

    They were definitely outrageous!

    I am such a dolt…the weeks pass and I haven’t emailed. I need to come over!

    😉 amy

  12. May 28, 2009 21:53

    You can probably re-package this recipe as gluten-intolerant brownies! Hope you enjoyed your chocolate shots regardless.

  13. May 28, 2009 22:50

    Out of control, for sure!! This do look wicked good, though!! 😀

  14. May 28, 2009 23:11

    Oh, but they came out so cute! I also cut mine in half and ate them with icecream. Now I will check myself into the cardiac ward.

  15. May 29, 2009 07:08

    Wow, we all should mess up more often. They look fabulous.

  16. May 29, 2009 22:40

    I am with you, not a chocolate fan in general… but I do like a good brownie once in a while!
    Great job, love the ice cream on top. 🙂

  17. May 31, 2009 08:02

    Oh MY. These look amazing and so delicious!!! Way to go!

  18. June 1, 2009 19:30

    Nice! I’m not the only one who forgets key ingredients when cooking! Though yours looks great nonetheless. Mine tend to end in a barely edible mess. I wouldn’t mind having yours right now!

  19. June 4, 2009 21:03

    Nooooooo…. nooooo….. must.resist.chocolate.yummy.gooey.must.not.give.in… must.get.ingredients.and.make.tomorrow!

    That looks AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

