Skip to content

The Road

June 11, 2009

Tuesday after work, I hopped in the car with The Husband and we started our trek to Montana.  I knew this was going to be a long drive I just didn’t know how long it would feel.  We stopped in Sioux Falls Tuesday night to grab a few hours of sleep, then hit the road again yesterday morning at 7:00 .  Finally, we rolled in last night about 8:00 where we were greeted by my in-laws.

Driving in reminded me of some of the odd quirks of being a military wife.  I didn’t sit behind the steering wheel for one minute on this 18 hour trip.  I didn’t pump gas, I didn’t take care of a single thing. I simply sat in the passenger seat with my book and a smile.

Its strange because I feel like I live an alternate life.  For long periods of time, I’m the one in charge: no one to lean on, no one to share the burden with, I’m single… yet unavailable.  I live the lifestyle of a woman on her own and I do just fine. Suddenly The Husband is home and it’s another story.  I am treated as if I am a rare stone, something to be treasured and taken care of.

In the end, I don’t really mind either scenario.  I adore The Husband and love every second with him so it’s easy to take care of me when he’s gone.

The road trip was long but fun.  I’m always a little hyper and uninhibited when just with The Husband, so the car was filled with laughter.   Come back this week as I share our great Montana adventure (if I can continue to wake up before the crack of dawn to write!)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2009 10:29

    Have a wonderful time!

  2. June 11, 2009 10:42

    I loved walking down the historic section of Helena. The coblestones, the old buildings, one can *almost* imagine that you’re right there, and it’s 150 years ago….

    You must take Husband to one of the best steakhouses I’ve ever eaten at. It’s a couple miles north of Helena on the 15. Can’t remember the name (and for all I know, it’s not there anymore – it has been almost 20 years since I fought fire there) but I do remember that it was one of those restaurants that have a “If You Can Eat It All It’s Free” type of deal — the main course is a 24 oz. steak. Oh, and draft beers were served in 24 oz. goblets!

  3. June 11, 2009 16:58

    Have a great trip! I look forward to reading all about it.

  4. June 11, 2009 20:09

    You brave girl, that’s a long time in a car. Have a great trip!

  5. June 12, 2009 15:15

    I love this post! I think that must be one of the secrets of your successful marriage, being adaptable and appreciating the special things he does for you while you’re together.

Leave a Reply

